We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milan Speranza Au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Milan Speranza Au Lac to your Saves list
Milan Speranza Au Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Marconi 6 / 9, 28838, Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel location in the middle of Stressa is brilliant. Lake views are to die for.

Rooms, service and food well and truly met expectations.

We enjoyed local shopping and eateries. A highlight for us was to catch the cable car then chair lift to the top of the mountains. The view is spectacular. We visited in July and there was still snow visible on the alps.

We'd stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Lake front is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybee754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks! Your excellent review this morning let us gain a higher position in TripAdvisor ranking! This year we have gained several positions thanks to all your appreciations and we say thanks to all of you for the support you gave us. Stresa is a tourist destination with a great tradition of hospitality therefore it is not easy to compete for a higher position. Thanks again! We will keep reading your reviews to improve our service and know your tastes. Please, keep telling us how was your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My single room was on the 5th floor near a corner so I had a delightful sliver of a lake view--lovely! I slept fine. The room was clean, everything worked fine, including Wi-Fi but the bed was too hard for my thin frame. I enjoyed breakfast every morning in their bright, glassed in room overlooking the street and lake beyond. Good breakfast buffet and fresh croissants with good Italian coffee hit the spot. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was so central---near the lake boat docks and near the busy centre. Yes it was touristy but I liked the lively energy. Stresa is so pretty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thanks Margaret, we are happy to know that you had a nice experience in Stresa and in our hotel. This year we boosted the wifi signal of the rooms and it is now a free service. Thanks for the compliments on our breakfast. I know that I shouldn’t say this but our front desk staff is really friendly and willing. After reading so many appreciations on Tripadvisor, at mid-season I’m glad to thank Tripadvisor for the service they offer to our guests.
We will be pleased to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed here for several days and enjoyed the experience tremendously. Our fourth floor rear corner room afforded a view over a lovely shopping street from one balcony and a view towards the lake from the other. Meal times, as part of a group, were very lively and although the choice of food was limited there was plenty of it and extra vegetables and/or pasta was often offered. The staff were brilliant led by the charming Massimo who did everything he could to help. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Room 404 is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear guest, you made our day by writing these nice words! It’s gratifying to read that you enjoyed so much your stay in our hotel! The groups’ menu choice is indeed limited at two choices because of the considerable number of the clients involved, but according to your experience, the food is plentiful. We shared with our Maître Massimo and with all the staff your compliments at their work. We are waiting for you back on Lago Maggiore!

Carlo Alberto Padulazzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in the Speranza au Lac but meals were taken in the Milan. Our room overlooking the lake was clean and comfortable with a good shower and plenty of storage space. The balcony has a table and two chairs so we could sit and enjoy the view. It is in a lake front position but with the road in front but this did not distub us. The location gives excellent access to all the amenities and transport options in Stresa. As part of a group we were given two options for each of our three courses. The food was good value and plentiful. What really makes the place is the staff, they are delightful. The service is excellent, very friendly and helpful and they speak good English. We made good use of the lovely swimming pool at a nearby hotel that saying at this one gives access to.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have the best view but if traffic noise bothers you our daughter's room at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest, we are thankful for your so nice review! It is always gratifying to know that our guests are satisfied with their staying in our hotel.
We are glad you appreciated your room for its cleanness, size and for the chance to enjoy the view of the Gulf from the balcony. It is good to know that you liked also our restaurant service and you found the food plentiful and good value.
Many thanks for the nice words on our staff!
We hope to welcome you again in Stresa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

To celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary we decided to go to romantic Italy. After a wee look round suitable towns we ended up in Stresa at the Milan au lac. To surprise my wife I arranged a bottle of prosecco and a rose to welcome her. This was brilliantly done by Simona( hope I spelt it right!) with the bed sprinkled with rose petals. ABSOLUTELY SUPERB.

The room, number 546, had one of the best views I have ever experienced. Although it was smaller than I normally have, it was perfect for my wife and I. The hotel`s position was in the centre of the town facing the lake and about 100 metres from the ferry station. It also was ideal for roaming the old town which was directly behind it.

Plenty of restaurants close by with the obligatory souvenir shops feeding off their customers. However if you experienced the breakfast at the Milan you would not need lunch as it satisfied everyone even me!

I must state one thing I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED A MORE FRIENDLY BUNCH THAN THE STAFF AT THE HOTEL.

OVERALL A GREAT EXPERIENCE WHICH I WOULD RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: room 546 gives a great view and a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Eddie, thank you for your nice review. We are truly glad you enjoyed how we have arranged for you the surprise in the room and we hope you and your wife had a lovely anniversary! I am sure that the view on the lake made the atmosphere even more romantic!
It is also pleasing to read that you appreciated our breakfast and you found it plentiful.
Thank you very much for the compliments on our staff.
We hope you and your wife will come back for your next anniversary to enjoy another stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is set in two separate buildings, the reception is in the building on the right side (looking from the street, it's the dark rose/pink one). Easy to find by car, you can park your car at the public car park while you check in, after that you get a voucher for parking on the Hotel Regina's underground parking hall. Our room was comfortable, but not very big, with a small balcony facing the lake. You can find several small public beaches walking along the beach promenade.

Hotel's breakfast was not so good, poor variety on the buffet table and you had to ask for glass (only had one glass every morning) of juice and for coffee. Also the service was not very welcoming, the waitresses wanted to rush people off early so that they could start making the tables for lunch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auli_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Dear Auli, thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you found comfortable your room and that you could enjoy the amazing view of the Lake Maggiore from the balcony. Our hotel consists of two buildings, side by side, each with its own reception staff. Among the services we offer there are the free underground parking and the free entrance to the swimming pool and the garden of the Hotel Regina Palace. We shared with the waiters your comments and they will certainly try to be more attentive with our guests! We hope to have you back again between our guests to offer you an experience even more enjoyable!

Carlo Alberto Padulazzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Not the most modern building but more than adequate, could not have been made more welcome by the staff and meals were top class and served quickly. Lakeside across the road right outside the entrance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Tony, thank you very much for your concise but positive review and for describing our service as “faultless”! That makes us very proud! We are glad you pointed out in your review some of our hotel strengths: central position facing the lake, welcoming and willing staff and restaurant service with its traditional Italian dishes.
Thanks again! We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#12 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#19 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milan Speranza Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Speranza Au Lac

Address: Piazza Marconi 6 / 9, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Milan Speranza Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac is composed by two side by side buildings on the lakeside in the centre of Stresa. Both the buildings are equipped by reception, lifts, free WI-FI connection and a free PC corner. There a relax and reading zone, at our customers disposal. The hotel central position is ideal to easily walk to all the places of the most tourist interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Milan Speranza Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Speranza Au Lac Hotel Stresa
Milan Speranza Au Lac Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing