We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel for a long week-end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione Nord, 123 | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent hotel for a long week-end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff was very polite and nice, the view on the lake breathtaking and the breakfast great. There is a small spa to relax and a car service to the city. In addition, the hotel style, a bit old fashioned, is charming.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sandrine, thank you for your review. We read with pleasure that more and more our guests appreciate our staff and our services. We are happy that you notices it as well. We look forward to a new breathtaking breakfast on our terrace!
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    68
    39
    18
    22
See reviews for
45
212
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimbergen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The best view of the 3 islands, very romantic setting with friendly and helpfull staff. Beautifully decorated hotel and extemely well kept garden. Having breakfast outside is like sitting in a postcard.
Close to Stresa which is 20 minutes walk along the lake and public gardens.
Nice quiet location much preferred to busier Stresa.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your review. We have been reading with pleasure that each of you appreciated your travel experience. I guess you looked in particular for nature, landscapes, sun and the green. I'm glad that you found all of that and enjoyed gazing it from our terrace, in front of the Islands, and in our beautiful Stresa. These scenes amaze us every day too! See you soon and thank you again.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

everything here was good at all. from room to restaurant to people. all of them are great. withh beautiful gardens of hotel, nice view of Maggiore Lake from our room, it was just an awesome trip. I was attracted by beauty of views here. staff in the hotel is nice and they helped us a lot for the first time being here. stranger but feel life good friend. in a word, nice stay with Aminta

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this review full of appreciations.
We are delighted that your holiday on Lake Maggiore was awsome and live up to yours expectations!
We are pleased to have contributed, with our staff and our kitchen.
Did you enjoyed our gardens? You should know that our gardeners are already working to prepare the bloom early in the season, for the first days of April!
We look forward to welcome you soon again on Lake Maggiore!
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked a “junior suite front lake view balcony” room for 7 nights, with dinner each evening, for August 2013, at the Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta. This was booked through a UK travel agent, and paid for in advance. On arrival at the Hotel Aminta we were informed that no junior suite was available. The manager told us that we would have to take room 410. This was a very small room with no lake view at the back of the hotel, measuring 3.0 metres by 2.9 metres (excluding the bathroom, which had a sloping roof making it impossible to stand up-right in the shower). After 3 nights in 410 we were moved to room 407 which did have a lake view, although it was still not a junior suite.

The hotel manager offered us 2 glasses of wine and a complimentary dinner in their “I Mori” restaurant (although we had already paid for dinner in their “Le Isole” restaurant). The Aminta Hotel manager took the view that this fully compensated us for their failure to provide the junior suite accommodation for 7 nights for which we had paid.

On returning home we contacted the travel agent to claim a refund, which was considerable. However, we were utterly astounded to hear that the travel agent had been informed by the Aminta that although the junior suite we had booked was not available, we had been allocated a room which was far superior to a junior suite; and therefore we were not entitled to a refund. This was totally untrue. The Aminta were clearly unaware that we had taken photographs of rooms 410 and 407 including the hotel’s own floor plan, which proved they were simply standard rooms and not superior rooms.

Because of the Aminta’s refusal to accept responsibility we had no choice but to start legal action in the UK against the travel agent to reclaim the difference between the money we paid for a junior suite and the lower standard rooms the hotel provided. We won our claim; but it left us aggrieved and very disappointed with the way the Aminta management treats customers. The attitude of the management seems to be accept what we have provided, and be grateful.

The food is good, although on a couple of occasions the waiters did not bring what we ordered. One day our room had not been serviced when we returned at 6 pm in the evening. The hotel is situated on the very busy road (without pavements) and is not safely accessed by walking.

