We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, nice room,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ruscello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Ruscello to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ruscello
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Sempione, 64, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, nice room,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We loved our 3 days here. Breakfast was good and would be improved if fruit was offered to have with cerial. Lovely grounds. Good carpark just across the road from the hotel and a little park as well right on the lake. The hotel recommended nice places for diner.

We had a lake view room in the Villa which was really nice. I would stay here again..

Not sure how easy it would be to get to this hotel if you are not driving

Room Tip: Lake view room would be best. I thing you need to avoid a room on the back of the Villa as it faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Villa Ruscello for 2 night in October 2013 and over all it was very good, first impressions were not great as we didn't realize there was a road between the car park and the hotel, also a lot of steps leading to the hotel ( I have to say we had been driving quiet a lot so we were tired, it was also wet). We made our way to the main house where we were welcomed and shown to our room, this was in another building, unfortunately more stairs to go up, once in the room it was basic but ok the bathroom however was very small, so if you are of larger build you will find it very snug. There is a train which run close by but didn't cause us to much disturbance.
There is no restaurant but breakfast is serve, the owners have plenty of recommendations for restaurants and the one we went to was excellent.
To sum it up, nice place to stay, owners very pleasant, Amazing views and lovely location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you scored this hotel on location alone it would be a five. It sits right up against Lake Maggiore with its own mini beach and sun lounging area. The brothers who own the property (the business was started by their grandfather) are delightful. It is located half way between Baveno and Stressa with the most stunning views of the Borromean islands. Isola Bella has to be one of the most stunningly beautiful views in Europe.
Rooms in the annexe, where we stayed, were somewhat utilitarian with marble tiled floors that left the rooms feeling a little clinical and institutionalised. Being owned by two men probably explains the lack of feminine touches in the décor. However, the rooms are spacious with good serviceable bathrooms (except on days when the water is cut off as it was on our second morning) and comfortable beds.
The issue with this hotel and I'm surprised it has not been mentioned by other reviewers, is that it is incredibly close to the railway line. There was a point on the first night that I did go and check that they weren't actually running through the bathroom! The other downside is that the road that runs in front of the hotel is very busy and there is no footpath, so walking into Balveno or Stressa is a terrifying experience.
The hotel does not serve dinner (breakfasts are ok) so one has to go out to eat. Without one's own transport that would be difficult and if you do drive the then have the issue of someone not drinking.
Ruscello is not alone in having these issues. All of the hotels along this road suffer them same problems. It is only that Ruscello does not offer a dinner service that might present an issue for some visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed a night here on our way from Lausanne to Milan airport, not realising it was such a wonderful location. Right on Lake Maggiore and in a lovely old family home we were made very welcome by the hosts who spoke good English which was great for us. They directed us to a lovely restaurant for dinner where they have a deal with the owners to give their guests a good deal. It was lovely.
The room was comfortable, clean and with a super little balcony. Bathroom was small but absolutely fine for the two of us. The room was a bit warm overnight but Italy is having a heat wave at the moment, no air conditioning but we were able to leave the door open.
The location is superb and I would recommend Baveno to anyone needing to place themselves within an hours drive from Malpensa Airport. Stay a day or two.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the front of the hotel where you will get a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Location is unique , the hotel is like a Castle, the rooms are good average, the parking is the place where you can take the better pictures of the lago Maggiore....Remember tis Tip, The waterfall from the mountains cross the hotel and the noise was for us ......a plus
Price is perfect, breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The 2 double rooms we occupied had both a balcony overlooking the hotel garden and Lago Maggiore with its "Borromeo Islands" of Isla Bella and Isla Madre. The ferry to these islands is just 1 km from the hotel which exists of 2 parts - the old, original house of the parents of the 2 owners (2 brothers) and a new part in which the bedrooms can be found. A little stream thunders from the mountain onto the property and soon afterwards into the lake. The sound is soothing as are the beautiful flowers, Azalea bushes and trees in the well-laid out garden with its different statues.
Breakfast was wonderful with a coffee made expressly the way we wanted to, choice of different teas, cheeses, cold cuts and sweets. The bedrooms have good bedding and are nice and clean as are the bathrooms. Thanks to the high quality windows no noise came from the street below us. It was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Gulio (one of the owners) advised us to go and see some villages among which Orta de Giulio on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

beautiful view from balcony to lake, islands, other cities. balconies so cosy - liked to spend early mornings and late evenings there, watching the sunrise, rain and fireworks in the evening. rooms are clean and size is ok. a private beach to swim and place for cars. a lot of space to spend time outside the room. cosy atmosphere, because this is a small hotel and you can get close with other visitors. nice service - there are some things owners did for us and allowed us for free and it was ar nice surprise. these are things why I would choose this hotel once again.
BUT - this is a good place for those, travelling with car. the road both directions to Stresa and Baveno is without pavement (about 5 min walk) and it's a bit challenge to reach these cities by foot, because the traffic on this road is intensive. And the night sleep is being interrupted by noise from trains passing by very close to the hotel and also from waterfall. breakfest menu could be more creative. If you stay for one night, than it's ok, but if you are staying 3 and more days, it is boring every morning to have the same little selection of food.

Room Tip: Take only rooms with lake view, better if they are located on highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ruscello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ruscello

Address: via Sempione, 64, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Ruscello 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a typical villa with a large Italian garden, balconies, terraces and a direct access to the Lake through our little private beach. For over 40 years our family-run hotel has offered our guests tranquillity and unique views of the Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ruscello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Ruscello Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ruscello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.