We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe as houses for good inventive cooking year after year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vicoletto

Il Vicoletto
Vicolo Del Poncivo,3, 28838 Stresa, Italy
+39 0323 932 102
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 96 restaurants in Stresa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Safe as houses for good inventive cooking year after year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I found Il Vicoletto in 2010 When we arrive in Stresa it is our first port of call to make a reservation for 50% of our evenings in this delightful lake town. This is my type of cooking beautifully presented food with the right degree of piquancy. The carrot mousse in the cheese sauce was delicious and the pannacotta and mango mousse desert outstanding. I also had beef one night cooked to perfection. You can have a good glass of wine for a very reasonable 3.5 euros and I always feel the food is great value for money.

I do not eat bread but most good moderately priced Italian restaurants do not focus on warm fresh bread that come to the fore in a more anglo-saxon or french haute cuisine environment. The two ladies are an absolute joy and the atmosphere is at its best when there are no large parties of eight dominating the dining area. They both work hard and are ruthlessly efficient ensuring meals come with out haste but before you start to feel you are waiting- something that happens elsewhere in Stresa.

Do book during the high season people are often turned away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    185
    97
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Subtle, well prepared, delicate food. Good service, definitely recommend this place. Price in proportion to the quality of the food. Try the panacotta.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Very nice meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

On this trip to Italy, I was hoping we'd find a number of restaurants small local restaurants with reasonably-priced great food and wine. Il Vicoletto is just the type of place I was looking for. We arrived on a cool and rainy June night, so we opted to eat inside in the nicely-appointed dining room, although a few hardy soles were eating outside. Service by the two women in the front of the house was friendly and efficient. Food was excellent: light-as-air gnocchi in a simple fresh tomato sauce, burratta cheese-filled ravioli in a light sauce which didn't detract from the delicate flavor of the cheese, and perfectly-prepared lamb, served sliced on the plate with an eggplant sauce which was flavorful but complementary to the lamb. And while it seems every restaurant in Italy is on the warm/molten chocolate cake/souffle kick, few do it very well -- but this Valrhona chocolate souffle with a soft interior was right on the money; perhaps not local cooking, but a wonderful finish to the meal. A nice wine list featured wines from all the major regions in the northern half of the country; we enjoyed a modestly priced (22€) 2008 Barbera D'Alba which was quite good. There is a free parking lot around the corner, although finding your way in the narrow streets in this part of the town can be a little hit-or-miss if you're driving. Il Vicoletto delivered just the type of meal we were looking for -- very good food, reasonable prices, nice service. The menu has enough variety (we skipped the appetizer course completely, because we weren't hungry enough for a full 4-course meal; there were fish and beef selections on the menu as well) to satisfy most groups of diners. If you're in Stresa, a nice meal awaits at Il Vicoletto.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Harmless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is in a side street off the main square in the small lakeside town of Stresa. It seems geared mainly to tourists but was a little better than I was expecting. Gazpacho lacked the intense tomato flavour that the best versions have, but it was reasonably well seasoned and at €8 not very expensive. Bread was grim though, rock hard supermarket fare, stale and virtually inedible. A ravioli dish of burratta was better, the pasta decent and quite well presented, each pasta parcel topped with a little bacon, which gave a welcome contrast to the richness of the cheese filling. Lurking in the wine list was an Antinori Tignello 2005 half bottle at just €35, which is pretty much the retail price of this wine. Service was pleasant. This is not a gourmet destination by any means, but a cut above the tourist trap fare that abounds around here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good service but watch the vegetables”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

eat here on our first night in Stresa on Monday 27th May. Atmosphere and service were very good with two ladies very efficently dealing with a room full of guests. The only negative was that I had the lamb and asked what vegetables you get with the lamb and was told carrots and courgettes - there were two carrots and two courgettes the size of peas so spoilt the meal really.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vicoletto also viewed

 

Been to Il Vicoletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vicoletto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.