We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moderno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Moderno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went there with a friend. We were doing a roadtrip and didn't really know where we were going to sleep. This was one of the cheepest hotel with wi-fi included in Stresa! The city is so nice and really romantic that we wanted to stay at least one night.
The service was really nice, we had a room for two with a small balcony - we were directly on the street, which is really fun as you can watch the people passing by or just listen to the sounds of the street. It is a very calm place so it is definitely not disturbing to keep the window open, as you don't hear a thing.
There is no parking and it is quite difficult to find one around, but the hotel is perfectly situated as Stresa is not that big so you are always close to it, which is nice.
A bit expensive for the quality of the room and the breakfast, but still nice and cosy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately I am unable to rate this property however the hotel has an outdoor restaurant which we ate in on several occasions.
The food served here is excellent, in fact although it is not classed as a restaurant, it served the best food I ever tasted in Stresa.
On our first visit here there was a fabulous live band playing in the street where this hotel is situated, they were attracting a lot of attention, camera men, photo shoot which I'm sure had nothing to do with the hotel however that's why we initially decided to eat there to listen to the music. Ate here on 4 further occasions, the beef in balsamic is to die for along with their veal, creme brûlée the very best I ever tasted, and their meringue ice cream cake - YUM!
Staff were excellent, friendly and service with a smile. This restaurant is a must when visiting Stresa, try it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is in centre of Stresa just two minutes from lake front. Food good, staff mannerable and helpful and rooms clean. Towels changed daily, bedlinen every two days. Our room faced front, with a balcony and a narrow view of the lake which was lovely. The bell tower of church right outside but not an inconvenience.Would go there again.

Room Tip: hgih floor facing front with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

but nothing special. We stayed here for several nights and had a room right across from the church bell tower so we were loudly serenaded a few times but nothing that interfered with sleep. The room was an adequate size but the "shower" was set up in such a way that it was impossible to use. Mattress could have been a little firmer on the bed but it was not terrible. The restaurant food was good but no really special dishes. Staff were professional. Location makes for an easy walk to the lake or around town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a very spacious room with balcony with two chairs overlooking a cobblestone plaza. With the balcony doors closed at night, we were not bothered by street noise. It was October, cool evenings. Used thermostat in room for heat. When it didn't get warm enough, office staff graciously turned up the heat. Comfortable room and beds. Excellent friendly staff that made us feel very welcome. Had great wi -fi, no charge. Breakfast was plentiful with a wonderful selection...one of the best we have had! Staff suggested a free parking location. Staff was more informative than the tourist office, which was of minimal help. Perfect location with numerous restaurants, bars, shops right there. The ferry boat dock and water front about a three minute walk. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it and if isn't what you expect, ask to see one or two mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey, NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here in early September. Everyone mentions a nice balcony in their review. Our balcony was so tiny that all you could do is stand there. We looked out and saw everyone with chairs sitting and smoking on their balcony. We asked to be changed to a room with a larger balcony but none were available for two nights. Oh well!
The breakfast was disappointing. Come on, this is Italy. Not even fresh fruit?
When you go down to breakfast, they ask for your room number. Then they run upstairs and make your bed and change the towels. That counts as having your room cleaned. So after breakfast which took no more than 10 min, your room was "cleaned". And don't look for the 'do not disturb' sign because it does not exist. And the room key weighs a ton.
They had a restaurant that was open for dinner but we never saw anyone eating there. There is a grocery store around the block. Great to buy a bottle of wine.
We came in by train which was a 15 min walk to hotel. There is a convenient bus to Milan airport in front of the church for 12 euro. It takes one hour.

Room Tip: Go to the Sky Bar at the Hotel La Palma. Couple of blocks away. View is beautiful. Buy some drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are fine and we had a nice little balcony out to the street side. Which is a problem if you are a light sleeper. The noise from loud people on a saturday night was considerable, and a problem for my girlfriend. Clocktower were two meters away from our window, but unlike other churches around the lake, it didn't ring all night long. But you sure will hear it from around 8 in the morning.

You will have the noise problem in any street facing room in most of Stresa on a weekend.

Breakfast was standard Italian. Ask for real coffee, and they'll make it, no charge, instead of the nescafe machine stuff.

Overall, noisy but friendly and well worth the price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Via Cavour 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moderno Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moderno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.