We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great roof, good value for your money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
You added La Palma Hotel to your Saves list
La Palma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungolago Umberto I 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great roof, good value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is located as Stresa a very nice town at lac Maggiore just in front of the lac with 2 very nice poll on across the street at the lac and one on the roof with a bar a very nice place to stay especial at the end of the day.

The staff at the hotel were very nice, friendly and professional especially at the reception, we booked 2 rooms for us and our children the room was not at the same floor and the next day they organize us to have room on the same floor.

The concierge help us for reservation of restaurants and boat during our stay and every thing was done with a smile

Room Tip: 5 th floor Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here at the end of July. As previously reported this hotel is in a beautiful position fronting on to the lake. We had a room with a lake view and balcony and would endorse that it is well worth the extra money. The general standard of this hotel is very high, the housekeeping is first class and the owners are on site most of the time overseeing the operation. We are booked in for half board and as people who usually only eat in the hotel restaurant as a last resort were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the restaurant food which was the equal of a couple of the restaurants that we ate in. The breakfast buffet is enormous and I found it was enough to keep me going through to dinner most days!
The staff always greeted us very courteously and I felt they tried hard to please. There are stunning views from the Rooftop Terrace and a trip to the nearby islands is a must. We were told that in mid-summer the perimeter road around the lake got very busy but we saw little evidence of this. In any case, travel to other lakeside resorts is easy using the ferries.
This is one of those hotels where I was quite sorry to leave - Stresa is a very pleasant little town, the hotel is excellent overall and all in our party agreed we would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Paying the extra for a lake view room is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Fantastic luxury hotel right on the lakeside with fabulous views over lake Maggiore. The staff were superb and the facilities were tremendous with a pool right on the lake and a roof terrace with infinity jacuzzi pool and luxury sun loungers and a bar. The rooms were large and very clean with balconies. The breakfast was superb with everything to choose from. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of August. We booked the standard room. This turned out to be far bigger and better than we expected. The balcony was really spacious and, even though it looked out the back, it had a lovely view of the hillside behind the hotel. The decor of the room (and most of the hotel apart from the skybar) was quite old fashioned. The bathroom was good with a his n’ hers sink.
The best thing about the hotel, and the reason why we chose here, was the skybar. There is an incredible view of the lake here. The panoramic vista is just stunning. We’ve stayed at other hotels with skybars (or skypools as they sometimes call them) but none had such a panoramic view. There are 2 sections to it. The bar area and the pool area. Both are really modern and stylish. The bar area is wonderful both night and day. In the night it is very romantic with lots of candles creating a cool and relaxed atmosphere. However, the annoying thing is that it is open to non residents (unlike other skybars we have experienced) and, although that is not a big deal, the amount of times during our 1 week stay that a section or all of the bar area was cordoned off for a private function was very disappointing for those of us who have paid a lot of money for this. Of the 7 nights we stayed here there was a section or all of the bar cordoned off on every single night. This is totally unacceptable.
The pool area (or Jacuzzi area) is also really nice. However, there are not enough loungers for those wanting to sunbathe. For some odd reason they have created 8 loungers with a permanent cover so they are no good for sun bathers. Why not just use an umbrella so that the sun bather can choose whether they want cover or not. This leaves not many places for those who like a bit of sun bathe and it was quite a challenge to get a lounger that was in the sun. The pool itself is actually a heated jacuzzi. It is about 3 feet deep. It is not something to swim in but is great for a dip to give you relief from the sun. It is also nice to sit around in the evening when it is all it up (this is often a necessity as the rest of the bar may be cordoned off). There is another pool down on the lake side that is a proper sized pool that is suitable for swimming. We had intended to try it out but loved the skypool so much we stayed there.
The breakfast at the hotel was really good. Lots of choice and really fresh produce. The pastries were incredible. This was easily the best breakfast we’ve had in Italy and probably anywhere abroad.
Staff were mostly brilliant. There are a couple of guys at the reception that were very friendly, really knowledgeable and helpful and couldn’t do enough when we asked for advice. However, some of the female staff were not so pleasant and seem out of place working in this sort of industry. No smiles or welcomes when we arrived. And not even a ‘hope you enjoyed your stay’ when we checked out. We saw an Australian couple checking out and enthusiastically telling the female staff member how they enjoyed their stay just to be met by total indifference. We received the exact same ‘not bothered’ attitude. Unlike in other Italian (and, thankfully nowadays, English) hotels certain staff just did not go the extra mile and probably should not be working in the tourist business.

