We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stresa, in town, near the lake.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Primavera Hotel

Save Saved
You added Primavera Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Primavera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 39, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Stresa
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stresa, in town, near the lake.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My teen-age daughter and I shared a room here during her Spring break, arriving directly from the Milan airport by. Tom-Tom got us with-in a block, but still had to circle around a bit to find it. The hotel is in a pedestrian zone, that you can temporarily bring your car into in order to unload luggage. Free parking available nearby on the streets; in the Summer these spaces will be hard to find, I think. Our room, 433, was ready at 10 am, so we were allowed to check in early. There is a small lift;( but not big enough for a wheelchair, I don't think) The front desk personnel are friendly and helpful. Room on 4th floor was fine; clean; two smallish twin beds, balcony, with 2 folding chairs and table, over-looking rooftops with restricted view of Lago Maggiore. Any lower floors would probably not have a view at all, but I'm not sure about that. The halls and rooms are not fancy, but more than adequate and a good value considering the central location. Our room had excellent rolldown shutters that completely blocked the light. The picturesque church tower across the street was less quaint when it rang it's bell during our naps. Breakfast was good; fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, pastries, meats & cheese and any kind of coffee will be made from behind the bar.
Dinner is not available from this location; they have an associated hotel; Hotel Meeting, in which they have a restaraunt. We decided to find another place to eat for no other reason than we wanted to explore the city some more. The town's main supermarket is just around the corner, if you need to stock your backpack for a trip to the islands. The ferry boats to Borromean Islands are just a few blocks away.
Wi-Fi; 24 hours = 5 Euros
All in all, it was a good start to our week in Italy.

Room Tip: There is a compromise of getting a bacony, as the streets have restaraunts in them, below you. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    64
    23
    13
    17
See reviews for
20
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We showed up in Stresa with no reservation. We wandered into the center of old town and happened upon Primavera Hotel, compared to 3 other hotels nearby it was a far nicer hotel and great value! We decided to spend a few nights and have no regrets. Breakfast was lovely and fresh. We could see the lake from our room. It was very quiet although it was right on a main street. Right outside the door of the hotel is a FANTASTIC restaurant/bar "Al Buscion" you MUST try! Ask for Massimo, the owner, he's wonderful! We would stay at the Primavera Hotel again if we are ever lucky enough to be in Stresa again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hotel Primavera is a somewhat pleasant hotel located in a nice area in the center of things in Stresa. It's in a good location - just short walk to the Lake, lots of restaurants and shops and the ferry ticket office. My room was clean and comfortable but dark because there was only one window in the room and that faced a side street. There were rooms with balconies available and those were much nicer. I assumed I didn't get offered a balcony because none were available but after staying there for two nights and seeing only a few other guests, I am not sure about that.those rooms were all taken but I really didn't see many other guests. Stresa is lovely but for $10 euros less, I stayed at the Hotel Azalea in Braveno for the next two nights and had a balcony with a view of Lake Maggiore! I am not sure that any of the rooms at the Primavera have lake views. Most face the street below.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a balcony or at least a sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Upon the recommendation in Rick Steve's, we booked into the Hotel Primavera for 5 nights and guaranteed our stay with a credit card. We we arrived we were told that our room was not available because the person occupying the room was sick and could not move. We were sent to another branch location of the hotel (Villa Mauricio). This was touted as a newly renovated studio with all the amenities, although it was some distance from the Center of the town. While the kitchen and bathroom were indeed nice, the room was right over the railroad tracks. Between the noise from the trains which ran all night and a very uncomfortable couch bed, we got as much sleep as we did on the plane trip from the US to italy!

On the next day we were able to check into the Hotel Primavera and had a nice room with a balcony and a lake view. Funny thing, however, on ou last day in the hotel we were sitting in the reception area when an American couple arrived to check into their room. They were told that their room was not available for th same reason that we were (a sick person who could to leave). What we had in common was that we both checked in after 4pm and we were both American. Also the hotel has several other non central locations that they are trying to fill. This may be a ploy to fill these sub optimal locations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The staff was incompetent and disorganized. They decided to send us to another hotel because the room, which had already been paid, was not available for problems in the bathroom.
The other hotel was truly awful, and the room stank and There was no breakfast. The director of the hotel prmavera could have invited us to his hotel for breakfast to apologize but it was not so.
I hope to spend a pleasant weekend, but book in this hotel was a bad idea.
Fortunately, the lake is a lovely place to see, but book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We booked in to the Hotel Meeting for 3 nights. However, due to a plumbing problem we were given a room in the sister hotel, the Primavera. The room was spacious, with lots of storage and an excellent bathroom. unfortunately, the hotel was in the same street as a bar, and the noise from the bar was funnelled upwards to our room on the 3rd floor. The bar stayed open till 1.00am, after which time i was able to sleep. The next day i asked to transfer to the Meeting, and was given a choice of a room here or in the brand new apartment building nearby. This was excellent, except for the lack of storage, and we were well satisfied with the way the hotel dealt with our complaint. One word of warning - do not eat in the Meeting restaurant - this closes around 9.00 - contrary to the perceived Italian habit of dining late - and at 8.50pm we were the only ones in the dining room. There are lots of excellent restaurants nearby which operate sensible hours.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petach tikva
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We reserved a quad room. When arrived to the hotel, we were told that the room is not available due to a sick person in the room and were offered a room in a 2 star hotel at a bad location. The woman at the reception yelled at my pregnant wife. There was no sick people since all keys were at the reception. ALFREDO the manager said that there is only one room for 4 in the hotel, but on the 2 houres we were at the small hotel lobi 3 familys got key for 4 beds room. At the end we got a standart room stuffed with 2 extra beds. The sketch in the room showed at least 3 bigger rooms on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Primavera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primavera Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 39, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Primavera Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Primavera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primavera Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primavera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.