We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastico !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

It is the traditionalItalian palace at its best. This hotel is a dream with its legendary Italian service. We get a fabulous suite with Mini jacuzzi (Room 312). Each floor has a topic: Ours was "Roma Baroque".

A "fachino" will park your car (Ferrari not mandatory), the reception/concierge is probably the best in the world in recommending the fantastic nearby restaurant in Pallanza or renting your private Riva for a trip on the lake. The view on the Lago Maggiore and the Borromeo islands is breathtaking. (see by yourself)

The restaurant is affordable with also a stunning view on the lake. We had probably the best traditional risotto (with saffran) we ever had (and we are specialists). Ask for Roberto at the restaurant, which was before at the XSt. Moritz Palace hotel. The service is superb and we were not missing at all the infamous " Hi, my name is Mark and I will be your waiter today" (LOL).

Breakfast is also one of the most luxurious in the world . You can carve your prosciuto San Daniele and enjoy your Nowegian smoked salmo.

The spa is also very good and there is nothing to say against the hotel except a slow internet connection. I forget the bar where we had the best "Aperol Spritzer "of our livfe. Ask the pianist to play Mort Schuman's hit "Il pleut sur le Lac Majeur" .

If you want to enjoy the very top class of Italian Palace, go there and enjoy the European chic. The most attractive thing is probably the room price when you benefit from heavily discounted promotions.
This Hotel is really fantisco !

Room Tip: Lake View Mandatory it makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    215
    65
    30
    11
See reviews for
120
492
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Highly disappointed the hotel may look very grand however I felt like I was in my great grandparents house everything was old and slow (the wifi) and I felt very uncomfortable (despite paying lots of money to stay!). The main problem was the staff especially at breakfast - once seated it was hard to get a waiters attention to get coffee and then it took its time getting to you on one occasion the milk was off and when I showed the head waiter he only offered me another cup no apolgy or offer of fresh milk. On another occasion a waiter refused to let myself and my sister join our parents at the breakfast table as it was meant for 2 - when we then asked if we could moved to the table of 4 we were told we couldn't as someone was coming to use it after 10 minutes and no sign of anyone we again asked to be seated together - after the waiter made a large fuse we were allowed to move this seemed completely unnecessary and made us feel like we weren't welcome. Not what I expected of 5 start hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borromees, Direttore at Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I thank CharlVSmi for his patronage and for sharing his experience with us, even if I am not happy at all to read this review it is nevertheless useful because it gives us the chance to face some of our shortcomings.

The most attentive readers will note that the feedbacks we receive about our breakfast are controversial, while most of our guests are very satisfied about it, some others are not (very few!).

Here at the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromées breakfast is included in the room rate, consequently all our guests use this service. During periods of high occupancy, we can serve up to 200/300 breakfasts in a short time, under these circumstances granting a consistent quality of the service can be very challenging, especially when family groups want to sit together.

This obviously does not excuse the poor attitude of our waiter –for which again I apologize - but we are aware of this problem and we are currently reviewing our procedures in order to find a solution.

Regarding the internet connection, we offer a free service with some limits, a premium faster service is also available but we are far from the USA standards. I am sorry to admit that in Italy, the average connection speed is very slow; in order to grant a good and reliable service for such a big hotel we had to establish some policies. You will find similar offers in other 5 stars hotels.

The guest expressed his –very severe - evaluation based upon these two factor, Internet service and breakfast, which to him are obviously crucial but, in order to soften his judgment, may I suggest that the location, the views and many other elements come into play and are also very important for the success of a pleasant holiday?

I hope we will have the occasion to change the guest’s mind should he visit us again in the future, and I apologize for our shortcomings.

