We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice moderate place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milan Speranza Au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Milan Speranza Au Lac to your Saves list
Milan Speranza Au Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Marconi 6 / 9, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Ajax, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nice moderate place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed as part of a group excursion and found the hotel very accomodating. Service was excellent and the food was very good. Staff were helpful and friendly. The level of English spoken was quite high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    123
    55
    17
    12
See reviews for
68
140
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very central, next to the lake, excellent service.
We were very impressed by the high organization of breakfast. With the large number of people at the hotel in August, the waiters managed to attend everyone within seconds and it didn't feel crowded.
the reception available for advice on sightseeing and tickets booking.
overall good impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at Speranza in June 2013 and It was a home away from home. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. THe food was delicious and special mention must be made of the head waiter and one of the waiters, Massimo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a Cosmos Italian Lakes tour.
The Hotel is old, lovely, with great views of Lake Maggiore. Strangely, we ate in the Hotel next door. However, the Speranza was really nice, clean, good size room and blessed with absolutely lovely staff. Nothing was a trouble to them and they made the stay even better. Plenty of restaurants around the rear of the Hotel, which is a little village. Absolutely lovely.
I would rate this Hotel 7.5 out of 10 and would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Probably one of the best possible locations in Stresa, on the border of the lake, close to small squares deeper in town, next to the boat departure point.
Room is large and comfortable, I have to say though that the floor was quite squeaky, I was always thinking of poor neighbors below :-) might be they didn't hear anything.
A positive critique would be the breakfast though, quite limited, no hot option and more importantly, there was no fresh vegetables at all, not even tomatoes. Fruits only dried and the juices were all sugared.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we arrived in stresa via train and could of walked to our hotel Milan from station as so very close. This hotel is situtated right on the lake and we had a lake view room which is a must. It costs more but the view is amazing. The staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful with all of our questions (train strike at the time) and did their best to help us. The hotel itself is an older style hotel with the décor in the rooms a bit old, but very neat, clean and tidy so no real complaint about room or bathroom. The only issue we had was that there were no power outlets/power points in the room and so when we needed to charge phones,cameras etc we had to do it in the bathroom, which was not ideal with water etc around. Also, we feel that a bar fridge and tea and coffee making options should be in the room. We had a fantastic view from our balcony where we could sit and enjoy a coffee or drink but no fridge? There is a great bottle shop just down the alley from our hotel with a good range to select and enjoy on our balcony whilst looking at a view of the snow capped mountains. Overall, a good hotel, great location, great friendly staff, just a couple of minor things that could really make this hotel fantastic and it would not take much to add those things mentioned to the room. The breakfast was good, with plenty of places to eat around us. Right near the ferry for the lake tour and a very good tourist company just down the road, the lady in there was very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: ask a lake view room and level four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just to say that following our lovely holiday last May , we've booked to go back again in May 2014! I think that says all we need to about this fabulous hotel! We were treated like royalty which was especially lovely for my Mom ( who was 82 when we last visited ) and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I am sure that this second visit wont be our last.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Milan Speranza Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Speranza Au Lac

Address: Piazza Marconi 6 / 9, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milan Speranza Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Milan Speranza Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Speranza Au Lac Hotel Stresa
Milan Speranza Au Lac Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milan Speranza Au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.