We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sempione

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Sempione to your Saves list
Albergo Sempione
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 46, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I wanted a budget room with a view and that's what I got. The view from room is stunning. Room was dated but ok. First time I've seen material on walls as wallpaper. Bed was comfy and ceiling fan was much needed. Guy on reception was helpful. There is no parking facilities here and we were on motorbikes which we parked on pathway facing hotel. Breakfast wasn't worth having . Basic breads and cold coffee. Loved the experience of Strasa. Very good restaurant nxt door.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
23
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Spent two nights here in June. Yes, the rooms are dated, but our room was clean and the view more than made up for the old decor. It was quite warm when we were there, and there is no air conditioning, but the ceiling fan made it bearable. And I came to Lake Maggiore for the views which this room certainly had!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel in the center of Stresa right on the beach. We were lucky so view on the lake beach from room was wonderful! But these all good stuff. The room is small and bad decorated also it's old and dirty. Breakfast is nothing special. Bed is uncomfortable. And one terrible thing that in the morning a woman from cleaning service opened a door by her keys. She should check or bell before coming!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the view over the promenade to Lake Maggiore. The room was extremely small and very dated in furnishings. The bathroom was tiny, not clean and in extreme need of refurbishment. However it is conveniently located in the centre of Stresa (on the main street) and in walking distance to all shops as well as the ferries to the Borromeo Islands. Continental breakfast was included in the price, however the selection was not great.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building are small but afford great views over the lake. The rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very welcoming staff, helpful and genuinely nice.

The view was perfect. The room is a bit small but that didnt bother us one bit. The bathroom could use a little refurbishment but was clean and quite functional. The only downside was that you have to wait 10 mins with the shower on for it to get hot.

Good breakfast, good location, good people, good rooms. Great for its price and good value for money !

Room Tip: Try to get a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a great place to enjoy the beauty of Lake Maggiore, conveniently located within the lively town of Stresa and close to the ferries to the Borromeo Islands and Verbania.It is older, a bit "shabby chic," but an excellent value in a resort city. Our room was spacious, the sparkling-clean bathroom almost as large, and our little balcony over the lakefront was the perfect place to watch the sun rise in the morning and to sip a glass of Piedmont wine at night. The breakfast was better than average and the staff was the best part: very friendly, multilingual,and always eager to do anything possible to make our stay fun and memorable. We wish our 6 days could have been 12!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First the positives the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the position of the hotel is excellent being right by the lake.
We had a room at the back of the hotel so our view was disappointing and the room was a little on the cramped side and a little tired to say the least!
The rooms are very hot in the height of the summer and would benefit from A/C, the carpets and general decoration in the hall ways have seen better days and it reminded me of bedsits.
Hate to be negative but you have to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sempione

Address: Corso Italia, 46, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sempione 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Lake Maggiore, 'Albergo Sempione is an excellent solution for those who want to spend their holidays in this great town. Located a few meters from the center of Stresa is directly connected with the embarkation of the Borromeo Islands. The hotel have a classic design, has a junior suite, double / twin rooms overlooking the lake view rooms and family rooms solarium. The hotel also provides a wi-fi throughout the hotel, a varied breakfast buffet, served in our dining room or on the veranda, where the predominant view of the lake with the respective islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Sempione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Sempione Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sempione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.