We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Giardiniere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Giardiniere
Save
You added La Casa del Giardiniere to your Saves list
Via Circonvallazione 27/29 Stropino, 28833 Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Painting course inc B
Ranked #1 of 20 Stresa B&B and Inns
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed one week at La Casa del Giardiniere. David, Penny and Mr Pepper were such great hosts. The warm hospitality, delicious breakfasts, recommendations & reservations for trips and restaurants, very comfortable rooms and great location made this an unforgettable experience. We are definitely going back. We also went biking 2 days: 1 day up to Mountain Mottarone (ideal location to start from the B&B!), and a second day to Lago Orta (beautiful views). Our 3 mountainbikes were safely stored in the garage. The top floor room suite was very comfortable and ideal for us. It has 2 separate rooms, a bathroom and balcony with wonderful views over the hills. A big thanks for making our holiday unforgettable!
Mel, Stefaan and Ilja

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stropinokid, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Melissa, Stefaan, and Ilya,
Thank you for your enthusiastic comments, we are just so pleased that your holiday was so enjoyable.You have been wonderful guests, "in fact special" and it's been our pleasure to be your hosts.
We really look forward to your return .
Our warmest regards
David and Penny and Mr P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
89
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nederland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A warm welcome by Penny, David & mr. Pepper when you arrive, they really make you feel right at home. They provide you with any kind of information if you like and they have the greatest tips to visit nice restaurants and places in the area.
We had the Annex with the own entrance and liked it very much. The beds are very good, it has balcony's where you can sit in the sun in the morning or afternoon and the bathroom provides you with everything you need, a nice hot shower, big towels even the luxury of a bathrobe.
Than the breakfast in the morning is a feast to the eye and also very delicious. The nice conversations and the laughs during breakfast are a more than a good start for the day.
Penny, David & Mr. Pepper we would love to come back one day!

Room Tip: We didn't see the other room but I'm more than sure that both rooms are great to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stropinokid, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
A very special thank you to this wonderful couple for their glowing comments. It is a heartwarming reward for all our efforts. We really look forward to your return.

All our fondest regards

David and Penny and Mr Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just spent a most enjoyable week with David and Penny(not forgetting Mr Pepper). It is very difficult to add to what has been said so many times before about the warmth of the hospitality, the array of delicious food at breakfast getting the day off to a hearty start, the recommendations on where to visit and eat and the genuine care taken to make your stay as enjoyable as it could possibly be. Do not hesitate to make a reservation.

Mike and Philippa

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stropinokid, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mike and Philippa,
Thank you for your reassuring assessment of your stay at La Casa del Giardiniere. Whilst we constantly strive to provide good value and a friendly atmosphere, it's only through our guests comments that we can be measured!
It was lovely to make your aquaintance and we marvelled at your well planned schedule,such organisational skills allowing you to visit more than most with ease.
Good luck with your retirement, although your time seems packed already, and good luck with all your family happenings.
Our warmest regards
David and Penny and Mr Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights in "La Casa del Giardiniere". David, Penny and Mr. Pepper have been wonderful, hearty and helpful hosts since the first day. They gave us excellent tips for trips in the area and restaurants with delicious and genuine italian food. We enjoyed the familiar atmosphere at the breakfast table every morning. Our very quiet and clean room had a beautiful view of the mountains and has been lovingly and comfortably furnished, so that we felt homelike all the time. Unfortunetely, time went by too fast... but we will certainly come back and we can recommend everyone to spend their holidays at this beautiful place at Lago Maggiore!

Kerstin & Felix

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stropinokid, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Kerstin and Felix,
We just wanted to say how grateful we are for having had the pleasure of your company, and are delighted to hear how you enjoyed your holiday in this area.
We are looking forward to your next visit, as indeed we are sure Vera at the restaurant will be. She was so overwhelmed that you had choosen to visit again all the way from Ghiffa!

With affection..

David and Penny and Mr Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

House renovated by owners David and Penny who have made a very comfortable, welcoming B&B. In addition we were welcomed by Mr. Pepper and a multitude of outdoor cats. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable with a terrace to enjoy the fresh air and view. We enjoyed breakfast in the garden. David and Penny helped us navigate to interesting sites each day and every night helped us with reservations at a local restaurant. It was like having our own concierge. Try out the restaurant across the driveway from the B&B for local flavor. We highly recommend this B&B. We appreciate the information ahead of time to rent a car if you want to explore other than Stresa. For a stay near a lake don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: One room had a an additional room if you are traveling with children. The other room is separated f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stropinokid, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your appraisal of la Casa Del Giardiniere, The facilities and the surrounding countryside go towards making this a homely place, and we are delighted that you were all able to relax and enjoy. We look forward to the pleasure of your company should you return to the region.
Our Best regards

David and Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Penny, David and (soon to be famous) Mr. Pepper made our holiday such a relaxing and care free time. My wife is 6 months pregnant, and suffers from an acute nut allergy. We always feel like were a burden but Penny and David made sure we were catered for in every way and made it seem like no trouble at all. The house and gardens are beautiful and it always felt like home from home. We wish we had more time in this lovely corner of Italy as there is so much to see and do, and with so much to do our hosts were never far away to help giving us honest local advice.

When our little man arrives we will have to bring him back to experience our wonderful trip!

Emile and Sophie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stropinokid, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Emile and Sophie,
Thank you for your complementary comments, both on your stay at La Casa del Giardiniere, but on the area generally. We are always happy to give advice and recommendations, but are always mindful of being intrusive and over bearing.
We always feel that the ultimate compliment is when guests feel relaxed and at home, this gives us immense satisfaction. We look forward to your return visit, be it in pursuit of the illusive 'porchini', or bringing your new baby boy to sunny Stropino. The cots all ready and waiting...it's all up to you Sophie now...Our warmest regards...and please just take it nice and easy in the coming months.
Con affetto...David and Penny and MR Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What can we more can we add to all the wonderful reviews? Suffice to say we are intent on returning at the very first opportunity! David, Penny and Mr. Pepper were wonderful hosts, the accommodation was great and breakfasts outstanding. Lago Maggiore, Lago D'Orta etc all in very easy reach. Thank you David and Penny for making our family holiday so very special - you truly went that 'extra mile' as it were. Till next time......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stropinokid, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind thoughts, we are so pleased that you choose La Casa del Giardiniere for that special family reunion. And what a wonderful family too. It was such a great pleasure meeting everone that we felt part of your celebrations.
We look forward to your return visit in the coming months, and wouls like to take this opportunity to convey our warmest regards to all.

Our Best regards
David and Penny and Mr Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Giardiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Giardiniere

Address: Via Circonvallazione 27/29 Stropino, 28833 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chalet styled private residence, situated on the edge of Stropino village, nr Stresa, Lake Maggiore.Beautiful surroundings with stunning mountain views. we have the Annex a delightful first floor private suite, with independent access via an outside breakfast balcony and sun terrace. A very comfortable double room with an additional balcony, over looking the sleepy commune of Stropino. With luxury en suite shower room.The upper floor offers a cosy rustic double room plus a family room.With luxury bathroom. Exposed beams and integral roof balcony, accessed through patio doors. Magnificent mountain views.The situated Championship Golf Club Golf des Iles Borromees is our neighbour being only 2 minutes away.All rooms have internet connection,satellite Tv, phone, coffee/tea facilities. An Airport collection service is available for a small supplement. Journey times 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Giardiniere Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Giardiniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.