We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Elegant Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had taken a boat to the Island to view the Pallazzo Isabella and after we returned we felt like an elegant lunch.This hotels garden attracted us. We chose a lovely table on the veranda and had the most elegant and delicious lunch. The service was impeccable. We tasted two varieties of wine with our elegant lunch. Definitely the place for fine dining! Not a place to have lunch on a tight budget!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    160
    61
    24
    6
See reviews for
93
378
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel. It is ornamented both outside and inside. The rooms are gorgeous and spacious , the staff are friendly and helpful and of course the gardens are lovely.

Stresa is a lovely town with both high end shops and shops selling knick knacks.

The weather in Stresa was not good . Of the 8(eight) days we stayed there was only one where it did not rain at least once. Often the rain was heavy and prolonged.Nonetheless I enjoyed my stay in Stresa and the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Once you arrive you can sit back a breathe an air of relief. Set in beautiful grounds, lovely rooms that take you back to a time when exclusivity and being treated as if you were special were reserved for the elite. You feel special from the minute you arrive and are treated as such. The setting is superb, a 7 minute walk from the heart of the town. Fantastic views of the lake and breakfast was lovely. Great facilities (unfortunately bad weather excluded use of the outdoor pool). A truly fantastic location without the daily stress of everyday business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked a junior suite, with the lake view and the extra cost was well worth the money. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived. The front desk was very helpful in making reservations for us and giving us all the information as to where to go for certain activities. The room was large, with a king sized bed, and another area separated by a curtain (if you closed it) with a table, and sofa, which would serve as an extra room if needed. The balcony was good sized, large enough for two chairs and a table, with a spectacular view of lake and surrounding mountains. This hotel is located on the main road along the lake where other hotels are located. It is an easy five minute walk to the town of Stresa, and to the area where you get the boats to the islands in the lake. Very convenient location.
Breakfast at the hotel is included and it is served in two beautiful rooms or outside. White tablecloths and Murano glass chandeliers but no one "dresses" for breakfast. The waiters are very attentive. Everything you could want for breakfast is there. Eggs, bacon, sausage, salmon, ham, various cheeses, beautiful fruits, cereals, juices, water, tea, coffee, and pastries. The hotel itself is gorgeous. It is filled with exquisite chandeliers, and marble carvings, ceilings are painted, it is quite beautiful. The grounds are equally beautiful, with gardens surrounding the hotel.
The room had an equally grand appearance as the lobby, but some of the furniture was starting to look a bit tired. (not torn or dirty, just needing replaced) The bed was king size, and it was comfortable, although it was the least comfortable of all the hotels we stayed in throughout Europe. The bathroom was large and clean, room service was good. I would stay here again, however, I would be open to trying another hotel which may be less expensive, as this is an expensive hotel.

Room Tip: The view of the lake is beautiful, so if you can, pay the extra for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed at. Upon arrival we were told our room wasn't ready to return in an hour and a half. We wandered out the hotel and began to explore Stresa. On our return our room was not only ready they upgraded us to a junior suite. We had a beautiful view of Lake Maggiore, and the surrounding areas. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds are beautiful!
Everything is within walking distance from the hotel. There is a wonderful bar area outside, in front of the hotel. At night you can hear the piano player in the background.
All the staff will go out of their way to help you and make your stay special. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this superb hotel.
It was her birthday, so we decided to have a couple of nights of luxury at the end of our holiday driving around the Italian lakes.
We arrived early and parked in the underground car park. The hotel is very grand, and first impressions were quite breathtaking. Although the room wasn't ready, we checked in and they took our bags. We had some lunch and a stroll around Stresa and on our return we were very excited that as it was my partners birthday we had been upgraded to Room 151, a suite with a lake view and an outside terrace.
Beautiful room. Classically decorated and furnished as you would expect in a 150 year old Grand Hotel. Big bed.Lots of wardrobes, safe , TV etc. The aircon worked well and was quiet.
The bathroom had a big jacuzzi type bath, lots of marble and double vanity basins.
Everything about the hotel was classy and luxurious. All the staff we found to be professional and the housekeeping did a great job.
The breakfast was great. Served in beautiful rooms with views over the Lake, unfortunately it was raining so we couldn't eat out on the terrace. Good selection of fresh bread, croissants, cakes etc, hot buffet with sausages, bacon and eggs, cold meats cheeses,the usual cereals, good selection of fresh fruits. The orange juice was freshly squeezed. Very Good coffee. It was a great start and set you up for the day.
We spent most of our time outside around the pool area. It opened at 10am, there was a large swimming pool and also a diving pool, both date from the 1970's and showing their age a bit but great for proper swimming. There is also a tennis court and complimentary bikes you can use. The grounds are lovely and well worth exploring. I like how the car parking is underground and landscaped above. There is a also a gym and a luxury spa, but we didn't use either.
We really enjoyed our stay, it was a very memorable birthday in luxurious surroundings and I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Lake view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A lovely hotel for those looking to enjoy a classical Italian lakeside break. Not for the traveller i search of the ultimate luxury. Staff and service was impeccable. Breakast is excellent. Location is fantastic for exploring the lake and the town.

Room Tip: Lake view room is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.