We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Stately Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for five nights and had a beautiful time. Initially upgraded form lake view to junior suite although the hotel was full over the bank holiday weekend. It was like staying in a stately home with art hung corridors and chairs, sofas and settees that looked several hundred years old. Service was excellent throughout and the concierges were superb.
Nice big double bed with TV and a sitting area with table, sofa etc and doors onto a small veranda overlooking the lake. Could be a little noisy when door was open due to the main road running in front of the hotel.
Large marble bathroom, double sinks, shower over Jacuzzi bath, wc and bidet.
Small basic mini bar but no tea/coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was buffet style and perfectly adequate although not up to other 5* hotels we have stayed in. e.g. only choice of 3 cereals and 3 or 4 fresh fruit dishes. Only one type of milk. Cook your own boiled egg or have scrambled eggs - nothing cooked to order.
Evening meal was excellent - £53 price of basic set 3 course meal.
If you stay here leave time to wander the corridors and view the art as well as go downstairs to the toilets to view the mosaics.

Room Tip: Lake view room was very nice but view from the back was also interesting and much nicer than the usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    161
    61
    24
    6
See reviews for
92
374
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here on a business trip and then added 2 extra days for a short holiday. We were utterly impressed with this hotel. In particular the concierge Igor deserves a mention as he helped me with some laptop and printer problems on our first day. I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here and we also had a few drinks in the bar. The food was excellent as was the service. Its a very elegant hotel. Very quiet and calm. The pool area was lovely. Perfectly located to stroll into the town or down to the cable car. As a corporate group, we also took a trip out on the lake with Barroni Events. We had an excellent guide, Georgia. Our contact there was Giancarlo. Lastly, I recommend Al Buscion, a wine bar in the town. We chose this location on 3 occassions for a drink and some nibbles.

Room Tip: Well obviously pay the extra for the lake view. Rooms have a little balcony to look out at a view th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borromees, Direttore at Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for staying at the Grand hotel des Iles Borromées.
It really shows you enjoyed your stay here in Stresa and that’s how it should be.

Most of all I am glad you appreciated the pool.

The pool was built in the late 70’s at and at that time it was a very modern and beautiful project still, in spite of the regular maintenance, in the last few years the pool was beginning to show its age.

We had in mind a major renovation, something that would fit with what we have been doing with the rest of the hotel but, because of its historical and architectural value, the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromées is a listed building, the listing includes the garden and the pool area.


For 6 years we have been submitting different projects to the competent authority, much to our frustration, they have all been rejected.


Finally this winter we invested into a conservative refurbishing, we changed a big portion of the tiles we fixed the chipped edges and did some general facelift around the pool’s area.


Now the pool still looks old -fashioned but it’s a well-kept old fashioned, and, judging from the feedback that we receive from our guests, people love it.


A big thank your from us all (and specially from Igor)


G.Luigi Mariani - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay. The hotel is excellent in every way- from the rooms,staff, furnishings, service, breakfast on the terrace. Roberto A at the front desk is as good as it gets. We hope to return in September for another week stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Three nights in a gorgeous room overlooking the lake (thanks to the upgrade :)) and from the first staff you meet till the last staff you meet, the sense of hospitality to its upmost. The spa is highly professional and the food absolutely delicious. The best way to discover Stresa is definitely from here....

Room Tip: lake view a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Beautiful hotel, immaculate surroundings. We had a room with a view of Lake Maggiore and a balcony which I think played a huge part in my 5 star rating. It just adds so much to the experience. I cannot imagine not having the lake view....you really should splurge for it if you can. The Lake is gorgeous and the property and gardens are exquisite. Every flower and tree in perfect condition. The rooms are quite plush and luxurious. Shower could have been a little better, the pressure was fine but it was a little fussy to use. Also the complimentary wifi kept timing out and was not a fast speed. The main dining room is beautiful and breakfast also very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
933 helpful votes 933 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

If you are looking for the quintessential Italian hotel experience with excellent service in an opulent atmosphere, you can’t do better than this hotel. We arrived before check in time; our room was ready and we received an upgrade which was tremendously appreciated. The room was perfect and the balcony view spectacular. I especially enjoyed the two brochures in the room one being a visit or walk through the galleries on each floor with explanations regarding the art and antiques. I also found the map of the gardens and grounds informative and spent an enjoyable hour stroll around the beautifully manicured grounds using the map. Breakfast was very good but not exceptional lacking some of the amenities a hotel of this caliber should offer such as an omelet/egg station, fresh berries, options for nonwestern diners. We arrived via the train and it’s only a 7 minute walk from the station, easy to locate and just a 15 minute walk into the town. Lovely stay with all the amenities one wants for a romantic weekend or special occasion!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Opulent but classy. Excellent service, this is surly a grand hotel. The corridors are adorned with art, sculptors and precious antiques. The staff were always there to help. The gym is great however in ecliptic Techonogym machine needs some service. The weight room well equipped. The room 255 has an impressive view of the lake and a nice balcony

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.