We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Great Gatsby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Palace

Save Saved
You added Regina Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regina Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out of the Great Gatsby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Your first view is that of flower covered balconies, beautiful stained glass and grand entrances as if out of the golden age movies. The hotel is decorated in the 1920's style including a grand foyer. Although the outdoor pool is very nice and is surrounded by flowers and nice foliage, is the indoor pool which is breathtaking, looking like a cavern it also has a built in jacuzzi with seating for relaxation. The pool floor has shells, starfish and seahorses covered cleverly by an epoxy which simulates the sea. They also have a very comprehensive spa facility. The rooms are nice although not breathtaking but the location more than makes up for it. Must be careful with the side rugs as they are extremely slippery. Everything is within walking distance and the lake is right in front. Breakfast was extensive and waiters were happy to bring a cappuccino or double espresso. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room for a magnificent experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    206
    94
    34
    17
See reviews for
70
290
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Regina Palace Hotel Stresa/Lake Maggiore Italy.
7 Nights from 24th June to 1st July 2014.
This was our main destination for a group holiday with ‘Great Rail Journeys’
We had a beautiful room (411) complete with chandelier and a balcony overlooking the lake, which is a real treat in Italy. We were at the front of the hotel and had lovely views of the lake and local islands.
The room had a mini bar, safe and plenty of storage for your personal belongings.
There is free WiFi available in the hotel, previous reviews mentioned some problems. On arrival I checked and I could make a connection with a basic ‘Hiport link’ BUT it wasn’t good enough to use with say ‘WhatsApp’. I spoke with reception and they gave me a ‘scratch card’ to obtain FREE high speed access to the internet. This card, once scratched gives you a User Name & Password. It has a total limit on it but I didn’t use it all. However,I still had some annoying issues with it, in that it would drop out soon after you stopped using it and re-establishing the link wasn’t always easy as you couldn’t get any internet access to sign on again on the basic HiPort non scratch card connection at times of high demand.
I have an early iPhone and I would go to my settings - Wi-Fi and re-establish the basic HiPort link. Then using my google browser I searched for the ‘www.hiport.net’ given on the scratch card. I clicked on the first option and you get a picture of someone’s hand on a keyboard plus other pics. – Scroll over to the right of that page where you will see a link to sign in as you did originally. RE input your ‘User Name & Password from the scratch card and you are back in business.
The above sounds difficult but it soon becomes second nature. Hope it works for you!!
The staff are generally excellent. The waiting staff are friendly and very polite and efficient. Some made time for a bit of fun but always watching to see what you needed and asked if your meal was ok. The public rooms were very grand but not in the least bit uncomfortable or unwelcoming. The food was very good with a very extensive breakfast buffet and good choice for the few evening meals we had there as part of our package. Drinks in the bar were quite expensive but there were plenty of places nearby to get something a bit cheaper if you wished. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in a wonderful location only 8 minutes walk from the very pretty and interesting town.
The gardens, outside pool area and bar were excellent as was the indoor pools, gym and other facilities.
My Tripadvisor restaurant shortlist for eating gave me: Mama Mis, Caffe Torino, Taverna Del Pappagello and La Botte, Also the best Ice Cream Riva Est SNC Di.

HOWEVER, retain a good record of what you buy and what the cost is against your account! I have a very simple but easy to use account App on my phone called ‘Money Monitor’ which I use for all holidays. This comes in very useful when you want to settle your bill at the end of your stay. On my last morning I collected a copy off my bill and it was 21 Euros more than I expected. I asked to see the slip for that amount and it clearly was not my signature. The receptionist apologised and redid my bill less the 21 Euros. We then got our packing done and assembled with the other members of our group ready to board our coach to get to our next train on the journey home. The coach was just about to leave and our group leader quietly asked me to get off the coach as there was a dispute over my bill. On arrival at reception I was met with the earlier receptionist and one of the waitresses who serve in the bar. She strongly stated that I had had the drinks making up the 21 Euros. I said no I hadn’t and my signature was not on that slip and I showed my signature on my card and pointed to my signature on other slips. She ran through the drinks that I had the previous evening, 30th June and I said yes I had had those drinks last night. But not only was it not my signature the slip but it was dated for the 26th June. Very reluctantly, it was I think, accepted I hadn’t underpaid. Our group leader stated it was the hotels mistake. I was very annoyed and embarrassed as all the others waiting on our coach must have felt I had not paid my bill!!
I left felling very sad that my stay at that hotel was spoilt by that issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Regina Palace for a week in early June as part of a tour group. I have stayed in hotels as part of a tour group before and my past experience has been that we are usually given the worst rooms in the hotel. I can only think that the Regina Palace mustn't have any bad rooms! Although small, it was a beautiful room complete with chandelier and a balcony, which is a real treat in Italy. We were at the back of the hotel but had lovely views of the grounds and the hills behind. The staff were excellent. The waiting staff were friendly but super efficient. They always had time for a bit of fun but always watching to see what you needed. The public room were very grand but not in the least bit unrelaxing. The food was good with a very extensive breakfast buffet. Drinks were quite expensive but there were plenty of places nearby to get something a bit cheaper if you wished. This is definitely the best hotel I have stayed at in Italy and in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel certainly has the Wow factor when you arrive. Very impressive inside and out. The best thing about it is the location - three/four minutes walk to the town centre. Lovely for an after dinner stroll. Our room was spacious, but agree with an earlier comment on the rugs slipping. Care needed. Also bathroom sounds from neighbouring room were rather noticeable. Balconies are very small and WiFi useless. Easier and quicker to go to one of the bars/cafés in the town where it is free and speedy.

Being on a tour the menu selection was limited but most of the time the choice was adequate if unadventurous. The staff, especially the waiters were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and they had a great sense of humour.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Staff were so friendly and accommodating, hotel was stunning. The spa is a must see and use all the facilities, it was very relaxing. Breakfast was great a vast array of food. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, we got impressed by the opulence, which also hindered us at first. But we had a great time in the outdoor pool area, the soccer field and in the especially the indoor pool. Breakfast was excellent, and so is the location. They had a Ferraris display on the front lawn, which the kids loved.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A wonderful hotel evoking the Belle Epoque. This hotel is so impressive people take photographs of it.
The size of the hotel might not be to everyone's taste, conventions and meetings abound, however the facilities and location are second to none.

Room Tip: It has to be a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.