We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Different Place to Stay near Stresa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante Verbano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Ristorante Verbano to your Saves list
Albergo Ristorante Verbano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ugo Ara 2 | Isola Dei Pescatori, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Good & Different Place to Stay near Stresa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Stresa and the surrounding islands on Maggiore at the quiet start of the spring/summer season.

We arrived by rail in Stresa in the early evening in a downpour of rain and made the trip from the station down to the ferry where we got the last ferry across to the island and to the hotel. The island felt empty but the hotel was welcoming.

I'd say that if you were less quick on your feet or were arriving late you would want to check ahead with the hotel to make sure you understand how to get onto the island at the time that you're arriving. The hotel does have a boat but it wasn't entirely clear to us where to find this and whether it operated at this time of year - we never used it and Stresa was deserted in the rain - we had to go into another hotel to ask for directions.

We had a room with a lake view over Isola Madre which made you appreciate what a special treat it is to stay on the island rather than visit it during the daytime. The room was good and clean if perhaps a tiny bit basic - e.g. I'd prefer to see a shower in a hotel room these days than a bath tub.

We dined in the hotel restaurant (I don't think anything else on the island was open at this time of evening on this particular day) and had good food with good service although I'd say that the prices for food seem high compared to other places that we ate while on this trip.

That said, we continued to dine in the hotel for follow on nights because it was easier to return back to the hotel by ferry after a day of touring and then settle down to dinner.

We also ate breakfast in the hotel - this is a fairly basic buffet which I think could perhaps be improved a little as it doesn't compare quite so well with dinner but, again, the setting for breakfast is excellent with views over the lake.

As you'd expect at this time of year the island is heavily dependent on the weather. If it's sunny then it's nice and busy in the daytime and things open up and boats are everywhere. When it was rainy then it was very quiet indeed.

In summary, I'd recommend the Verbano as a very different, charming place to stay "on" the lake - it's got lovely views, the food is good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

What I'd add is that we went from Stresa to Cannobio where we stayed at the Pironi and I'd say that the Pironi had nicer rooms and better breakfast for less cost. We also had equally good food in Cannobio for lower costs.

That's why I'd give the Verbano 4/5 rather than 5/5 this time around but we still enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    50
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
21
90
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After a very hot walk-about we were anxious to find a nice shady spot for lunch. The homemade pasta was delicious and satisfying. Great views, good value, and the resident pheasant was an added bonus. Nice spot to enjoy a meal as you're waiting for the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful dinner in beautiful surroundings with genuine friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms followed by a very tasty well prepared breakfast all for €125 per person!!!! Cannot recommend enough people. I promise a stay here will definitely not disappoint!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel verbano for 4 nights for our wedding in lake Maggiore, our guest stayed for 3 nights and we had exclusive use of the Hotel. This is the second time that I have stayed at the hotel Verbano and I have also has the pleasure to visit the hotel on a few occasions when planning the wedding. To start I would like to say you have got to stay at this hotel it is truly amazing. The staff in the hotel are fantastic Claudia the manager is so friendly, helpful and efficient probably the best hotel manager I have ever meet. Nothing seems to much for her to arrange or sort out and she was a pleasure to deal with and made the wedding and the whole week run smoothly. Margarita the owner of the hotel was also as excellent and again made us and our guest feel so welcome. The staff at the hotel are simply out of this world all are so polite and friendly and the waiting staff we had for the wedding reception and meal were second to none and were there but never rushed us or made us feel like we were in the way or a nuisance, they just smiled and continued there role. Well the food I think one word would sum this up and it would simply be WOW, one guest commented that it was one of the best meals they have ever had and it was bar far the best wedding menu they have ever eaten. I will second that it was phenomenal every course was cooked to perfection, the wine that matched the food was also second to none and it showed that someone had taken time and effort to match the wine to the menu and the love and care that was put into the food really shone through.

The balcony on the first floor that several rooms lead on to is also such a lovely place to relax and take in the breath taking scenery, it is such a chilled out and relaxed environment at the hotel and the everyone makes it feel that way, from eating breakfast outside in the morning to eating lunch or dinner in the restaurant it is a fantastic place.

We can not thank them enough for all the help and planning that went into our wedding it was remarkable and helped make our wedding day even more special. We cant wait to return and see Claudia and the team again this is one special hotel and I highly recommended it.

Ciao per ora grazie per aver reso il nostro giorno così speciale, a presto charlie e jen

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We discovered this restaurant whilst wandering around Isola Pescatore and instantly decided we would book for dinner.
The taxi boat arrived promptly and was very clean and comfortable dropping us a few steps from the restaurant. It was a lovely warm evening and dinner was on the terrace where we were allocated a front row table looking onto Isola Bella and the lake.
After a complimentary glass of prosecco we had the fish set menu which was excellent. The food was nicely cooked and the portion size just right. The waiter paced our meal perfectly so that we finished just in time for a boat back to Stresa. The boats then run every 30 minutes.
Would recommend on a summers evening. Much better than the meals we had at La Botte and Villa Aminta in Stresa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

While looking for somewhere to lunch on the island, we stopped by this place because it looked nice and reputable. The best thing about this restaurant is definitely the location and the view. However, the food was dissapointing. We ordered fish (branzino & rombo) and it was absolutely insipid! That was something we weren't happy to pay 60 EUR for (25 EUR per each fish meal plus service and a bottle of water). The service was slow and not enthusiastic in the least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Irritated by the 25 minute delay in the promised boat pickup but this is Italy and decides it goes with the territory. Made up by great views from the boat and restaurant itself. Pretentious maitre d who pulled faces when we didn't order a four course meal and expensive bottle of wine - mate, I wanted a meal not be a glutton. Waiter himself was great although over stretched. Food was very good. Views back to the mainland and the other islands were amazing. Going to island for dinner must be on the to-do list when staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Ristorante Verbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Verbano

Address: Via Ugo Ara 2 | Isola Dei Pescatori, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ristorante Verbano 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Verbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Verbano Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore
Albergo Ristorante Verbano Hotel Stresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Ristorante Verbano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.