We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Regina Palace to your Saves list
Regina Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could not fault this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Staff were so friendly and accommodating, hotel was stunning. The spa is a must see and use all the facilities, it was very relaxing. Breakfast was great a vast array of food. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    226
    106
    37
    24
See reviews for
77
322
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State of Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, we got impressed by the opulence, which also hindered us at first. But we had a great time in the outdoor pool area, the soccer field and in the especially the indoor pool. Breakfast was excellent, and so is the location. They had a Ferraris display on the front lawn, which the kids loved.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A wonderful hotel evoking the Belle Epoque. This hotel is so impressive people take photographs of it.
The size of the hotel might not be to everyone's taste, conventions and meetings abound, however the facilities and location are second to none.

Room Tip: It has to be a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranco, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Classic lake hotel. The bar is very nice and as is the pool and facilities. My only problem was the noise the cleaners made. Every door is slammed! And when the room above mine was being cleaned then I thought they would come through the ceiling. A few more reception staff would also help, as there are often long lines of people waiting. Rooms in the newer wing at the back are nice, although the showers can leak water onto the floors, flooding the bathroom.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Good hotel although the rooms would benefit from refurbishment. Staff friendly and helpful. Extensive grounds with outdoor pool provide the opportunity to enjoy the sun. Good access to the lake and down centre. Food good and plenty of choice at breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for travellers looking for a peaceful holiday with old fashioned style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Generally, the hotel is beautiful and the location AMAZING. But there were so many little things that were FRUSTRATING. Terrible wifi (none in rooms and limited access in reception area). Extremely slow lifts. Breakfast restaurant opens late (after 7am). I would stay someplace else next time. They fall short on some fundamentals that, at this price, are unacceptable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here for one week.
ROOMS: I had a standard, with wonderful terrace, facing the lake. You cannot reserve this feature during booking: they'll give you on the basis of availability. Large enough, fine bath. Fitting a 4 stars, good hotel. Note: also rooms facing the hill make sense, since you'll have no noise from the road or the large ground floor terrace.
Some of my group complained for top floor, under the roof tiny windows.
COMMON AREAS: splendid, if you like the style. I'd summarize 5 envionments: 1) the hall -large, with high ceiling, allowing many groups to get aparted squares to sit and chat. A mix of '800 and '900 styles. 2) bar area, on the left entering the hotel: a red-walls Art Noveau room that seemed underutilized but has extremely high charm. 3) the breakfast and lunch rooms: the best asset of the hotel, to me. Even better than what the superior class Hotel Des Isles Borromee can offer; 4) the garden: also somehow better than the one of the superior Hotel neary, especially for the pool area; 5) the conference areas: very nice, modern reinterpretation of the old style of the main building. Also a large hall can host banquets.
SPA: superb, not very large, but offering several options of cold/hot treatments. Truly a surprise.
SERVICE: we were a large corporate group and received great service except from two individuals: one lady at the front terrace bar (she was waiting for a bill to be signed while our group had just ordered new drinks: instead of coming back later, as the guy who had to sign was in the middle of telling a story, she dared to say "yes, sir, I am working". Presumptios and out of place) and one of the waiters of the corporate lunches (he used to speak like mocking on foreing guests). Two flies that spoiled a bit the overall very, very good service given by the team -including the reception.
VIEWS: spectacular. It's postcard Italy.
SPECIAL OCCASIONS: I think it fits all demands for ceremonies and corporate meetings. It also allows nice walks by the lake.
COMPETITORS: The Regina Palace looked no doubt more appealing than all the other 4 stars (the Bristol looked naked, a bit minimalistic but offered lake views on two sides of the building), while it shows lower standards (not dramatically) compared to the 5 stars Luxury Hotel Des Isles Borromee. Let's say, it's almost like the top luxury one and even has a competitive edge for the outer pool and pool-garden and lunch area. For the general impact of the front areas, the 5stars one is more appealing for sure.

Room Tip: get a room with balcony and terrace if possible. Avoid under the roof rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.