A couple of other things to mention. Firstly the outrageous prices at the bar. When you are sitting around the pool all day you need a few drinks to keep hydrated. The prices of drinks at the bar are ridiculous.
Another issue is being charged for using the internet. We have travelled all over the world and stayed in everything from backpacker hostels to 5 stars and have never, ever been charged for using the internet. I was disgusted to be charged 35 cents per minute. This resulted in an extra charge of 60 euros on our bill. There does seem to be an attitude at this hotel of not really having that much respect for their customers. Thank God I never used the phone.
We are tempted to give a 3 rating due to certain things that they need to change. However, despite all the annoyances, we would go back and the skybar (which is the jewel in their crown) is a fantastic place to have in your holiday hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I stayed at la Palma for a friend's wedding on one of the lovely islands on the lake. The location is great and the view of the lake sublime. The hotel itself is typical of Italian hotels, as in stunning decoration and appearance. But once you spend some time in there, you realize some things don't work properly. The air conditioning system was not working the first night, we had issues with the shower and I find it surprising that for such a high standard hotel, there is no extra duvet, pillow .etc. in the room.The sky bar on the rooftop is something to die for though, it is amazing and worth staying in the hotel even if just for that. Recommended overall !!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

My family and I just spent two nights at the La Palma. We booked two side view lake rooms but were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a junior suite with balcony front lake view in both rooms of the suite. The rooms were spacious and modern. The beds were very comfortable. The views of Lake Maggiore were spectacular. The sky bar was a perfect setting to end each of our days exploring Stresa and the surrounding area. Although we did not eat in the hotel's restaurant, it was busy each night. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at La Palma for 14 nights at the end of July this year. We flew from London Gatwick to Milan Malpensa and used Sun Transfers to get to Stresa. All excellent so far.
We had bed and breakfast and a side facing double room on an upper floor.
The hotel is located on the road towards Baveno, is a very short walk into Stresa and has uninterrupted views of Lake Maggiore and beyond.
Our room overlooked the road, the lake, the mountains beyond and the 3 ruined villas next door. The view from our upper floor was good but lower floors on the side would be less so. Our room was typical old school Italian. It had slightly ornate fittings etc., high ceilings, was a bit worn but very clean, was a good size and the aircon worked just fine. The bathroom was similar with everything one needs including a very good shower and a very noisy jacuzzi. The balcony was good with simple furniture and was very private with side walls. No chance of smoke drifting in from the neighbours! Nice then but......... the room was incredibly noisy. You could hear everything from the neighbours on either side. The TV, the phonecalls, the conversations etc etc etc. The hotels was built 40 years ago and I appreciate that building standards and materials have improved. Subtle modern soundproofing materials are available for the next time La Palma has a refurbishment. So for now, take some ear plugs. We did. It will be worth it.
Breakfast was served in the grand dining room. There was the usual good continental selection of food and drinks with a couple of hot food options. Service was very average. Smiles and greetings were rare, but the view was lovely. We opted not to eat dinner at La Palma. The cost was 70 euros plus drinks for two. We thought this was very steep for guests and so, after our breakfast experience, we went into town.
The pool and garden across the road by the lake was really nice with plenty of sun beds and towels. We spent lazy hours there when the sun shone. For us this lakeside pool was one on the best features of the hotel. They should make more of it.
Now to the Skybar. This features prominently in all reviews of La Palma. The Skybar is new and very stylish and offers 360 degree uninterrupted views of the area. Bar and food prices are far too expensive and service is again very average to say the least. The Skybar is a very popular place to pose for guests and visitors from far and wide. We met all sorts in the lifts on their way to the Skybar.
Stresa is pretty and has plenty of tourist shops and nice cafes and restaurants. During our 15 days we tried many. Verbanella by the lakeside is good for coffee, snacks and drinks. Most of the ones in town are good. Prices vary considerably so check them out.
We have stayed in hotels all over Italy as it is our European destination of choice. We love everything about Italy and are widely travelled in that country. We are used to the hotels and the service. It is the latter area in which La Palma needs to improve. The service one gets is the minimal expected. During our long stay greetings and smiles were absent from most staff and we got the impression the hotel had become very complacent. The service simply needs to improve. It was not what we are used to in Italy.
If we return to Stresa we will probably stay somewhere else. There is plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#12 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#20 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Address: Lungolago Umberto I 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing