We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous apartment hotel in beautiful lakeside setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto to your Saves list
Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto
Corso Italia 60, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment hotel in beautiful lakeside setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just back to rainy Scotland after staying in Stresa for a week at this hotel.
Had a beautiful apartment with a large sitting room, bedroom and bathroom.
Had a wee kitchen hidden behind a sliding door which was very useful- fridge, microwave, and hot plates.
Very close to excellent restaurants, and across the road from the lake, very close to ferry stop to visit the beautiful islands.
Staff very helpful and seemed to be able to converse in many languages!
Would recommend this hotel, very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
155
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This little boutique residence hotel was exceptional.
The staff was amazing and made our stay absolutley enjoyable with their recomendations and hospitality. We were the only guests that ordered breakfast one morning and they recommended breakfast on our balcony (as opposed to the breakfast room). We ended up with a fantastic feast in the morning sun on our balcony!
The rooms were very modern, fresh and clean in this new hotel. We were travelling with our children so the room had a bedroon, bathroom and a family room with a pull out couch (there was also a kitchen which we did not use).
The views from our balcony onto Lake Maggiorre were breathtaking.
The hotel was a convenent walk to everywhere in Stresa including the boats to the islands and the cable car into the alps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here for a week with our toddler, in a "superior" suite (a lake view apartment with separate bedroom). We booked direct with the hotel via email.

We agree with all the positive reviews here already, particularly with respect to the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the high standard of accommodation (the website doesn't do justice to how nice the rooms are). We were provided with a cot, high chair and a baby bath to use. Wireless internet was free.

The hotel is great for families, the apartment layout being perfect for putting young children to sleep in the bedroom while adults can cook/eat in the living area and drink on the balcony. The hotel is on the lake-front only a minute's walk from the ferry and the main shops and restaurants. The lake-front itself is scenic, flat with lots of benches and even a children's playground.

Although the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool, the larger (and much more expensive) hotels allow you to use their pool for 20 to 25 euros per person per day. It worked well to stay in a large apartment and just pay for the swimming pool for the odd day that we wanted. We can recommend the pool at the Regina Palace (costs 20 euros each) because you can use both outdoor and indoor pools (the indoor pool was nice in the afternoon when it got hot).

For eating out, we can recommend Mama Mia's - great food at reasonable prices, much better than the restaurants in the main square. For eating in, there is a fantastic shop selling freshly made pasta (from spaghetti to ravioli to lasagne that just needs cooking) at the very top of via principe tomaso. We wish we'd found it earlier in the week.

You can catch the Alibus (can be either a minibus or a coach) from Malpensa airport to Stresa, which takes under an hour. It goes direct from Malpensa airport to the ferry port a minute's walk from the hotel. On the way back to the airport, we took the train (takes a little longer with one change of trains) - thanks very much to Chiara who spent a lot of time researching trains and times for us!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Outstanding view, great room, beautiful hotel, excellent staff, wonderful location... nothing to criticise here. We booked a suite- a massive 2 bedroom apartment style room with the most wonderful view of the lake. The staff here, especially Chiara really made the difference. The owners were wonderful- this place has the family run feel. Location was outstanding. Usually we wouldn't go for a three star hotel. This place by far delivers everything you would want from a 4 star hotel plus a lot more personality and service.

