We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody's perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione Nord, 123 | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nobody's perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

To be sure, the Villa Aminta is a beautiful place to stay, situated in such a way along the shore of Lago Maggiore so as to have an amazing view when you look out your lake front view balcony; if you choose such a room. However, several disappointing matters took place during our stay of the 4th, 5th and 6th of June 2014. We were supposed to stay until the 7th, but...

For my wife’s 60th birthday she requested a cooking lesson in Italy. I chose Villa Aminta precisely because it has such lessons and in fact I was sent a confirmation e-mail on June 1st for the lesson to be on June 5th. Upon our arrival on June 4th we found in our room 2 pieces of chocolate, a few small cookies and berries with a note apologizing for the inconvenience. A little vague, so I went to reception and learned that the cooking lesson was cancelled due to an event that required the kitchen to apparently be in full swing for days (or worse, the €380 was enough for the chef to appear). We saw the event, it didn’t seem that big. Some lower-level staff apologized and seemed to be embarrassed. Senior managers, 2 of which were always around (I think the owner and possibly his son), didn’t have the decency to tell us themselves, nor did they take any initiative to find a time or other location for the lesson; we were not important enough. We were able to cut our stay short without penalty and moved on. So, yes, this was a personal issue, and I’ve gotten it off my chest. A little venting is good for the soul.

The other issues were, for you the reader’s purpose, more important. The bed in our room was almost impossibly firm; the linens were not of the quality and softness one would expect at €483 a day; the bath towels, while decent, were not of the quality that the wash cloths were.

Negatives aside, the staff was wonderful, charming, always attentive, knew your name and did whatever they could to accommodate you. Breakfast was excellent with a well thought out buffet that included meats, cheeses, fruit, juices, prosecco, fresh-made waffles and eggs in almost any fashion you requested. I had both soft cooked and fried and each time was very happy. Having breakfast outdoors overlooking this gorgeous lake is an experience you'll not want to miss. The coffee could be improved upon, but the cappucinos were spot on.

So yes, it’s a love-hate issue with me. For you the reader, I can only say that when you’ve read the other reviews you’ll note a theme; if there is something special that you’re after which doesn’t go quite your way, you are S-O-L, management does not care. But, if all you are expecting is a hotel stay, and don’t mind the extra expense, you will find the Villa Aminta a pleasure and will be glad you dug a little deeper into your wallet.

