We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Palma Hotel to your Saves list
La Palma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungolago Umberto I 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Special views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is my third stay at La Palma and I have had small rooms around the back with poor views so I know it can happen but this time I got a front row room with fabulous views over Lake Maggiore. Decorations were beautiful, a small terrace allowed for us to really benefit from the view, the staff were really obliging and the food in the restaurant was really enjoyable if lacking the final touch to make it really exciting. Hopefully I will return here for future enjoyment. The roof top bar is a great addition and hugely popular so that the hotel appears to be far busier than it used to be.

Room Tip: Book a front room, the views are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    233
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
136
399
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a lovely old hotel, with a sense of grandeur in the richly furnished lobby, bar and restaurant. It overlooks the lake and we enjoyed the views from the restaurant at breakfast. The hotel is also close to the town and the pier and it is a 5 minute walk to the train station. On fine evenings, the rooftop bar was opened, with great views of the lake, but this also meant that the inside bar was closed. Our room was clean and quiet and the room was tastefully furnished. We were not happy with the pillows; we only had one very flat pillow each. The hotel was happy to provide extra pillows when asked, but they were also quite flat and firm. We enjoyed the breakfasts. There was a very good choice of continental breakfast as well as scrambled eggs. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Terrific location and views - be sure to get lakeside room for view. Hotel is a grand old hotel that has been very well maintained; across main street from lake and hotel pool.2 bars in hotel - lobby bar lovely; sky bar with great views, lounge chairs, and small wading pool. Also small exercise room. Grounds small but with lovely flowers and well groomed. Caters to large tour groups (were 5-6 in hotel while we were there), and at times the 2 smallish elevators may seem slow, esp at breakfast. the included breakfast buffet was only average, and service a bit slow; had 1 dinner in dining room - only average (large lasagna dish, poor chicken dish for second course).
Room itself very nice, but very noisy (from outside) if storm shutter not lowered; also some noise from plumbing in other rooms: bed a bit hard. Very clean and well maintained, as was the balcony. Nice bathroom with Jacuzzi tub - only 4 nozzles and low water pressure, but a nice touch. Desk service friendly and helpful - with good English.

Room Tip: Get lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Zanetta family treat you like one of theirs. The staff is helpful, and rooms very comfortable. prices have increased over the years and many improvements have been made to the building. Lake view rooms don't disappoint. I always like I,ve come home when i step foot into the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 412 or 508 are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Near perfect Hotel. At least our rooms and our stay was perfect, faultless!

GOOD Bar with very dedicated personnell. The Sky Bar is AWESOME!

Nice seating there, Pool ( small, but Pool ;-)), GREAT View! The glass fence keeps the wind out surprisingly effective.

Sea View heartily recommended, the 5th floor ( and the 6th ) are NEW, and the 5th has a nice, broad balcony.

The view on the Lago and the Isola Bella, whether evening, during the Night ( Isola Bella LIT! ) and before dawn, when the lake just takes on some colour, and then, in the morning, totally calm ... These are things to remember!

Choose this Hotel. It doens´t get better!

Room Tip: Take the SEA VIEW! 5th Floor was perfect for us! ( seems to be, the 5th and 6th floor are NEW! )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here as a family with 2 children and booked one of the suites with lake view. The suite was fabulous and spacious, and we all loved the rooftop bar and jacuzzi. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, including with our various queries prior to arrival, with all our emails answered very promptly. Breakfast was fine - there was some hot food but it was mainly continental style. Like other reviewers I would recommend giving the restaurant a miss for dinner and eating in the town instead, which is only a few minutes walk away. This was however the only (small) downside of this hotel which was otherwise fantastic and we would be delighted to stay there again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stresa is the most beautiful place in the world, to me and I was so pleased to be going back there again.

My wife and I stayed at La Palma in early April. I cannot recommend it enough. We were greeted by a very smart gent, who showed us to our room facing the lake. The room was ultra modern with fantastic views, a huge double bed and a very large and well appointed bathroom.

We were shown the new spa area with sauna, treatment rooms, and a gym. All brand new and very appealing. The most amazing thing of all was the roof terrace. It is huge, with porcelain flooring and glass fencing so that you can enjoy 360 degree views. There is a small infinity pool and plenty do seating and sunbeds, some of which are very trendy outdoor double beds. There is a bar, and the service is excellent. The prices are very reasonable for drinks and you don't feel ripped off one bit.

Breakfast was simple and the food was very fresh. You won't go hungry here. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening as we preferred to walk 5 minutes to the quaint town centre. We ate at Mama Mia's, Restaurant Central and Torinos. They all served authentic fresh Italian food and I couldn't say anything bad about them at all.

A piece of advice; the restaurants close quite early so you should think about eating at 9pm the latest.

Finally, back to the hotel. If you want a modern and chic Italian experience in a large family run hotel you can't go wrong here. It has the best views in the Lake and we spent hours admiring to beautiful scenery. The staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating . I asked one member of staff about the family who own the hotel and she said they were the "most wonderful people and a privilege to work for". Happy staff make happy customers. Need I say more ...... Thank you La Palma we will be back very soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Address: Lungolago Umberto I 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.