We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moderno to your Saves list
Hotel Moderno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I went there with a friend. We were doing a roadtrip and didn't really know where we were going to sleep. This was one of the cheepest hotel with wi-fi included in Stresa! The city is so nice and really romantic that we wanted to stay at least one night.
The service was really nice, we had a room for two with a small balcony - we were directly on the street, which is really fun as you can watch the people passing by or just listen to the sounds of the street. It is a very calm place so it is definitely not disturbing to keep the window open, as you don't hear a thing.
There is no parking and it is quite difficult to find one around, but the hotel is perfectly situated as Stresa is not that big so you are always close to it, which is nice.
A bit expensive for the quality of the room and the breakfast, but still nice and cosy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandeBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Unfortunately I am unable to rate this property however the hotel has an outdoor restaurant which we ate in on several occasions.
The food served here is excellent, in fact although it is not classed as a restaurant, it served the best food I ever tasted in Stresa.
On our first visit here there was a fabulous live band playing in the street where this hotel is situated, they were attracting a lot of attention, camera men, photo shoot which I'm sure had nothing to do with the hotel however that's why we initially decided to eat there to listen to the music. Ate here on 4 further occasions, the beef in balsamic is to die for along with their veal, creme brûlée the very best I ever tasted, and their meringue ice cream cake - YUM!
Staff were excellent, friendly and service with a smile. This restaurant is a must when visiting Stresa, try it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonirene172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is in centre of Stresa just two minutes from lake front. Food good, staff mannerable and helpful and rooms clean. Towels changed daily, bedlinen every two days. Our room faced front, with a balcony and a narrow view of the lake which was lovely. The bell tower of church right outside but not an inconvenience.Would go there again.

Room Tip: hgih floor facing front with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 924sheila70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

but nothing special. We stayed here for several nights and had a room right across from the church bell tower so we were loudly serenaded a few times but nothing that interfered with sleep. The room was an adequate size but the "shower" was set up in such a way that it was impossible to use. Mattress could have been a little firmer on the bed but it was not terrible. The restaurant food was good but no really special dishes. Staff were professional. Location makes for an easy walk to the lake or around town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelyn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a very spacious room with balcony with two chairs overlooking a cobblestone plaza. With the balcony doors closed at night, we were not bothered by street noise. It was October, cool evenings. Used thermostat in room for heat. When it didn't get warm enough, office staff graciously turned up the heat. Comfortable room and beds. Excellent friendly staff that made us feel very welcome. Had great wi -fi, no charge. Breakfast was plentiful with a wonderful selection...one of the best we have had! Staff suggested a free parking location. Staff was more informative than the tourist office, which was of minimal help. Perfect location with numerous restaurants, bars, shops right there. The ferry boat dock and water front about a three minute walk. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it and if isn't what you expect, ask to see one or two mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Solesonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here in early September. Everyone mentions a nice balcony in their review. Our balcony was so tiny that all you could do is stand there. We looked out and saw everyone with chairs sitting and smoking on their balcony. We asked to be changed to a room with a larger balcony but none were available for two nights. Oh well!
The breakfast was disappointing. Come on, this is Italy. Not even fresh fruit?
When you go down to breakfast, they ask for your room number. Then they run upstairs and make your bed and change the towels. That counts as having your room cleaned. So after breakfast which took no more than 10 min, your room was "cleaned". And don't look for the 'do not disturb' sign because it does not exist. And the room key weighs a ton.
They had a restaurant that was open for dinner but we never saw anyone eating there. There is a grocery store around the block. Great to buy a bottle of wine.
We came in by train which was a 15 min walk to hotel. There is a convenient bus to Milan airport in front of the church for 12 euro. It takes one hour.

Room Tip: Go to the Sky Bar at the Hotel La Palma. Couple of blocks away. View is beautiful. Buy some drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labern116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are fine and we had a nice little balcony out to the street side. Which is a problem if you are a light sleeper. The noise from loud people on a saturday night was considerable, and a problem for my girlfriend. Clocktower were two meters away from our window, but unlike other churches around the lake, it didn't ring all night long. But you sure will hear it from around 8 in the morning.

You will have the noise problem in any street facing room in most of Stresa on a weekend.

Breakfast was standard Italian. Ask for real coffee, and they'll make it, no charge, instead of the nescafe machine stuff.

Overall, noisy but friendly and well worth the price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#18 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#12 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Via Cavour 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moderno Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing