We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sacca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Sacca to your Saves list
La Sacca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione Sud, 50, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Brockenhurst
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Family run hotel on lakeside 2 miles outside Stresa. Extremely friendly and helpful staff,Clean well equipped rooms, but balconies too small for comfort, Website does not show that hotel is between road and railway No air conditioning, so ether clos window and swelter or open and suffer noise

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    56
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
93
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Only 2km from Stresa with magical views from your room across the lake. The rooms are very comfortable and the service is very good. If you stay make sure that you have dinner in the restaurant it is a little more expensive to your average restaurant in Stresabut the food is some of the best you will ever taste, absolutely exceptional meals.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great place and extremely helpful staff.everything was wonderful and would visit it again.Room with lovely lake view,arming facilities and daily breakfast was just right. Lady working there mixes perfectly with people from different nations.

Room Tip: Only a couple of KM from city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in room 6 for 3 nights. The hotel is very nice. We had a room overlooking the lake (though slightly obscured by buildings across the street) and on the main road into town (but we were not bothered by the street noise.) The staff was very friendly and helpful, and much more accommodating than in many hotels. An example, we arrived early afternoon after flying all night from the US. We checked in and went to our room for a short nap. When we awoke around 4 we were hungry, but did not want to eat too much since we planned to eat dinner in the hotel. They made us a lite sandwich snack with a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price - and you need to realize the kitchen was not open at the time. We had read many good reviews on their restaurant and must agree - the food was fantastic and the service was great. We ate there 2 of our 3 nights in Stresa. The 3rd night we had had a big lunch and picked up some pasta, pizza & wine in town and ate it out on our balcony - very lovely. Also they had a wonderful breakfast buffet with delicious homemade pastries.

Only caveat is its location. We did not have a car and it really was not safe to walk into town along the busy road with no sidewalks. This limited our flexibility; we would have preferred to be able to hop into town to walk around any number of times but could not. There is a bus, which we took, but it only ran hourly and did run later in the evening. If you have a car, or you don't mind these limitations, I would highly recommend La Sacca for your consideration.

BTW - a couple that had a car noted once they got into town they had a hard time finding a place to park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Others have spoken about the low prices, free parking, etc but we found this hotel to be too compromised by it's position right on the main road. As we sat on the terrace for our mediocre breakfast huge gusts of wind generated by the frequent passing lorries blasted the plastic curtains around and . The traffic noise levels were very high and started early in the morning.
In truth, this hotel may be in the Stresa post code, but it's so far out of town that you would never try to walk in. The town itself is magnificent, so why not stay there?
We were interested to note that our room had padded walls - slightly worrying! - we assumed this to be fashionable.
We had read about the good food at La Sacca, but were put off by the evening menu which consisted of three courses of Chef's Surprise.

Room Tip: Bite the bullet and book a room in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Situated just outside Stresa which is a great location to be based at, so it's ideal for people with a car. The hotel is lovely and spacious but made even better by the family who run the hotel. We paid a little extra for the room with a large patio and spa bath, although it appears all the rooms have a view of the lake. The hotel has a relaxed feel, while the restaurant is more formal and we would recommend the chefs special menu. There is pleanty of choice at the continental buffet breakfast.

All round excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had visited Stresa for a day trip a few years ago and had yearned to return and explore. We were on budget and had a hire car so were looking for somewhere at a reasonable cost with car parking. Previous reviews suggested that this hotel met these needs so we booked it for our weeks stay.

We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent english
on arrival we were asked for a deposit for the late door pass. This was needed if you stay out after 11. The deposit was small and returned on departure
The hotel has its own car park across the road with ample spaces. Do not park in spaces 1 to 5 as these are reserved. The hotel also has a quality restaurant. We only used it on our first night as we like to explore but ee were very taken at the quality for around 20 Euros per person
We stayed in an economy room which meant our bathroom was not en suite. That said it was only across the corridor and private to our rom. We encountered no problems
the bathroom and bedroom were both cleaned to a very good standard everyday. Not something we have always had in other continental hotels.
breakfast was very nice as well. Naturally being om the continent it took the style of a continental buffet. However unlike most places subtle changes were added to the fare each day.
only two small problems some people may encounter. The hotel is on the main road which is quite busy all night. However we bad no problem sleeping a d the views over the lake more than made up for it. The other was that the entrance to the shower was a tight squeeze s

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Sacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sacca

Address: Via Sempione Sud, 50, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sacca 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Sacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sacca Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore
La Sacca Hotel Stresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.