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Well-designed hotel with fabulous views of the Lake Maggiore... and lots of good places to sit and enjoy it! The rooms were clean and comfy. The staff was warm and helpful. They also provided great recommendations for places to eat and visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Perfect from beginning to end-the location , the views, the rooms and public areas but in particular the staff who are the most welcoming friendly and helpful we have met in many travels. .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This was our first trip to lake maggiore. We found the hotel quite easily along the main street right on the lake, although were a little concerned when we saw that it was directly above a gas station. Despite this, there was a lift for our luggage and the proprietor was there to greet us. As we were running a little late, we phoned and asked if there was anywhere nearby where we could eat, that would be still open at 10pm, and were assured that there would be a pizzeria very close and still open. We couldn't find one place open for a meal, pizza, or even bread and cheese, and were a little perplexed as to why everything seemed shut so early on a Friday night! We did however, find a little bar called 'gigi's bar' a little gem, that served us ham and cheese paninis. The next day was raining terribly, but we visited the other small isalnds with the ferry. We decided to leave the hotel one night early, mostly due to the weather, but we were disappointed with breakfast-no eggs, and a tad overpriced considering the lack of hot food, and the cleanliness of the sheets was negatable. However, the room was a good size, and despite our last minute booking still had a partial view over the lake. We were charged extra when we decided to leave early, and I believe that the hotel is overpriced for what it is. We had to park on the street, as there was no hotel parking, and the pillows and beds are very very hard!! Be prepared and bring your own pillow too! We also had problems getting onto the Internet, however this seems to be a frequent problem in Italy. We were spun a lot of different stories about why the Internet wasn't working, and I'm not sure that wi fi was available at all. We had no internet whilst we were there at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
"Sirs, we would like to reply to your review, as we would like to explain our version of facts about your stay.
You booked the same day of your arrival, by calling us in the early afternoon, letting us know that you would have been able to check in within two hours. However as a matter of fact, you checked in very late in the evening, when the owner was waiting for you only to come (as our guests know, we do not have any night porter and in case of late arrival, waiting until the late hours is up to us!) and could warmly welcome you, as we usually do with everyone. Concerning dinner late at night we could suggest you a very good place but obviously it wasn't possible for us to know that they decided to close earlier because of the bad weather.
We also couldn't do anything against the rain falling down strongly during your stay or for the fact that we do not have a private parking (our hotel is in fact located on a upper position compared to the surroundings and due to our location there really wouldn't be an area we could own as parking place).
Since you had had booked for three nights, we thought to reserve you a discount on the normal daily rate. Then, the following day, due to the bad weather conditions, you decided to stay only two nights and after an internal meeting, we agreed not to charge you with any fee (while this would be normally previewed by our "General Conditions with the Cancellation Policy", which were read and reconfirmed by you: according to them, we should have had the right to charge you with a fee of 50% (of the daily rate) but only to turn the daily rate into our official, as the reduced rate we formerly offered was a special offer reserved for a 3 days stay.
We are sorry that you have been offended by the missed eggs, but we are proud of our breakfast buffet, that compared to a standard continental one is better than average.
Also, we like stories and we have so many to tell: for sure we spend our time sharing them and we don't need to create them ad hoc for our Internet problems. We actually know that we had to cope with a connection issue, but as all the other Guests understood that it was not our fault, rather Telecom Italia's one, we would have appreciated your understanding as well. Thus, we feel disappointed that someone accuse us not to be honest or not to care about guests as we are very well known in many Countries thanks to the good job in making clients feel like they're at home.

This review disappointed us deeply and we find it completely understandable that all critiques help to always do better but we also care about our image, not to be ruined for comments like yours. We also find unhelpful from your part not to mention about all bad you found about your stay by checking out, when the receptionist asked you how your stay was and you answered positively.
In the end, nobody is perfect: we are the first to admit it and we try to do our best to achieve the top. we'd also like to be every Guest's friend, but if we can't then we move aside politely. Thus, should you come back to Stresa once again, we wish you an enjoyable stay in our town even if not with us"

Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto

Address: Corso Italia 60, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stresa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new hotel residence LA LUNA NEL PORTO is situated in the centre of Stresa, on the lakeside promenade. Studios and two room apartments with panoramic terraces,private gardens, fully equipped kitchen corner, air conditioned, safe, tv sat, free internet connection. Each apartment has its peculiarity in colours and furniture: you can stay in the apartment with sunset orange colours or in that with lake and sky colours. The hotel has flourishing panoramic garden, solarium, bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.