We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bristol

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 1, 73, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 hotels in Stresa
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A lovely hotel with a beautiful outlook on to the lake. Yes, it's a bit OTT; yes, it's very heavily decorated - but for us that wasn't a problem and it was also what we sort of expected from a villa style hotel on the Italian lakes. The room was spotlessly clean, and we paid for a lake view - which was well worth it. There was a wonderful choice of breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, assorted breads, meats, cheeses as well as cooked etc etc. We only ate in the hotel on one evening, preferring to try local rerstaurants (about a 10 minute walk along the lakeside to the town centre), but on Thursday (mainly because of the weather) we decided to stay and try the buffet on offer, which was fantastic! Yes the prices are higher than you would pay in a local bar or restaurant, but if you want to spend a day relaxing by the pool, it's worth it. Service was impeccable and everyone we encountered was helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    210
    72
    26
    19
See reviews for
101
234
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chieveley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our first holiday in Stresa and the Italian Lakes.Brilliant ! Hotel was first class and exceeded our expectations. Stresa is a very good place to base yourself.Plenty to do.We took the train to Milan one day and also a local train through the mountains to Locarno, Switzerland and boat back on the Lake on another.Both great trips using local transport.We did the Matterhorn trip with the holiday company and this was also well worth the money.Some days were spent by the hotel pool.Clean, good bar/food and both shade and sun areas with plenty of room and sun beds available. Stresa has a lovely promanade where you can walk along by the Lake.There are boat trips to the islands, and a cable car up the mountains.Best of all worlds and of course the wonderful Italian people.A must to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

An elegant impressive looking hotel. Front of house staff are efficient but gave the impression of being a little surly, almost arrogant. Advise paying a little extra and securing a room at the front with a lake view. Rooms are small and give the impression of looking a little tired in places (the bedside rug was threadbare) but well furnished with good quality fittings of the usual Italian opulent design. Although I usually travel independently, on this occasion I booked the trip through “Inghams’ Lakes & Mountains” who did it at a price that I couldn’t get near. Similarly, I usually travel B&B but again, the Half Board price was impossible to match. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent with stunning views across the lake although I think expensive if you were paying for meals separately (I’m not sure but I believe the Breakfast alone was around €20).
If I had to find fault with the hotel, it would be the fact that you have to pay €5/hour for internet access! In this day and age I expect it as standard as hot running water!! My tip is to take your device over the road to the lakeside bar/restaurant and use their free Wi-Fi while enjoying a few drinks. Unfortunately my tablet seemed to exhibit malfunctions each evening after a few hours where all the key characters started coming out incorrectly with the wrong worms being displayed on the screem. My wife diagnosed the problem to be directly proportional to the amount of splendidly strong Margaritas’ that I consumed! Where would I be without her? (still sat there drinking probably!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. It is lovely, the staff is helpful, the location is great, and the pool area is excellent. Besides a few minor points it was a great place to stay.

The minor points:
1. You have to pay for wifi, which I think is ridiculous nowadays. In a very cheap hostel you can get free wifi, but not in a luxury hotel?
2. The gym is disappointing. On the website they say they have a "fully equipped gym", in the information book in the room they said they have a "small gym". The latter is a better description of reality. It is very small and not terrible well maintained (the plastered walls were crumbling in places). There was also no air conditioning in the gym and it was very damp as it is besides the indoor pool. When we were there temperatures were high so the gym was not a very pleasant place to be. Don't go in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautifully but too much decorated luxury hotel in Stresa. Short walk to the downtown Stresa area. Hotel is right on Lake Maggiore (actually there is a street between the hotel and the lake).
We staid fot two nights but had our meals outside. The snackbar at the pool is very, very expensive as the restaurant in the hotel. We did the mistake to have breakfast in the hotel, which I would advise not to do. You have plenty of little restaurants with beautiful view of the lake not far from the hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated from downtown Stresa and from the boats to the Borromée Islands! To bad all additional facility is paying, like WIFI!

Room Tip: A good solution for a short stay (max. 2 nights). For the kids you have only the in- or outdoor swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautifully decorated luxury hotel in Stresa. Short walk to the downtown Stresa area. Hotel is right on Lake Maggiore (actually there is a street between the hotel and the lake). Great lake views from from of hotel, with Italian and Swiss Alp views.

Hotel itself is luxurious with some beautiful decorations, statues, paintings, etc. Rooms are clean, with comfortable beds, and very up to date. We stayed in a room on the side of hotel, where there was a nice view of the lake from the room's balcony. The rooms in the from must have amazing views of the lake and the mountains, but I imagine they are pricey.

Good breakfast buffet. Service was good, and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at this hotel and found it to be excellent in every respect. The room we were given was large, bright and well appointed. The cleaning was also of a very good standard.
All the staff, including the reception staff, seemed to be really "switched on" The waiters and waitresses were quick and efficient and patrolled the garden and pool area about every ten or fifteen minuets collecting orders and delivering drinks and food. The dining room was well run and the quality was generally very good. The information pack in the room was comprehensive and very useful and any other queries were dealt with by the reception staff. The overall impression we had was that everybody working there is on their toes which must be down to good general management. I would have no hesitation about using this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the first floor with one balcony facing the lake and another balcony facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: Corso Umberto 1, 73, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#5 Family Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strikingly elegant Grand Hotel Bristol is set amidst beautifully tended gardens and has a wonderful view over the lake and Borromean Island at the foot of the Alps. Conveniently situated across the road from the lake, and only 300 metres from the centre of Stresa, the hotel’s large swimming pool is set in the immaculate grounds and shares the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There is also an indoor pool at your disposal with two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Bristol Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.