G.Luigi Mariani - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This fin-de-siècle masterpiece has a maître d'hôtel called Serafino and in this personage the entire history of this hotel is wrapped. A gentleman of perhaps seventy summers, his face, experience and friendly manner met us every morning. Only classy hotels have such classy staff and yet, this hotel doesn't quite hit the heights. It's more a four and a half star hotel as evidenced by some of the dress code at the in the morning. Old-fashioned old bore I may be, but shorts, sandals and a football shirt at the breakfast table are hardly de rigeur. The internet was also a disappointment, having been installed at the roughly the same time as the hotel was built and having last been serviced at the time of the last Bolshevik takeover. Nonetheless, the staff are, to a man (and indeed woman), utterly charming, helpful and with their radiant 'buongiornos' quite the life enhancers. The swimming pool is possibly the nicest I have ever seen with a separate diving pool into which my (talented and flawless) children sent many happy hours throwing themselves. The weather was godawful, by the way............and a San Pellegrino is an eye-watering 7 euros poolside.......

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borromees, Direttore at Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
I am sorry that the guest’s experience at the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromées was not up to his expectations, and would like to thank him for the nice words of praise, especially on behalf of *most* our staff (Serafino is 63 !)

Old fashioned does not necessarily means being a bore, as a matter of fact our swimming pool IS old fashioned but well-kept, by the same token the equation [lousy dressed guests + slow internet = undeserved 5 stars] sounds like a hasty generalization,

Stresa is a touristic area and people are tend to favor practical clothes when getting ready to leave for excursions, in spite of our best efforts, it is difficult to discourage some of our most “ruistical” guest from wearing casual clothes at breakfast.

Standard Internet service is free of charge, it grants a speed of 256 kbit/s and 500 megabytes download per day, this is usually more than enough if you need to send emails and browse the web, premium service costs € 5.50 per day and allows a much faster connection and unlimited download.

I understand that for someone this kind of service may be the barely minimum essential, still keep in mind that Italy is the not-so-proud 47th country the world as far as internet speed is concerned and these are the consequences, rest assured you will find the same kind of service elsewhere.

All this said, I would like to thank the guest for sharing his impressions with us, although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, these comments allow us to take an honest look at what we offer and push us to make the necessary improvements

I also hope that this reply will help Mr James1962186338 to reassess his evaluation about his stay, so that we will welcome him back again, for the pleasure of his talented and flawless children.


G.Luigi Mariani - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful 150 year history. It has excellent staff who obviously enjoy working there and making all the guests feel special. It is a landmark on the lakeside front where there are a constant stream of people stopping by to photograph this hotel and coming in to see the beautiful grounds. It represents a by gone of luxury and style, it was like being in an art gallery with our floor having a Grecian art theme. Has good facilities - swimming and diving pools, spa and gym. Our suite faced the lakes and was wonderful in décor/views. Short walk to the heart of the town, restaurants and ferry service. Fantastic views of the lake from room and at breakfast - quality of food was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a better view of lake. Suite 504 is a great room facing the lake - you can wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had taken a boat to the Island to view the Pallazzo Isabella and after we returned we felt like an elegant lunch.This hotels garden attracted us. We chose a lovely table on the veranda and had the most elegant and delicious lunch. The service was impeccable. We tasted two varieties of wine with our elegant lunch. Definitely the place for fine dining! Not a place to have lunch on a tight budget!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel. It is ornamented both outside and inside. The rooms are gorgeous and spacious , the staff are friendly and helpful and of course the gardens are lovely.

Stresa is a lovely town with both high end shops and shops selling knick knacks.

The weather in Stresa was not good . Of the 8(eight) days we stayed there was only one where it did not rain at least once. Often the rain was heavy and prolonged.Nonetheless I enjoyed my stay in Stresa and the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Once you arrive you can sit back a breathe an air of relief. Set in beautiful grounds, lovely rooms that take you back to a time when exclusivity and being treated as if you were special were reserved for the elite. You feel special from the minute you arrive and are treated as such. The setting is superb, a 7 minute walk from the heart of the town. Fantastic views of the lake and breakfast was lovely. Great facilities (unfortunately bad weather excluded use of the outdoor pool). A truly fantastic location without the daily stress of everyday business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#12 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.