We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stresa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palma Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Palma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungolago Umberto I 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Stresa
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stresa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is situated right on the lake and has the most magnificent views. The grounds and gardens are immaculately kept and very beautiful. You can sit on sunlounges on the grass out the front of the hotel drinking in the view or the very best place to be in this hotel is up on the rooftop. Here you have a massive spa, rooftop bar and also an area with tables and chairs where you can order meals. The view up here of Stresa, the lake and mountains is to absolutely die for. MAGNIFICENT! Also at night time they have beautiful great big balls of light on the roof terrace which make it look so cool. We could not get enough of this rooftop skybar in the day or night! IT IS THE HIGHLIGHT OF THIS HOTEL AND WORTH STAYING AT IF ONLY TO MAKE USE OF THAT!
Now on to the rest: The rooms are clean, spacious and a very generous size and the bathroom was huge with double sinks, spa bath, plus shower with jets in it as well. We had a partial view lake room with a balcony to sit on and I definitely recommend this one over just the standard room. Of course if you would like the full frontal lake view then pay the extra again, but we were very happy with our partial view.
Breakfast was included in the price and was a continental with a good variety but one thing I must comment on was that they often ran out of particular foods and it took so long to replenish. Too long most times so we gave up in the end! It is a nice big dining room overlooking the front garden and lake and the staff were pleasant enough.
Reception and lobby staff were helpful and good at their job.
Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel because of the good location, clean and tidy, lovely grounds and of course you would stay alone just because of the beautiful rooftop skybar,and huge spa! We are in our sixties and we enjoyed it immensely so I can just imagine younger people would get even more out of it than we did! It is also just a short walk into the town which is so lovely with all the cobblestone street, great restaurants and shopping.
Last but not least, if you don't do anything else, you must take the ferry ride out to the island, Isola Bella, it takes only about 10-15 minutes and it is truly mindblowing! The gardens there are the most wonderful, stunning, awesome esperience ever. There is also a palace to look through which we passed on and went straight out to the gardens. There are restaurants and all the usual souvenir shops of course. Don't miss this experience and of course Stresa and the wonderful Italian Lake Maggiore. Bellissimo!

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and at least choose a partial view lake room with a nice balcony and table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    217
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
133
379
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place is great for R&R. Rooftop spa is as big as some hotel swimming pools and you have a great view across this beautiful lake while enjoying the water.
Stroll to town which is very "Old european" in its' layout.
Rooms are very well appointed and modern. Lobby is very welcoming with friendly efficient staff mostly bilingual so no checkin/checkout stress.
Breakfasts are well appointed with a delightfully delicious buffet.

Room Tip: Head for any upper floor with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fantastic views from the front or North side upper floors.
Great bar up on the roof.
Excellent location, walking distance to all the great restaurants, ferries, and sights.
Great service.
Very good Breakfast spread
What else can I say, other than you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

fabulous hotel, lovely comfortable room, fantastic & friendly staff, wonderful views - especially from the sky bar, excellent food. From the hotel is an easy stroll to the town, ferry terminal and railway station - couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent a wonderful night in this lovely hotel which is located right on Lake Maggiore. Our room looked out over the lake with its gorgeous small islands and surrounding beautiful countryside. Our car was safely parked and we were able to enjoy this beautiful part of the world by having a drink on the wonderful roof top area. Breakfast was also excellent. I would love to return there one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had traveled to ride the local mountains on bicycle (with a previously arranged local bike enthusiast/guide). It was obvious that I needed to store overnight my precious bike in a safe site. Front desk staff was always pleasant & assisted me to the garage to get my cycle.

Food in the morning was plentiful & of good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stresa is a very good location and the hotel is perfect in every way - There is a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere in the hotel run by a very nice Italian family.
The manager /owner Stefano went out of his way to make sure our stay was memorable and was very caring and attentive- we had a lovely room high up and with an amazing lake view and lovely balcony - The bed was specially comfortable ,the room stylish ,spotlessly clean and the bathroom with a double basin and Jacuzzi bath and good shower was excellent , nice and spacious.
Luigi the head waiter in the dining room made sure we were well looked after as did Bruno a hardworking waiter who seemed to be there at every meal -
Sara at the reception was so sweet as were all the staff and a friendly and smiling cleaning lady who somehow managed to slip into the room while we were at breakfast and leave it spic and span quickly and efficiently. All the staff were pleasant ,friendly and willing to please.
The roof top bar is smashing and very stylish -
We were there off season and the hotel was particularly quiet and with a very relaxing atmosphere .The autumn colours were outstanding in the whole area of Stresa and its surroundings -the hotel garden beautiful and well kept as were the Municipal promenade and countryside
The hotels position is perfect for local strolls, visiting the islands ( very close to the ferry) and five minutes walk to the station which enabled us to go to Zermatt in Switzerland for a very enjoyable day tour.
Close to the Mattarone Cable Car - a memorable experience and half way up is Alpino which has a beautiful Botanical Garden and at the top Alpyland with a nice chair lift ride and spectacular view and a fun ride for children.
Well Worth a visit to Isola Bella on the ferry ,the gardens there are amazingly beautiful and to Isola Pescatori where there are some good restaurants ..Also close to the hotel are the Zoological gardens (Parco Della Villa Pallavicino )
we walked there and there is a little train there from the ferry area Because of our good experience we will definitely return here in the summer for a family holiday with our children and grandchildren.
We were on half board and the breakfast was good as was the evening meal - lots of very good restaurants in Stresa too..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Address: Lungolago Umberto I 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#2 Family Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;