We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saini Meuble

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Saini Meuble to your Saves list
Hotel Saini Meuble
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via garibaldi,10, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Spiez, Switzerland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hotel with a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had just a little trouble finding the hotel, it is hidden in a little side-street, in an old building, right in the old town. The owner, Gianni Saini and his wife welcomed us warmly, made sure we were comfortable and gave us recommendations for eating out in the evening. They even made sure that our bicycles were taken inside for the night. The rooms were spacious and very quiet, but there was no real view of the lake. The location is excellent for visiting the old town and catching the boats. For those that arrive by car, parking is a slight problem, there is nothing right near the hotel. The railway station is within walking distance.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have a view over the rooves of the town and even a glimpse of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    38
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
103
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tega Cay, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Long overdue praising this hotel from our visit in February 2014. Gianni "rescued" us after we discovered that our online booked hotel was closed for renovation. Gianni immeditely took us in and besides providing a five-star experience in accomodation, was the perfect one man chamber of commerce for Stresa and Lago Maggiore. Our visit was deep in the "off" season with many attractions and services closed for the season, but Gianni knew what was open and all his recommendations for food and entertainment were spot on. Additionally he was most helpful in directing our transportation and even booked accomodations for us in Rome for our return trip. Five star service, family friendliness and secure, comfortable accomodation, you could find no better in this beautiful region.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is run by one of life's real characters, Gianni. As other reviewers have said, his knowledge of the area, of sights, trips, shops and restaurants comes free with a stay here which gives you a head start. This never happens in the bigger impersonal hotels. Staying here is like living here among the locals. You can learn so much and get a genuine feel for the area in record time, which in my opinion is what travelling is all about. It is a hotel of about fourteen rooms. Ours was spacious and spotlessly clean. Service was great - even the bed was turned down in the evening. I have rated the hotel as "Excellent" because it suited my needs. The breakfast is modest but we were here out of season and many of the local suppliers, bakers and cake shops for example were closed, so Gianni was unable to provide all that he might normally for breakfast. Again as reported, the coffee was great with plenty of refills. Good strength free WiFi in all rooms is an added bonus.
I shall certainly be going back here on my next trip to my "Holiday Home" in Stresa.

Room Tip: We always request a quite room, which ours was, and because the hotel is really in a pedestrian area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Gianni was the perfect host and owner. His greeting and total knowledge of all of the Stressa area were beyond our expectatiions. The room was immaculately clean and of more than adequate size. Ice was even available for our evening beverage. Coffee in the morning was awesome. We arrived as guests and left as FRIENDS.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is difficult to understand why visitors would be unhappy with Hotel Saini in Stresa. Our room number 202 was spotlessly clean, of very good size and the hospitality shown by the owner, Gianni, was fantastic. He knew everyone in town, was knowledgable about the area and his restaurant suggestions were good, great food and a reasonable price. The wifi worked perfectly in the room and the breakfast was continental only but Gianni's coffee was best we have had in Europe.
Stresa is a beautiful part of the world and Hotel Saini is the perfect place to enjoy Lake Maggiori. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: In the height of the holiday season, suggest a room in the back of the hotel if you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This Hotel was perfect for a relaxing visit to beautiful Stresa! Our first visit to Italy and we were not disappointed. The warm welcome from Gianni, the owner, was perfect. He gave us wonderful ideas for our lunch, dinner and site seeing. We felt that we had our own tour guide, as needed. Our room was a delightful with wi-fi at our fingertips. We did not have to go to a central location for this. The room was spacious, very clean, nicely decorated with large windows and towels were refreshed twice a day! Breakfast was included with wonderful coffee. The location was ideal for getting around town, walking just about anywhere, located on a quaint cobblestone street close to the main square in town, very close to the waterfront. We felt Hotel Saini Meuble met all of our expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Our room was in the front of the hotel and occasional late night noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is hard to condense & explain the issues, dishonesty and misleading advertising and odd interactions with owner in a short post! Websites states it is a 3 star hotel. Definitely not. I emailed hotel before booking asking if there is wi-fi in the rooms. Hotel responded "yes". No wi-fi in rooms, owner had excuse that someone in area had "high powered Internet" that kept the rooms from getting wi-fi. Not what he emailed in response to my inquiry! Only wi-fi was near check-in desk. He told us we would be out sightseeing all day so we wouldn't need wi-fi (rather presumptuous on his part!) but that at night we would get wi-fi when the person with the high powered Internet would be offline. That didn't happen either! The Internet just does not work in rooms! Website says mini-bar in room. Not so. Only an non operating mini frig. Owners' excuse was someone had gone through hotel and messed up the wiring! Website says satellite TV. Not so. An old TV with a few local channels. Website says hotel has arrangements with 3 restaurants for special guest menus. Not so! It was cold in the late evenings and mornings. When asked for heat, we were told government will not allow it is October. Not so. We moved to a nearby hotel and had guest controlled thermostat in our room. Breakfast was worst we have seen. Consisted of one croissant each, butter, jelly, coffee or cocoa and a basket of unappetizing dried crackers and toast. Husband asked for fruit and was given one peach. Instead of buffet, these minimal items were put on each table. It seemed they were afraid guests would ask for more so nothing was in view and nothing more offered! Owner's constant excuses were well rehearsed! Check around. Many true 3 star hotels all around Hotel Saini at same price or a bit more, which would be well worth it. Suggest you read the other reviews regarding the same issues we had and more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsaini, Proprietario at Hotel Saini Meuble, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
ATTENZIONE a questa recensione !!!!
"Hotel Saini takes all criticism very seriously and the reviewer's harsh assumptions and
strong language need a response.

Hotel Saini makes the following comments:

* Hotel Saini is proud of its 3 star rating and reputation, justified by the
Tripadvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence and 87% positive reviews plus regular reviews by
the certifying authority and a 8.4 Booking.com rating.

* Hotel Saini provides two wifi facilities to ensure its guests enjoy excellent internet
access in all areas, including in the rooms. From time to time, there may be outside interference which is regretful, but
unfortunately outside the control of Hotel Saini.

* Hotel Saini is attending to the website to resolve any misunderstandings there may be.

* Hotel Saini is proud of its reputation of providing honest service and value for money
and any suggestion or assumption it wilfully witholds food or services is fanciful in the extreme.

* Should the reviewer still have the book "Rick Steves Itally 2013 " loaned for information, Hotel Saini requests it's return. "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Saini Meuble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saini Meuble

Address: via garibaldi,10, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saini Meuble 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Saini Meuble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saini Meuble Hotel
Saini Meuble Stresa
Hotel Saini Meuble Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saini Meuble, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.