We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Regina Palace, Stresa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Palace

Save Saved
You added Regina Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regina Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Regina Palace, Stresa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We travelled with Riviera Travel and, as we were a coach party, we had a separate dining room off the main one. Although the breakfast buffet was great with everything you could possibly want, our dinner menu was a reduced choice. We travelled as a party of 4 and we like to have a table of our own but we had to sit with different people every evening on large tables for 12. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable.We were there in September and the outdoor pool was dirty as they seem to think the season has finished even though it was still warm. The indoor pool was great, although the decor was rather dark.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    208
    95
    34
    18
See reviews for
71
293
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived at this very picturesque hotel to be greeted with smiles and efficiency. Although early morning we were accommodated immediately. The room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had all amenities. As the weather was inclement we dined in at the hotel restaurant well that was a treat. The service was fantastic the food very palatable and the ambience excellent. All staff members we came in contact with we're genial and very willing to assist. Thanks for a lovely two nights.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front although a bit more expensive are well worth the cost the view is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This gem has been preserved in her original grandeur. There is a magical charm to this place for sure. The views of the lake and Italian Alps are amazing. Location is perfect as it is just a short walk to the main square to explore. Take in a late evening stroll along the waterfront too. Under ground parking for no charge was a treat also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake - worth it - and if you have a balcony even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with lovely grand features - the huge chandelier and staircase in the entrance lobby with its couches, chairs and antique piano. Our room on the 1st floor was very comfortable with a good-sized balcony overlooking the lake. The bathroom was large with 'his and her' wash-hand basins and a shower over the whirlpool bath. The service we received from all the staff was excellent. We ate in the a la carte Charleston restaurant each evening. We had booked half board and expected to be in the other restaurant, but as the hotel was not busy, they accommodated us in the Charleston. I was not too keen on the a la carte menu - veal cheek, venison and duck, so I was able to order basically what I wanted, which was a real bonus. It felt like having your own personal chef. My husband however, thoroughly enjoyed the a la carte menu. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The waiters were very welcoming and made sure everything was just as you wanted. Breakfast too was good - great choice of hot and cold buffets. The hotel inside was the same as the last time we were there - about 13 years ago, but the new (to us) underground car park was great. We had a look at the new pool and gym complex as well which looked very inviting. The hotel is in a very good location for the lakeside promenade, the ferry embarkation and the lovely shops. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Impressive building with beautiful gardens and lawns. The hotel is of another era, but has been maintained to its original Victorian grandeur.
Our room (no 421) had a lovely view of the lake with a small balcony. There outdoor chairs to sit on bit it was a bit of a squeeze to get into them. The bed was quite firm but comfortable.
The spacious marble Bathroom felt as if it had been recently updated. There was a large separate shower, with fixed head, in addition to a spa bath. Fantastic water pressure! Only criticism was that the toilet was is an awkward position.
The Sporting Club on the -1 level has to been seen to be believed. It consists of a semi-underground pool that has been deigned to make you feel like you are in a cave. There are several saunas and cubicles where ice drops from the side of the "cave".
There is also a huge separate outdoor pool in the gardens out the back of the hotel together with a tennis court.
There are many exquisitely decorated ballrooms, and hallways - it's fun exploring the vast hotel premises and grounds. Breakfast in the large ornate dining area facing the lake is a memorable event - but it is packed with older European tour groups.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

OK...we didn't really stay here,but, I stopped in there to ask for directions and the staff was very helpful. While I was there I was quite impressed by the old style elegance of the hotel, and later brought my wife back, so that she could see what I was talking about.We sat in the lobby, and took in the ambiance.......pretty nice. Next time at Lake Maggiore, this is where we're staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Regina Palace is a beautiful Victorian hotel on Lake Maggiore, well-appointed and perfectly located. The closest Grand hotel to the main town, it is about ½ mi. down from the train station, and a long block from the bus area. We were thrilled to have free underground parking on property, quite rare in Stresa. The building is stunning, silk walls, polished silver, flourishing plants, waiters in white coats, brocade on furniture and Murano chandeliers everywhere including guest rooms. The rooms are very nice, just large enough, with modern baths. Windows and French doors open for breezes or have shutters for privacy or darkening. The a/c was not operational because it was late Sept., but we were comfortable. The minibar fridge cooled our bevs and snacks. The breakfast buffet was very nice, excellent coffee and service in a stunning ballroom. We arrived very early at 9:30am, but only had to wait an hour (had the breakfast buffet) before checking in. Our waiter knew what rooms we were in before we did… very good staff coordination. They have an elegant, white-glove restaurant with guerdon service, which would be wonderful for a special dinner.
Our only complaint was the wifi… 17 euro for 24 hours, or 5 euro for :30 mins… even the guest computer in the lobby had a fee. We rented a portable wifi hotspot with our car (5 euro/day) so we would have ability to go online anywhere which was an excellent solution
We adored the proximity to the lake, ferries, all transport, great restaurants and gelaterias… it was a wonderful stay – highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice and save 1/3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.