We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 1, 73, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“grand but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Lovely hotel with good facilities. Staff attentive and room cleanliness good.
Great location for visiting the local area and islands. Views exceptional if you are over looking the lake. Lovely promenades both ways to the villages and close to ferry pickups.
We stayed at the Bristol knowing it was expensive but were disappointed at the cost of eating there. 25€ for breakfast and very expensive evening meals and drinks. However we were able to eat out in the town. Perhaps if the bar prices were cheaper there would be more people drinking and there would be more atmosphere.
Bathroom shower leaked onto the floor making it slippery.
A grand old hotel but could do with a little updating now.
I think for the price we paid I was a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Lake view is extra but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    226
    86
    30
    19
See reviews for
118
268
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I'm sure this was once a very grand hotel, but it has slipped against modern standards. Whilst it is four star for an Italian hotel, this would not pass a four star in other parts of the world. It is clean and well presented but our room had woodworm (active) and the cleaners didn't always provide fresh towels or get to us until very late in the day. The views are exceptional and Stresa itself is wonderful, but this hotel is expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Firstly the weather did nothing to help on the first week, although it was nothing to do with the hotel, in 20 years of visiting various parts of Italy we have never experienced weather like we did, rain, thunder, lightening and quite cool! The hotel looks really lovely both outside and in, room was lake view ( when the weather made this possible ), small but perfectly clean, as was the bathroom, major problem with the shower screen as the seal did not stop the water drenching the floor, shower head was positioned so that it was directed this way. fitted along the length of the bath not the foot, very strange but could be dangerous! TOWELS AWFUL!!! 2 Very thin, bath towels,clean but greying, complained on the first day, these were changed straightaway and we did receive better but not luxurious ones every day, along with 4 tea towel like ones for hand and bidet use, why??. Food was very good, although no ambiance in dining room, no music played in the evenings, cost of wine and water extortionate as was the cost of drinks in the bar, some good entertainment in the bar but not many people stayed due to the cost of the drinks! Wifi charge ridiculous in this day and age! Dogs in the hotel and I mean you could be in reception and see 3/4 at any one time with their owners, puts me off any hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'll start with the positives:-
The Hotel is clean, the grounds are beautiful, we had lovely view from our balcony which had a side view of lake and pool. The pool area is very attractive with plenty of sun beds. Most of the staff were pleasant and efficient.
the location is very good, pleasant 10 min stroll along the promenade to the main Plazas of Stresa, some wonderful places to sit, eat and drink and watch the world go by.
Stresa is a brilliant base to visit lots of places, the boats are very easy to use we visited Isla Bella, including the Palace and gardens, brilliant morning. We did one trip with crystal, which was to Zermatt, absolutely loved the day even though it was a 3 hour journey there, the scenery going up into the mountains was beautiful, went on the funicular railway to view the Matterhorn, which was fab because the weather was bright and clear.
We also went on the Motterane cable car, a short walk from The Bristol, thoroughly enjoyed it, we went right to the top using chair lift and went back to cable car station using the brilliant bobsleigh run.
Negatives:-
Hotel is ridiculously expensive, we were half board and the food was brought to us with great show under silver domes but was a disappointment every time....I'm not fussy but found the food dry, with boring, bland side dishes eg a scoop of rather dry mash potato! The 2 buffet nights were surprising much better fare, and the salad buffet was loads of delicious choices. The breakfast buffet was ok, just very boring, exactly the same every day...the only hot food is runny, Luke warm scrambled eggs, spinach, tomatoes, boiled eggs and chewy smoked bacon. My husband liked the freshly squeezed orange juice! The cheapest bottle of wine to accompany our meal was 23 euros, 3 euros for water, 10 euros for a glass of house wine.....and as lots of people have said, disgracefully they charge for the wi-fi.....you can get free wi-fi and much cheaper drinks from Danials bar opposite the hotel. They provided 2 towels in the bathroom, they were so thin and ancient and left you still damp. We just felt that the Hotel was stuck in a rut and does not compete with the services that modern hotels offer.

I would visit Lake Maggiore again, it is a magical place, but would not return to the Bristol?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Facade of hotel oozes grandeur...pool is lovely and view of lake and islands equally very nice.
On arriving in room which was in an annexe a far way back from original hotel which no one advised us of ,we noticed the dated musty curtains and bedding(a bit whiffy and in need of an airing or air freshener now and again. Bedding was poor, the double cotton sheet seemed to be more a 3/4 size which we fought for. Towels were atrocious for this grading of room, very thin , sloppy and only two major bath size, we received what looked like 4 linen table napkins freshly put out on a daily basis which didn't dry anybody....when do these hotels learn that towels for drying need to be able to dry the body. The foot mat for shower seemed to come back to us daily a bit smelly as if it was dried only and steam ironed and replaced in bathroom.
The price of a drink was expensive, better to walk into centre of stresa.. Not what we expected for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting the main hotel and not the annexe which seemed a long underground tunnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel has many good features. We loved the location, which is a 10 minute walk from Stresa with wonderful views. Both the outdoor and indoor pools were really wonderful. Rooms were very clean but small, especially the bathrooms. Showers are outdated. We had upgraded to superior rooms with lake views. The views from balcony were stunning. We used the restaurant on only one occasion and never for breakfast which is €25! Many local restaurants serve wonderful breakfasts very cheaply. The ambience in the restaurant was dreadful, with bright lighting giving it the feel of a canteen. Worst of all, the food was terrible and overpriced. We used many restaurants in Stresa and without exception, each one served excellent food at extremely reasonable prices. Is the hotel relying on it's many coach party customers? No feedback form was provided at the end of the trip, and at no time during our week long stay did any member of staff ask if we were happy with the service provided. Very expensive wi fi!

Room Tip: Superior with lake view. Our corner room had two balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was a disappointment. The rooms were okay, but we had to beg for towels, our tub leaked. The first day, we were ignored at the pool. Had to ask for menus, then we never had a waiter stop. Finally left and went elsewhere for lunch. Waited 10 minutes to be seated for breakfast. Never got a menu, had to ask for coffee. Left again and went elsewhere, decided if it took 15 minutes to get coffee, how long would breakfast take?????

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: Corso Umberto 1, 73, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strikingly elegant Grand Hotel Bristol is set amidst beautifully tended gardens and has a wonderful view over the lake and Borromean Island at the foot of the Alps. Conveniently situated across the road from the lake, and only 300 metres from the centre of Stresa, the hotel’s large swimming pool is set in the immaculate grounds and shares the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There is also an indoor pool at your disposal with two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Bristol Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.