We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Locanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Locanda to your Saves list
Hotel La Locanda
Via Leopardi, 19, Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Tongeren, Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We enjoyed our recent 8 nights stay here. The SERVICE is very friendly, gentle and courteous. The ROOMS are not really large but of a good height and light, the TV screen the size of my PC screen (but if you have to watch Italian TV even this is too large), the beds are OK if you are less than 185cm 73” tall, the bathroom has a sink, a toilet, a bidet and a good shower (although narrow for my 110kg 240lb). Everything was spotlessly cleaned each day, tiles on the floor, soap and goblets changed. Our room faced the mountains and had a little balcony with a nice view. At night, with open windows, one could hear some trains passing. The LOCATION is top : 5 min walk to train station or to the ferry for the islands or to the cable car for Mottarone; 10 min lakefront promenade route to town centre. PARKING on the grounds OK even for a SUV. Excellent free WIFI. BREAKFAST = Italian (fresh fruits, croissant, bread, sometimes a cake; portions of rusks, butter, jam, nutella, yoghurt ; hot & cold drinks OK from a machine) HOWEVER we bought some sausage and cheese and they kindly placed it in their fridge and brought it to our table every morning.

Restaurant tip : by all means the railway station for a complete menu or for pizza, for both options one of the best of town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    71
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
63
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

One night booked on our bike trip. A little more out of the way than we expected, but Stresa is a small place and it was handy. Close to the train line and with no aircon, either keep the window open and expect a little noise, or close it and be a little warm (if you're as lucky as us with the weather).

It's basic, but the bed is comfortable and the shower worked well. Breakfast is simple, but it's a welcoming place. Private parking good for the motorbike and the owner/manager made sure we put them in the best spot. Inexpensive overnight stop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thanks! I wait you for your next moto-trip in Stresa and Lago maggiore.
Best regrds.Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel La Laconda in Stresa for the second time, this time with a group of 16 people. A fantastic hotel in a great location near to the Lido. All our group absolutely loved it with many saying they would be back. The hotel is family operated by Daniele & his mother Paula who are very caring, discreet and personable. Large, clean rooms with a great continental breakfast served. Thanks once again Daniele, we will be back!

Room Tip: There are no lifts so choose downstairs rooms to avoid stairs with luggage. Newer rooms are at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Ch. and Br. ,Thanks for your review and thanks for your group of tourists all friendly and pleasant.
See you soon with great pleasure.
Dear greetings. Daniele e Paola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel La Locanda is located in a quiet area within 5mins. walk of the lake front and 10 mins. walk from Stresa station.
Our room, which was on the top floor was modern, spotlessly clean with a magnificent view of the mountains and a glimpse of Lake Maggiore.
We are very light sleepers and found the quietness of the area most suitable.
Breakfast was served by Daniele, the owner's son with friendliness, helpfulness and courtesy.
Although there is no lift, our luggage was willingly carried up to our room.
Should you need it, there is ample parking on site.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the view we described. From what we saw all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fine arrangement of hotel - close to the elevator on the mountain, the lake, station, mooring. Very purely, comfortably. The owner of hotel personally meets you, is always ready to help. Good breakfast coffee, juice, fruit, rolls, oil, honey, jam. And also the freshest croissants! Once in a week was a fruitcake.
Room clean every day. New pure towels, soap, shampoo. In our room there were 2 cute balconies overlooking mountains. There is also room with a big verandah.
It's so super hotel for family holidays!
We sure will arrive again!

Tatiana from Moscow

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much! is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our hotel. All of our staff thanks you for your kindness and courtesy. Hoping to have you back as our guests, perhaps for the "expo del mobile" in next year! :)
I send to you and your family our warmest greetings!
Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed already 5 times at Hotel La Locanda in Stresa.
Excellent value for money, coupled with a favorable position relative to the city center, ascending to the Mottarone top, boarding to Isole Borromee or to train station. Mr. Daniele is a very nice host and amazingly discreet. Always we return in Stresa with pleasure, being impressed by the hospitality of the family. Recommended to all who want harmony and relaxation in a family environment.

Room Tip: My recommendation: rooms facing the Mottarone mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Google Translation
Gent. Sig. P. V. , è sempre un piacere riavere lei e sua moglie come nostri ospiti. Vi aspettiamo per il prossimo soggiorno per passare qualche giorno in vostra compagnia e rendere la vostra vacanza piacevole e rilassante come ogni anno. Grazie mille da tutti noi. Carissimi saluti.
A presto. Daniele e Paola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay here, especially location, easy 10 min walk from Train Station, 5 minutes to Lido for ferry & Gondola up Mottorone (must do) & 15 minute lakefront promenade route to town centre. Our Host Danielle was helpful and attentive and the rooms larger than Italy standard. The room we had was at the back of hotel with a spacious balcony with view over residential homes which to me gave an authentic feel. Breakfast was quite good in a charming dining room. Would definitely stay again...Thank you Danielle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Address: Via Leopardi, 19, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda is a small and quiet hotel, recently restoredand runned by the host family welcoming you in this placesituated by the Lido of Stresa. Close to the hotel, in the Lido area, you may find the cableway to the Mottarone mountain (1500mt.) and public or private boats to Borromée isles. The train station is 200mt. far whereas the village centre is reachable by walking by the lake-side in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Locanda Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.