We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, good price, nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna del Pappagallo

Taverna del Pappagallo
Via Principessa Margherita 46, 28838 Stresa, Italy
+39 0323 30411
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 98 Restaurants in Stresa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good pizza, good price, nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had pizza for lunch (again) and we loved it here. Nice restaurant, full with locals which is a good thing, very good price and really a good pizza. Bottle of water (0,75 ltr) Eur 2,50/ wine (1/4 ltr) Eur 3,-/pizza's Eur 7,- & 6,50 ........and again Eur 1,50 per person for couvert <-- I keep finding this a rip off. The kindness was so so! I think they can do much better then they did....it seems a common Italian hospitality......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    111
    50
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food freshly cooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had eaten in a couple of places and were pretty disappointed-typical tourist fare. Then we found the Pappagallo! Very Italian, cooked to order and friendly staff. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very good and very Italian just go and enjoy the food. Can be busy with locals - always a good sign. The pizza and the pasta are excellent, the meat and fish are great and the desserts are scrummy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After trying pizza at two other restaurants and finding them really tough, we were told it was because they were cooked in conventional ovens and to try Pappagallo. What a difference. It's a busy, bustling place and we got a table out back in the partially-covered courtyard garden bounded on one side by the lovely wall of an old church whose bells chimed a little musical tune - magical. The food and staff were great - definitely recommend this one. Sadly we were too full to take advantage of the dessert selection which looked very enticing.....!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in Stresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been to Stresa twice in the last two years and each time have eaten here multiple times. It's one of our favorite places. The prices are very reasonable, the food is great and wine cheap :) Our waiter last time was so funny and personable, that we had an especially enjoyable time. I recommend reservations, since it gets crowded at night. On the night that we didn't have any, the only seats available were outside, where it was cold and damp. We drank enough wine to keep warm, but still had enough sense to make some reservations for the proceeding night. This restaurant should definitely be rated higher. We'll be back in two months & plan on coming back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Pappagallo also viewed

 

Been to Taverna del Pappagallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna del Pappagallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.