We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disheartened...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italie et Suisse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italie et Suisse to your Saves list
Hotel Italie et Suisse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Marconi, 1 Lungolago, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disheartened...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here for brothers wedding in stressa. Lovely location to ferry an shops an restaurants. But hotel was disappointing. Very basic. More like a 2-3 star. The room service was good every morning. The breakfast was Ok. Same every day. Typical continental . The family who run it are not very friendly. You have to talk to them. Really missed a pool. As balcony was tiny an by midday it was in the shade. We went out every day so just used it to wash an sleep in.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    26
    15
    12
See reviews for
19
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Location is excellent, right opposite the ferry terminal, close to the town square and plenty of restaurants nearby. Apart from that though, nothing special. Small rooms - biggest problem was the lack of plug points. Staff is ok. Breakfast was also ok.

Good enough for a quick hop into Stresa. But I'm sure there are better options down the road if you look for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I visited stresa with my mother. We paid extra for lake view but we're not given the lake view room upon asking the lady at front desk said this is lake view and all I could see was trees from my balcony also the room had no refrigerator and the bed foam was very old. I sat on the bed and went inside. The balcony was not cleaned properly and spiders were flying here and there alongside their webs. The breakfast lady was nice and patient, but the breakfast was just ok only the croissant and fruit were fresh rest the stuff was pre packed. The guy at reception had little knowledge of the place stresa and just rendered us to see the map. He said going to the chairlift is easy pie but it took us around 3 hours for the trip from hotel to chairlift and top and back down. Also they close the reception and doors at 1 am so like me if you are a night photography kind of guy who likes to take long exposure shots then DEFINITELY NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU my friend.
So overall the hotel was ok if you can afford to spend a lot for nothing much. But stresa is a beautiful place I encourage everyone to go there but choose some other hotel in my opinion not this one.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romano G, Proprietario at Hotel Italie et Suisse, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Normally we do not reply to cooments made on the interenet, but encourage customers to approach us preferably during their stay or at least prior to departure. In that way we can address any problems/preferences that have arisen immediately.
We would like to make the following comments:
You actually reserved and you paid for a standard room. Looking at our records you didn't reserve a lake view room; you didn't pay any extra for lake view, you paid anly the price for a standard room.
On the website where you booked, there is the avalability to book rooms with lake view, but you didn't choose this opportunity.
About breakfast what have you written is false; fresh other than croissants and fruit there are bread yougurt, salame, ham, cheese, cake etc. that are not industrially packed.
The problem of the chairlift. Here in Stresa there is no chairlift, but there is a cablecar to go the top of Mottarone. The station of the cablecar is 1 km distance from the hotel (15 minutes on foot). To go up it takes 20 minutes. At the end 3 hours is the right time to do the trip. Is it possible you did not know where you were going?
We would likle to assure you that we do take pride in cleanlines in our hotel.
We would aso like to assure that it is our intention to do our utmost to make the vacation of our customers as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel with a lake view, you can't beat this one in value for money.
There is a lift that serves the first 4 floors - we were on the 4th floor and the views were spectacular. If you have a car you can park across the street at a reduced day rate.
The rooms were large and very clean as was the bathroom.
However, wi-fi is free but allocated on a 2 hour limit so you have to keep asking for more, there is no fridge in the room, and the air conditioner is controlled by the hotel so it is only turned on at specific times of the day.
This could be a fantastic hotel if they could just fix these few issues.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Cons: Welcome could have been friendlier, however didn't spoil our stay. Room which we had (63) was a bit noisy due to people walking up the stairs and water pipes from other showers in the hotel so got woken up at 7am.
Pros: breakfast was good and young lady was nice who served us coffee. Hotel was immaculate as far as cleanliness was concerned, so bravo to the chambermaids and cleaners of the hotel. Perfect spot for taking boats and near to restaurants, all in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Best not go for room 63, bed comfy but a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

1. Most of the hotel floors are not served by a lift, so you'll be lugging your bags up and down each day.

2. My room didn't have any electric sockets save for an unusable one tucked away behind the TV. How do you charge your iPhone, camera?

3. The shower water temperature undulates from warm to cold in an unexpected and unsolicited fashion. Oh and if your AC is on, the water outlet will drain into the shower tray too.

4. Unless you book directly with the Hotel, Wifi is sold at an extortionate price (circa EUR9 for 2 hours).

5. The decor is a tired 1970s arrangement of yellow and green with a plastic-gold trim. It's a depressing antidote to the otherwise colourful Stresa.

6. If you're in after 1AM: tough luck. The hotel is locked down so better keep your nights short.

7. Other than the younger generation (a male son in his 30s and a curly-haired female assistant), the owner/receptionists are unfriendly and generally bored. Incidentally they wear the same garb each day which matches the hotel's decor - dull textiles.

8. Though the area is known for its chocolates and nuts, you won't get the real-thing for breakfast (Nutella) but a cheap equivalent which is appalling.

The only reason you should stay here is if you're a young backpacker and want a central location which is close to the city-centre, seafront and boat-landing. Otherwise skip it.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romano G, Proprietario at Hotel Italie et Suisse, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Usually we do not reply to comments because all guests have the possibility to tell us any problem or their preferences.
We are answering because you were always smiling and it doesn't seem there were problems.
If you told us your needs, we could satisfy most of them.
We thank you about the suggestion regarding electricity sockets. None before suggested to put more of them, but now all rooms have minimum 3 sockets.
In your comments there are 3 mistakes:
- there is no plastig-gold trim in the rooms;
- the region of nuts and choccolate is only 200 Km far from here. If we knew your wished to get Nutella at breakfast , we could buy a jar for you;
- it is not true that you carried your lagguage up and down evey day.
At the end most of your comments are very personal and subjective.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Basic 3* accommodation but perfectly adequate. Good, clean en suite rooms. Very courteous staff. Great location, close to bus and ferry stops and to local shops and just across the road from the lake. Some evening noise from the entertainment in the town square which typically ends between 11pm and midnight. No Wifi.

Room Tip: Request room with a view as some rooms face adjacent accommodation. Rooms overlooking the square can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#14 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#27 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#28 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#10 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italie et Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italie et Suisse

Address: Piazza Marconi, 1 Lungolago, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italie et Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL ITALIE ET SUISSE has an enviable position. It is located in the town centre of Stresa, directly on the lakeside, just a few steps from the embarkation to the Borromee Islands and to the other resorts overlooking Lake Maggiore. Stresa is 35 km from the international airport of Milan-Malpensa and is easily accessible through the Sempione national road (s.S.33), The A26 motorway or the shuttle service (Alibus with reservation) The hotel is well-furnished. Our clients have at their disposal a bar-room with Sat-TV and reading room with Internet Point. Breakfast buffet. All the rooms are with private bathrooms, bathtub or shower, direct telephone line, Sat-TV, safe, air-conditioning and wi-fi Internet access. Nearly all the rooms are with balconies from where you can admire the Borromeo gulf with its islands, Pallanza, Santa Caterina del Sasso and all the peaks of the mountains surrounding Lake Maggiore. The Hotel Italie et Suisse is the ideal starting point for excursions on Lake Maggiore and surroundings. From Stresa you can visit the Borromee islands - Isola Bella, Isola Pescatori and Isola Madre -, the Zoological and Botanic Garden of Villa Pallavicino, Mottarone with the Botanic Garden of Alpinia, the latter can be reached by car or cableway (The cableway is distant 1 km from the Hotel) and the Umbrella Musuem at Gignese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Italie et Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italie And Suisse Stresa
Italie And Suisse Hotel
Hotel Italie Et Suisse Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italie et Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.