Room Tip: Ask for room 202, 302 or 402 - they have a lake from view as well a side-lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    68
    39
    18
    22
See reviews for
45
212
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Don't judge a book by its cover. The same could be said of a hotel. Impressive looks externally with sumptuous interior decor. Maybe over the top for some but I thought it looked amazing. A fabulous view over the lake with breakfast on the terrace. Absolutely gorgeous.
Our room - "superior double room with park view" - looked good but was extremely small. I knew from the way the rooms were priced that the "park view" could probably be taken with a pinch of salt, however I was not expecting to have most of the view taken up by stairs and the domestics cupboard which often had laundry, trays of dirty glasses& bottles on the floor as part of the view. Granted we could see some shrubs at an angle but "park view"?? maybe the description gets lost in translation. Result was that we kept the curtains closed all the time as we were not spending much time in the room anyway. TV reception quality was poor.
Free parking was available and with hindsight we should just have nominated a designated driver from our friends. Walking in either direction to Stresa or Bavena is not for the faint hearted. No pavements and lots of traffic so not a great option. The hotel has a shuttle bus that is free before 6pm. Do not be fooled by the price after 6pm which is detailed as 14 euros. For Stresa this in reality is 28 euros as you get charged for the driver coming out to pick you up. We walked in and used the hotel taxi back. Taking the hotel taxi to and from Bavena you need to have extremely deep pockets. We were charged 86 euros (43 euros each way)! This only appeared on the bill at check out.
After a lovely but long day out we thought we would try the hotel dinner. We checked at reception if this was possible but as it was late in the day we were not being insistent as were prepared to go back into Stresa to one of the many restaurants there. The helpful reception staff confirmed with the kitchen that they would be able to take our table for six. Unknown to us was that the kitchen was also dealing with a wedding party that evening. If we had been told this we would have eaten out. Basically the result was a dinner service that could rival the worst seen on "Fawlty Towers". Main courses being served along with starters. The food not always matching what was described in the menu, e.g using the English from the menu as I do not speak Italian, "Char fish stuffed with bread and marjoram, potatoes with citrus cream and onion" what was presented was fish encased in a filo type pastry, it actually looked like a spring roll and nothing resembling potato in any form whatsoever. Needless to say that we did highlight/complain and the dining staff admitted that we had been badly served and let down but that the kitchen was in melt down as the wedding had overrun. The hotel management were informed of our extreme disappointment and we were led to believe that they would make it up to us as they admitted the food and service were poor. The next day we did receive in our rooms a letter apologising for the inconvenience along with a tiny saucer with a couple strawberries and some nuts. That was as far as they went. For the remainder of our stay we did not feel particularly welcome in the hotel. Had the impression that they were annoyed we had dared to complain!
To sum up the place looks great but be careful about what exactly you are getting when you arrive. Next time I would go into Stresa or Bavena and bypass Aminta.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest, we are sorry to read in your long review that your stay with us was not so pleasant as we wanted. We are sorry to read that you consider so dishonest the taxi rate. We charge the price of a transfer service for 6 people that we have to reserve ourselves. We are sorry you didn’t appreciate our cuisine, and above all you didn’t feel welcome. Sometimes it happens not to find a good harmony with a guest, although this is our first target and I would like to point out that thanks to this care we have always received excellent reviews. Unfortunately we were not able to transmit you our sense of hospitality during your stay. We hope that the beauty of our hotel, that you mentioned, and of Lake Maggiore will induce you to try again our hospitality. Next time, it will be a pleasure to offer you a memorable experience.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nothing short of divine! My husband David and I are luxury travel planners with a true passion for extraordinary hotels that offer the ultimate vacation experience. The Villa & Palazzo Aminta offers a tranquil haven facing Lake Maggiore overlooking the Borromeo Gulf and islands. Adding to the exterior’s visual aesthetic, the entire property is lavishly decorated with antique furniture, stuccos, frescoes, precious wallpapers, and arabesques. If further relaxation is desired, the luxurious Palazzo Aminta Beauty & Spa offers exclusive services to balance the body and soul. The crowning gem of the hotel is the Ristoranti I Mori while known for its impeccable wine list, is graced by the culinary passion and talent of executive chef Giuseppe Vigna. Chef Vigna prepares his families traditional recipes that convey his passion and love of cooking, leaving each guest inspired and gratified. A true sojourn for the soul!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your review and your appreciation. I will take the opportunity to speak about our restaurants, as this year there is the news! We have two restaurants: Le Isole, where we serve gourmet cuisine indoor or on our beautiful sunny terrace in front of the Borromean Islands (it replaces restaurant I Mori) and Il Calamondino, Wellness restaurant where we serve light lunch and show cooking in the evening. They both worth trying! Thank you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The photos online don't do this lovely hotel justice. It is situated on Lake Maggiore a few minutes from Stresa. The service and friendliness at this hotel are top notch. The staff seemed like they genuinely want to please you. The food and the staff in the restaurant were also excellent. Although our room was beautiful, it was very tiny but this shouldn't deflect from choosing to stay there. Also, take advantage of their service to arrange a dinner on one of the islands in the lake where a boat from the restaurant picks you up at the hotel dock. We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Indeed, our rooms are not huge: our deluxe rooms are 20/25 m2, our junior suite are 30/34 m2 and the suites are 40/50 m2. The balconies of the deluxe rooms are 5/8 m2 and the terraces of the junior suites and suites are 10/20 m2. We are happy to read that you appreciated the beauty of our rooms, our welcome and the quality of our cuisine. We wait for you with a novelty: from the 6th of June we will inaugurate our new Wellness Restaurant Calamondino: to combine with a relaxing day in our swimming pool and Spa! See you soon!
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The views are beautiful, but every hotel in the area has the same views. The room was nice but wifi didn't work in our room. We complained and they said we could move to a room that it worked in but would be charged the upgrade. We had to go downstairs every night to skype with my son. The staff, especially the restaurant were very stuck up. We had much better service at the 4 star Monaco Hotel we stayed at in Venice then at this 5 star. Also you can't walk anywhere from the hotel, which has a shuttle until 6:30 which if you go to Stresa for dinner you will have to pay 14 Euro each way for the hotel to take you (no taxis in that area). The spa was also disappointing. The "hot tub" was cold and not enjoyable and no one was there to help us turn it on. I suggest staying at a hotel closer to town with better service and the same view.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear customer, we are sorry to read that your stay was not as pleasant as we would have wanted it to be. For us, this is the only thing that matters. By choice we never use reviews to respond to the opinions of our guests. Fortunately, we have those who loved our services, our attention and we leave for them to speak well of our work and of our hotel. We sincerely regret that you didn’t have the same agreement. We hope to have you back with us to live through a wonderful experience that we wish to all our guests.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff was very polite and nice, the view on the lake breathtaking and the breakfast great. There is a small spa to relax and a car service to the city. In addition, the hotel style, a bit old fashioned, is charming.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sandrine, thank you for your review. We read with pleasure that more and more our guests appreciate our staff and our services. We are happy that you notices it as well. We look forward to a new breathtaking breakfast on our terrace!
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The best view of the 3 islands, very romantic setting with friendly and helpfull staff. Beautifully decorated hotel and extemely well kept garden. Having breakfast outside is like sitting in a postcard.
Close to Stresa which is 20 minutes walk along the lake and public gardens.
Nice quiet location much preferred to busier Stresa.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your review. We have been reading with pleasure that each of you appreciated your travel experience. I guess you looked in particular for nature, landscapes, sun and the green. I'm glad that you found all of that and enjoyed gazing it from our terrace, in front of the Islands, and in our beautiful Stresa. These scenes amaze us every day too! See you soon and thank you again.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta

Address: Via Sempione Nord, 123 | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Lake Maggiore, Villa & Palazzo Aminta is the luxury Resort where you can regenerate your body and soul by revealing authentic emotions in one of the most exclusive places of the world. The resort is located in the town of Stresa in the area with the luxuriant vegetation, overlooking the enchanting Borromean Gulf, is a refined jewel member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Escapio, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel e Palazzo Aminta
e Palazzo Aminta Stresa
Villa Aminta
Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.