We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Italian experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Borromees for 4 nights and were given a lovely room with a lake view. The breakfast was included and was excellent with a great selection. We also ate in the restUrant and the food was wonderful and the service was first class. The Hotel is in a great location for trips to the islands and Orta. The concierge was wonderful and mace our stay even more enjoyable by making suggestions of places to see. The bed was very comfortable and luxurious. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone going to Stresa. It Has a wonderful history and you will feel very special staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    161
    61
    24
    6
See reviews for
92
373
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked 3 nights in this hotel as part of a road trip in our classic sports car and chose it, with the help of Trip Advisor, for it's secure, on site car park. It is truly a Grand hotel in a perfect location overlooking The Borrowmee Islands and we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and made to feel very welcome. We were given an upgrade to a lake view room which was lovely but I would not pay the extra for this as the garden views would be equally as lovely and probably quieter. The hotel even provides a printed guide to the treasures housed inside it and out and it really does feel like a palace and with the car park set within the lush gardens the car was cossetted too! It is a lovely, short stroll to the town of Stresa from where you can get the ferries to the islands, all essential viewing, each with it's own character. The hotel concierge service was extremely helpful in planning the best use of our time and their recommedations for restaurants were good. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and found it typical of such a big hotel, good food, well served but nothing special and quite expensive. Like a previous reviewer, I did baulk at the 15 Euros G&T but when I saw the amount of Gin in it and compared it to pub prices and measures in UK I didnt think it expensive. However, a glass of wine was not good value. However, for this type of Grand hotel it was what I expected and we subsequently went out for meals.
Breakfast at the hotel we found to be wonderful. A full selection of breakfast foods and a terrace on which to sit and eat it which was truly delightful. We found the staff to be helpful and courteous throughout our stay.
Like previous reviewers we did find the pool a little dated but it was clean and well kept and in keeping with it's surroundings. A modern pool would look out of place here. If we had had the time we would have been very happy to while away some time there.
Both my husband and I would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful hotel to anyone looking for a dose of old fashioned grandeur in a truly beautiful setting. The sort of place to make a special occasion feel even more so.

Room Tip: I wouldnt pay extra for a lake view as the gardens are beautiful and not overlooked and quieter too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in September and had a fabulous experience. We were fortunate to have a lake view room on the 5th floor and a corner room with extra windows. The room looked like a palace bedroom. Deluxe everything--- bed linens, towels, toiletries, robes, slippers. The bed was the most comfortable one I had during a 2 week trip to 3 countries. Artwork in the hallways and throughout the hotel like a museum. Now all of this doesn't come cheap....example being the 15 euro gin and tonic. No free Wifi. But despite this, my stay was the highlight of my vacation. If you can't stay here then walk through the lobby and on the hotel grounds.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is a gem, a museum both in and out. Do remember to visit all floors, as each floor has it's own theme. Staff is extremely humble and helpful. Especially Roberto at concierge was our favorite. Rooms are clean though need renovation. Breakfast is a story for itself. You can have breakfast on the terrace enjoying sun, the lake, the mountains and the garden. The gardens are fabulous. All in all one of the best experience staying in this hotel for 5 nights. Some minuses: They do not have iron or ironing table - you need to give your cloths away for ironing. Internet is of snail-speed. Average age of guests is 78 )))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

When we arrived at the Grand Des Iles Borromees we were seriously impressed by the splendour and grandness of the place. However, from the moment we checked in we felt that the atmosphere was not great. Our room, whilst nice was dirty. In fact I found that there were hairs all over the carpet in the bedroom and there were clumps of hair in the bathroom (on the floor and in the bath and sink). It was as if someone had either removed hair from a hairbrush or that the hair had been pulled out of a plughole and just left. To be fair when we spoke to the reception about this they did send someone to sort this out. Breakfast was disappointing as whilst it looked as if there was a lot to chose from some of the selections were not great and the quality of the food was not a good as some of the other hotels that we have stayed in. The staff at breakfast were rude and treated us as if we were invisible - none of them were friendly or cracked a smile. There was no polite conversation and when the waiter brought the tea and coffee it was just dumped on the table without any kind of conversation or acknowledgement of the customer sat at the table. so we were very disappointed at this point in our stay and we would have rated this hotel as poor but then an event changed that! My husband dislocated his shoulder diving in the hotel swimming pool and the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and good during this emergency. In fact my husband and I would like to thank the reception and swimming pool staff - in particular Roberto who was excellent and his customer service cannot be faulted. In conclusion if my husbands accident had not taken place we do wonder whether the service would have improved or whether we would have left feeling disappointed. We felt that this hotel is trading on its grandness and reputation but that it is missing the finishing touches. The customer service skills and friendliness of the staff needs to be improved - to make the overall experience of this hotel a good one. Improve the substance to match the high quality of the style of this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although we asked for a lakeside view, we were given a garden view (and if we strained our necks, we could see the lake!). We were given a corner room (115). This was absolutely brilliant. A huge balcony, with sunshine all day. Most rooms have small balconies, and for the lakeside views - noisy!
Stresa is lovely; plenty of places to eat. The hotel is great for breakfast, but silly prices for dinner.
I really loved the charm of this hotel, and would go back tomorrow. You have to visit Isola Bella (by ferry) and a day in Milan by train was a doddle. Enjoy!

Wendi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of the best Italian Hotels we have stayed in.The cleanliness and presentation of the Hotel cannot be faulted. However, the one aspect of our stay that was excellent was the polite,friendly and attentive attitude of the staff, in particular Roberto, who I believe was the manager of the reception
My wife had an issue with the interior colour of the original room that we were given, (very green!). Roberto went out of his way to resolve the problem and eventually found us a room that exceeded our expectations.The Hotel was around a 10 minute very pleasant walk into Stresa, so it was conveniently located but avoided the noise of the town. The buffet breakfasts were excellent. We only ate in the hotel one evening, the food was good but overpriced. The concierge - Jack - was exceedingly helpful in recommending other restaurants and making reservations on our behalf
My only criticism, is the 1980s style swimming pool that definitely needs a makeover, and also the beds are rather hard. Having said that, would we go back and stay again? Yes; definitely. A big well done to Roberto who made a good stay a brilliant one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.