We would not return to this hotel; and would not recommend it. We have stayed in many of the “Leading Hotels of the World” and the Aminta Hotel did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: avoid room 410 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mr . Ken ,
Reading your comments, we are very sorry to note that you didn’t value our intervention as adequately. Although it should never happen, but the room that was offered on your arrival was not the one you booked because unfortunately we had a serious plumbing problem. It would be our pleasure to provide you a higher room category but it was not available because the hotel was fully-booked . We did it as soon as it was possible , offering you a very nice Suite overlooking the Lake Maggiore and the Borromeo Islands, which is a room category higher than the Junior Suite you’ve booked. The economical solution doesn’t pay for accommodation below expectations. For this we agreed with you a better accommodation for 4 of your 7 nights stay. Believe me, the dinner at our gourmet restaurant, it was not offered to repair economically, but as a courtesy for any inconvenience. The financial compensation has been made with the room upgrade from a Junior Suite to a Suite. As per our conversation in the Hotel, we believed that you agreed with this solution . We realize only now that it was not like this . We are sorry mainly because your holiday was stained by this misunderstanding . If we knew immediately in the Hotel about your disappointing, we will immediately find the better solution for you. Thank you anyway because in this assessment you still wanted to reward the hotel for cleanliness and quality of sleep. We hope to welcome you again as one of our precious Guests in order to offer you a satisfying experience .
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent our honeymoon at this hotel, we absolutely loved lake maggiore and all it had to offer. The food was excellent together with the service at meal times you could not fault it. The hotel is full of character and immaculately kept, the gardens are beautifully landscaped and are more or less perfect. The pool area is kept spotless too. The hotel is situated a little way out of stresa but that is clearly pointed out in brochures etc, it is walkable although walking along some stretches of the road is a little precarious. The hotel is situated on the busy main road which runs along the lake shore. The down sides of this hotel are the ridiculously expensive bar prices together with the wine prices which are totally over priced and unnecessary the cheapest bottle of wine was approx €34 euros, it was such a shame as guests would probably use the bar more if the prices were more realistic ! Also during our stay two wedding receptions took place, on these evenings the hotel guests were in our opinion treated like second class citizens which was not acceptable for the amount of money we had paid to stay there. As it was our honeymoon we were upgraded to a front lake view room, this was a really lovely touch and we could never have afforded to have booked one of these rooms in the first place. The traffic noise from the road didn't bother us. We also received a bottle of prosseco on arrival which was part of our package with citalia. The only thing which was a complete mess and there was a lack of communication between citalia and the hotel was we were told when booking the honeymoon that we were entitled to a free lunch as it was our honeymoon and we had this stated in writing on the holiday confirmation and itinerary. Unfortunately this was incorrect and the offer had been withdrawn however we had not been told this information, to put it politely the hotel reception manager was extremely unhelpful and the citalia rep wasn't much better and after having to stand our ground it was finally sorted, all of this was totally unnecessary and left a bitter taste in our mouth. Would we go back to this hotel, no probably not there are a lot of other hotels in the area to try. If booking your holiday with citalia please do not pay their stupid prices for airport transfers you can do this independently at a fraction of the price. We used the local travel agency in stresa whose service was very good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your long and detailed review. It shows how much today's tourists are aware of the quality of what they are offered, and the value of money. Low prices are not the main characteristics of luxury hotels, but it's the unique and exclusive quality that we must offer.
That's why we consider your reviews so precious.
Your evaluation of our services, apart from the bar prices (and we'll keep it into account), is high and we thank you.
We are really sorry you didn't feel much considered during the wedding reception, actually a moment of distraction could have happened, and we apologise about it. We're also sorry for the inconvinient with Citalia, but we're glad that our intervention lived up to your expectations.
We also thank you for the compliments about the cleanness, our character, the swimming pool and the food quality.
Finally, it is true that there are many hotels along the lake, but we hope to host you again in our premises to offer you a honey moon-worth holiday!
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, superb rooms, restaurants and staff, cant wait to go back, we were in a group of 3 couples, not one complaint amongst us!
This was my wife's first foreign Holiday for 30 years and she adored the place, the location, on the banks of lake Maggiore was fantastic, the view across the lake every morning whilst we had our breakfast was fantastic, we celebrated our 30th anniversary in the a la carte restaurant, and was treated to an unforgettable experience, the food was superb!! The service fantastic. The bed in our room was huge!! The bathroom was fantastic, the best hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear John, many, many thanks for your splendid review! It’s a great satisfaction for us to make a guest thinking “I can’t wait to go back”. We are satisfied that your anniversary was so special. It’s true that the lake give a light and a precious and different image every day. Thank you for the appreciations to the restaurant and our staff. So, we look forward to welcome you soon and thank you in person
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The main issue was the noise in the rooms. All the doors of the hotel bang and you hear them all day and all night... The decoration in the rooms is ncie but a little bit oldish. If you can take a room with lake view, the others have a balcony but view on the garden and trees.
Private parking, restaurant, loubge bar and service very good. hall is beautiful. Spa is good but a little kitsch. Wonderful sensorial showers.
If you go there in a sunny time, you can enjoy the private pool and that is really great.
You think you are by the sea but it's a lake!
If we go back in the region, nit sure we return to the hotel due to the noise. Dommage.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room as silent as possible....! it changes your whole stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I read with regret that your stay was spoilt by the noise of the room doors. Our guests at Villa & Palazzo Aminta enjoy a relaxed life rythm. We have just 67 rooms on 5 floors. Usually there isn't much movement. As you say, guests move through the Spa, the pool and the restaurants, looking for a view of the Lake Maggiore that make they dream!
We are still hopeful to welcome you again!
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta

Address: Via Sempione Nord, 123 | Lago Maggiore, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Lake Maggiore, Villa & Palazzo Aminta is the luxury Resort where you can regenerate your body and soul by revealing authentic emotions in one of the most exclusive places of the world. The resort is located in the town of Stresa in the area with the luxuriant vegetation, overlooking the enchanting Borromean Gulf, is a refined jewel member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel e Palazzo Aminta
e Palazzo Aminta Stresa
Villa Aminta
Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.