We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sacca

Save Saved
You added La Sacca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Sacca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione Sud, 50, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 hotels in Stresa
Belton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in room 6 for 3 nights. The hotel is very nice. We had a room overlooking the lake (though slightly obscured by buildings across the street) and on the main road into town (but we were not bothered by the street noise.) The staff was very friendly and helpful, and much more accommodating than in many hotels. An example, we arrived early afternoon after flying all night from the US. We checked in and went to our room for a short nap. When we awoke around 4 we were hungry, but did not want to eat too much since we planned to eat dinner in the hotel. They made us a lite sandwich snack with a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price - and you need to realize the kitchen was not open at the time. We had read many good reviews on their restaurant and must agree - the food was fantastic and the service was great. We ate there 2 of our 3 nights in Stresa. The 3rd night we had had a big lunch and picked up some pasta, pizza & wine in town and ate it out on our balcony - very lovely. Also they had a wonderful breakfast buffet with delicious homemade pastries.

Only caveat is its location. We did not have a car and it really was not safe to walk into town along the busy road with no sidewalks. This limited our flexibility; we would have preferred to be able to hop into town to walk around any number of times but could not. There is a bus, which we took, but it only ran hourly and did run later in the evening. If you have a car, or you don't mind these limitations, I would highly recommend La Sacca for your consideration.

BTW - a couple that had a car noted once they got into town they had a hard time finding a place to park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
70
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Others have spoken about the low prices, free parking, etc but we found this hotel to be too compromised by it's position right on the main road. As we sat on the terrace for our mediocre breakfast huge gusts of wind generated by the frequent passing lorries blasted the plastic curtains around and . The traffic noise levels were very high and started early in the morning.
In truth, this hotel may be in the Stresa post code, but it's so far out of town that you would never try to walk in. The town itself is magnificent, so why not stay there?
We were interested to note that our room had padded walls - slightly worrying! - we assumed this to be fashionable.
We had read about the good food at La Sacca, but were put off by the evening menu which consisted of three courses of Chef's Surprise.

Room Tip: Bite the bullet and book a room in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Situated just outside Stresa which is a great location to be based at, so it's ideal for people with a car. The hotel is lovely and spacious but made even better by the family who run the hotel. We paid a little extra for the room with a large patio and spa bath, although it appears all the rooms have a view of the lake. The hotel has a relaxed feel, while the restaurant is more formal and we would recommend the chefs special menu. There is pleanty of choice at the continental buffet breakfast.

All round excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had visited Stresa for a day trip a few years ago and had yearned to return and explore. We were on budget and had a hire car so were looking for somewhere at a reasonable cost with car parking. Previous reviews suggested that this hotel met these needs so we booked it for our weeks stay.

We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent english
on arrival we were asked for a deposit for the late door pass. This was needed if you stay out after 11. The deposit was small and returned on departure
The hotel has its own car park across the road with ample spaces. Do not park in spaces 1 to 5 as these are reserved. The hotel also has a quality restaurant. We only used it on our first night as we like to explore but ee were very taken at the quality for around 20 Euros per person
We stayed in an economy room which meant our bathroom was not en suite. That said it was only across the corridor and private to our rom. We encountered no problems
the bathroom and bedroom were both cleaned to a very good standard everyday. Not something we have always had in other continental hotels.
breakfast was very nice as well. Naturally being om the continent it took the style of a continental buffet. However unlike most places subtle changes were added to the fare each day.
only two small problems some people may encounter. The hotel is on the main road which is quite busy all night. However we bad no problem sleeping a d the views over the lake more than made up for it. The other was that the entrance to the shower was a tight squeeze s

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We decided to stay just outside Stresa as we wanted to have a lake view at budget price with easy car parking. We got it all here, having a wonderful night at La Sacca. After enjoying a lovely early evening meal in Stresa, we returned to La Sacca and sat on our terrace and had some local wine while we watched the sun go down. Beautiful stuff. Our room was very clean with nice bathroom amenities. Breakfast was a very nice spread, probably the best we had in Italy. Loredana was very nice and hospitable, giving me a lovely La Sacca hand painted soap as a momento of our stay. Definitely recommend this place to those wanting accommodation which is well priced, with genuine, decent hosts, all in a beautiful setting on Lake Maggiore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calitzdorp, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

WE had a wonderful surprise when we choose a cheaper option and had rooms with the most beautiful view at the lake, The bath room was across the corridor. The breakfast was the best in Italy. Value for money.

Room Tip: ASk for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked into this hotel largely because on the weekend we wanted to stay in Stresa the larger
hotels in Stresa were booked out. It was a pleasant surprise. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We had a lovely balcony with our room with a fantastic view. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant where we found the food presented to us to be very good and very fresh. We also chose a local wine which was lovely. The cost of the meal was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is close to Stresa, but removed from the chaos of the crowds. Contrary to some reviews, we did not find our room noisy at all and it was facing the road to Stresa?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sacca

Address: Via Sempione Sud, 50, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sacca 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Sacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sacca Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore
La Sacca Hotel Stresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.