We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italie et Suisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italie et Suisse to your Saves list
Hotel Italie et Suisse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Marconi, 1 Lungolago, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“superb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

i was in that hotel about 4 months ago with my mother, the price was suitable. the service and plats were perfect. Its place is awesome, we had passed great moments, everything was clean and well organised

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    20
    12
    11
See reviews for
10
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This has to be one of the most beautiful places on planet. Stresa is to lake Maggiore what Bellagio is to lake Como and this as good a place to wake up to this wonderful view as any.It literally took my breath away every morning. It was central with the ferries right in front and short walks to beautiful views of Isola Bella .The staff i found helpful and breakfasts were great no complaints.Tip ask for room 31 or 41 for those fabulous views. Also just next door is a church which is easily overlooked but when we popped our heads in we were knocked out . Give it a try.
We decided to go by train from Stresa to Locarno via Domodossola and i would say the first leg from Stresa to Domodossola was very cheap but the return ticket to Locarno was a bit steep. Why go to Locarno when you have paradise right outside you hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 31 and 41 for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location, just across the road from the ferries that ply Lake Maggiore to the islands. The owners were obliging and recommended good places to eat and ordered us a taxi, which arrived promptly, when we left.

We were unfortunate to have a room in the adjoining building which was very basic, and extremely cold and quite damp. We could not get any washing dry.

The breakfast was adequate. Wifi, which we thought was free was not, as charges were applicable. Look at the fine print. If it were not for the location I would probably not recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel in excellent location but the hotel is woefully short of its claims and is run by a person who has a take it or leave it attitude. Rooms very basic. This experience was very early on in our holiday and fortunately the excellent service we experienced in other Italian Hotels on the way reassured us that this hotel was not the norm. Very poor customer service, pre-packed breakfast and lacks any personal touch as you might expect from an operator like this.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Very central location, surrounded by cafes and restaurants. Just opposite parking area and boats to the islands. Very good b fast. Staff , I guess owners of hotel are very helpful and efficient. Very clean but basic rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June as part of a fourteen day tour of Italy.The rooms were very basic.The bathroom which had been described as refitted with a rain shower had a hand held shower head over the bath and no curtain . The balcony opened onto an inner 'courtyard' about 10 feet square going up at least 4 floors, the walls being covered with mold and pigeon droppings. There were front facing balcony rooms available but Signore would not let us have them . Free wi fi was advertiised but not available , there was a charge by the half hour . The air conditioning unit was locked and when asked to put it on was refused , The proprietor told us the weather was not hot enough yet. When I tried to discuss some of these problems with the proprietor he just walked away. The Hotel is in an excellant position opposite the Lake by the ferry terminal. The old town with shops and restaurants just around the corner.

Room Tip: The hotel is made up of two connected buildings .There is no lift service above the first floor to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Italie et Suisse for six nights in May 2013 and have nothing but good to say about the experience. This is a family run hotel and the owner Signore Gonella, his wife and son offer the level of service found only in a well-run family hotel. They are courteous, generous, attentive and always available to serve their guests and offer excellent advice regarding sight-seeing in the local area. Breakfast consists of a varied menu, (better than many three star hotels I have stayed in), and the coffee pot is bottomless. The location of the hotel could not be better for sightseeing in the town of Stresa and for boat trips on the lake which leave from the terminal just across the street. Signore Gonella has an enjoyable sense of humour and endless patience for the many questions I threw at him during my stay. The rooms are well-equipped with flat-screen TV, comfortable bed, balcony with lake view and are spotless throughout - a tribute to the hard-working staff. Stresa on Lake Maggiore is a beautiful location for a laid-back holiday and the Gonella family certainly ensure that nothing detracts from their guests' enjoyment. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is keen for a relaxed holiday in the company of others of a like mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italie et Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italie et Suisse

Address: Piazza Marconi, 1 Lungolago, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italie et Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL ITALIE ET SUISSE has an enviable position. It is located in the town centre of Stresa, directly on the lakeside, just a few steps from the embarkation to the Borromee Islands and to the other resorts overlooking Lake Maggiore. Stresa is 35 km from the international airport of Milan-Malpensa and is easily accessible through the Sempione national road (s.s.33), the A26 motorway or the shuttle service (Alibus with reservation) The hotel is well-furnished. Our clients have at their disposal a bar-room with Sat-TV and reading room with Internet Point. Breakfast buffet. All the rooms are with private bathrooms, bathtub or shower, direct telephone line, Sat-TV, safe, air-conditioning and wi-fi Internet access. Nearly all the rooms are with balconies from where you can admire the Borromeo gulf with its islands, Pallanza, Santa Caterina del Sasso and all the peaks of the mountains surrounding Lake Maggiore. The Hotel Italie et Suisse is the ideal starting point for excursions on Lake Maggiore and surroundings. From Stresa you can visit the Borromee islands – Isola Bella, Isola Pescatori and Isola Madre -, the Zoological and Botanic Garden of Villa Pallavicino, Mottarone with the Botanic Garden of Alpinia, the latter can be reached by car or cableway (The cableway is distant 1 km from the Hotel) and the Umbrella Musuem at Gignese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Italie et Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italie And Suisse Stresa
Italie And Suisse Hotel
Hotel Italie Et Suisse Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italie et Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.