We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 1, 73, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was not the hotel we were suppose to stay at on our tour but we were in for a very plasant surprize. It had a very Grand Entrance and a lift that goes sideways to the next level where we got another lift to our room. Room was very nice with a view of the lake and also opening windows and a small balcony. Bath towels were very good but handtowels were like cotton and not very good to wipe your hands on. Beds were very comfortable. Didn't replace soap etc. when they cleaned the room the next day as we were there for two nights on our tour. Lovely evening meal and service was great. Had sweets in the Reception area for guests and the chairs in the lobby were very comfortable. This hotel is just a short walk to the village of Stesa where we had a lovely meal on our free night. Lovely views from the hotel across the lake and the gardens and pool are very nice. Didn't want to accept Credit Card from Tour Director for baggage as they wanted cash.

Room Tip: Room looking towards the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    228
    86
    30
    19
See reviews for
118
272
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

After reading some negative reviews, I was very worried about staying at this hotel but we had a great experience. it is a beautiful hotel, great location (right on the lake, walking distance to town), great pool/garden area. The town of Stresa is beautiful and we had a great stay there.

Room Tip: We used Maggiore Discovery Tours for a private tour of the islands and wine/cheese tour and I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked a week with Thompsons at this fabulous hotel 9-15 May. We couldn't fault it. We payed extra for a lake view with a balcony . The weather was very hot for the first half and after a wet day, cooled slightly. On the wet day we just made use of the Jacuzzi and the very hot indoor pool. Gorgeous! The meals were amazing, 4 courses with a good selection.All the staff were very efficient and caring. We enjoyed sitting in the garden in the evenings. The hotel was in a good location with just a few minutes flat stroll into the small town. We were able to pick up ferries almost opposite to the islands on the lake, only a few mins and a def must. The white peacocks were wow!We booked a half day coach trip to the next lake which also had a very beautiful island and town and also a day trip into Switzerland to Zermatt. To help anyone decide I would say this area is not for anyone wanting a lot in the evenings other than a stroll by the lake but we would go back armed with good books, knowing we wold enjoy the relaxation.

Room Tip: We would be happy with either a lake view or a room looking over the swimming pool side of the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from 11 days at this beautiful Hotel.
We paid extra for a lake view room and we were so glad we did it was excellent.
The Hotel was very nice and the pool and the gardens were beyond our expectations.
The food was also good and not repetitive.
To purchase drinks in the Hotel was very expensive but to be expected.
We were surprised to pay an extra 1.50 euros per person per day for the pleasure in being in Italy. We should have been advised of this by our Travel Agent but were not.
All in all we really had a great time and will return.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had 2 mountain view room which were small but very nicely decorated and comfortable.
The staff during our 2 night stay were very helpful and friendly.
The location cannot be faulted, but with the mountain view rooms we had you did get some kitchen noises in the morning.
Only downside was the expensive cost of breakfast in the restaurant and high cost of wifi.
If you want a reasonably priced breakfast go for the room service continental breakfast which was very nice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Thought it was a lovely hotel. Very nice grounds with beautiful pool. Close to the town for restaurants and shopping. Located right on the lakefront overlooking Isola Bella. Food at breakfast and dinner was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. Cannot comment on value, as we were there with a tour group, nor on the spa, as we did not use it. Re the comment that It is an "old" hotel, all hotels in that area are. We had a room which might be described in a brochure as "partial lake view," as we did see a bit of the lake, but we were basically over a parking lot and the kitchens, but it was OK at night once everything calmed down. All rooms have balconies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Sits right on the lake. Fantastic pool area, gardens, resaurant and facilities. About a half mile from both town and the cable car to the mountain. Ask for a balcony room. It will either look over the beautiful gardens or the lake itself. I can't say enough about this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: Corso Umberto 1, 73, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strikingly elegant Grand Hotel Bristol is set amidst beautifully tended gardens and has a wonderful view over the lake and Borromean Island at the foot of the Alps. Conveniently situated across the road from the lake, and only 300 metres from the centre of Stresa, the hotel’s large swimming pool is set in the immaculate grounds and shares the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There is also an indoor pool at your disposal with two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Bristol Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.