We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Giacomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Giacomo to your Saves list
Hotel San Giacomo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mottarone, 7 | Levo, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed during the second week of September and were made welcome immediately, having driven a battered 15 year old Fiat from Milan. We dined at the hotel on 4 evenings. The value was excellent and all members of the family did everything possible to make the visit memorable. It is 10 minutes from the centre of Stresa and offers magnificent views of Lake Magiore. Standards of cleanliness were very high and we felt very safe there. We would recommend highly. We plan to return to Stresa and would select this hotel rather than one in the town.

Room Tip: All have a little balcony, but the best views are lake facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel, it was very clean and comfortable.
The owner was kind, and nothing was to much trouble.
He offered advice on where to visit and what to see.
We were travelling with a car so that was a help to visit the lake and other sights.
We did some good walking trails with wonderful views of the Alps and lakes.
My husband had his mountain bike with him and did some fast bike trails.
I enjoyed being a little out of Stresa away from the constant tourist coaches.
There is a special water fountain around the corner from the hotel, to fill your bottles with wonder fresh mountain water.

Room Tip: We had the down stairs disabled room because it had a small outside patio. it was private. and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hotel in tranquil setting in small village 6km from Stresa, own car park. Hotel had been totally refurbished. Excellent room with balcony with view of L. Maggiore. Very friendly proprietor with information about local tourist sights, ferries etc. Ideal location if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Stresa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The staff was very helpfool, provided many information about the tourist sights in the neighbourhod.Experienced the traditional Italian hospitality, the breakfast and the dinner was very good. The room was very clean and comfortable. The scenery is wonderful, however the hotel is a bit far from Stresa center by foot. I recommend the hotel for everyone.

Room Tip: I suggest to choose room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

This hotel offered us a great deal that when compared to other hotels in Stresa offered us excellent value for money. It is a little outside of Stresa itself, but there are buses and even a chair lift (don't rely on the taxis in Stresa!) The rooms were large and clean with lovely views and there was a very sociable atmosphere between the guests and the friendly family of owners who more more than helpful in every way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giacomo

Address: Via Mottarone, 7 | Levo, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Giacomo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located 6 km. ( 4 miles ) from Stresa in the hills overlooking the lake. You can be in Stresa in 10 minutes by car. From Levo, and from some of our rooms, you will enjoy gorgeous views of both the lake and the surrounding mountains. We also have flower gardens, private enclosed car park, covered patio, dining room, bar, and lobby. We are also located very near to a marked C.A.I. ( Italian Alpine Club ) hiking trail which leads to Stresa in one direction and to the Alpinia botanical gardens and the "Mottarone Mountain" ( 1490 m., 4500 feet ) in the other direction. For the less ambitious there are nice, easy walks around the town and vicinity for relaxing and enjoying the marvellous panorama.Our hotel has been run by the Strola/Giavina family for three generations. You can expect a peaceful, relaxing family atmosphere, great hospitality, and excellent cooking. Each of our 12 rooms has a private bathroom with a hairdryer, shower, satellite T.V., direct phone line, Internet wi-fi free and a balcony. Some of the rooms also have a view of Lake Maggiore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Giacomo Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Giacomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.