We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Dei Fiori

Save Saved
You added Residence Dei Fiori to your Saves list
Residence Dei Fiori
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Dei Fiori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Garibaldi 35-41, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Baveno
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked the apartment on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We had a third floor apartment, 1 double, 1 twin and a bed in the living area for 2 extra if needed. 2 bathrooms, great space and very well kept, looked pretty new. View of the lake from the balcony although there is another hotel in front (Hotel Dior?) but that doesn't stop the fantastic views of mountains and lake. Staff were very friendly and the whole visit was great. There is no parking but don't let that deter you, there is plenty of free parking opposite down the residential roads. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Be warned, this is not a hotel but a Residence and a very good one at that!

The staff, especially the owner, an elderly italian gentleman Mr. Adami, try to cater for every request your family may have. The family owned/run Residence is newly renovated with spacious rooms, large beds and most importantly, Air Conditioning!

Our positive experience started before we confirmed our booking, requesting specific room types to accomodate our 13 month daughter, a mother-in-law and us. We were offered a 3 bedroom apartment with self-contained kitchenettes and baby cot which exceeded our expectations.

Arriving mid-evening in 36C heat to find there is no hotel parking and surrounding streets already full, the owner Mr. Adami moved his car from the parking spot in front of the hotel and offered it to us. Within minutes we unpacked our car and were being cooled by our airconditioned rooms and settling our toddler.

The restaurant is typical of local italian fair, so dont expect fancy furniture, however the service and the quality of food is excellent! Try the calamari!

Breakfast is overpriced and basic, €7/ person. But a short walk outside and you can get yourself a coffee and pastries for much less and the cafe next door does hot sandwhiches as well. Italians dont generally do hot breakfast so dont expect to see eggs and bacon.

Take advantage to cool off in the lake by taking a short walk (5-10mins) to the 'Lido Beach Club Baveno', entrance is free, so is access to the change rooms and toilets and there is cool shade of trees right beside the water.

Overall it was a perfect few days serving our needs and exceeding our expectations.

We'll be back again for a short stay very soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have AC, rooms with a balcony or facing the lake are noisy as they are facing the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were sleeping at Hotel dei fiori. The rooms look like it was just renovated. Everything is very new and clean. Rooms are very cozy and spacious. There's even a small kitchen. Staff is charming and hospitable. Good location. I highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Enjoyed our trip to the Lake maggiore. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Jun 2010. I was travelling by myself and attending a wedding at the Hotel Dino which is directly across the road from Residence die Fiori.

From the moment I called the hotel to enquire about availability the staff were so helpful and friendly that it really made my trip to Italy very smooth. I had booked a single room but was given a nice double room. The room was very spacious and clean. It had a double bed, a small terrace facing the back of the hotel so it was nice and quiet, satellite TV, air conditioning, a safe, and a small fridge.

The hotel is in a good location (I found it very convenient to Hotel Dino). The waterfront, local shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants are a very short walk from the front of the hotel. There is a supermarket about a 10 min walk away.

The staff helped me with train timetables for trains from nearby Stresa and even drove me to the train station the day I departed.

Overall this is a decent 3 star hotel offering good value accommodation in Baveno.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

Journey
Travelled with Ryanair via Bergamo, then bus to Milan Cantral Station (7 euros single) and train to Stresa (4 euros 40 single). Onward boat to Baveno was another 3 euros single.

Apartment
Apartment was lovely. We had one on the third floor, with a living room and large bedroom. It was newly refurbished with a neat kitchen concealed behind sliding doors. We had a large balcony with lake and (albeit obstructed) lake views. THe apartment had a nice bathroom with Jacuzzi Bath and low level hand held shower.
We sourced the apartment via their own web. You need to be aware that aircon is extra, and allow for the compulsory cleaning charge at the end (regardless of how many nights you stay.

Eating out
Lots of Pizza / Pasta and other restaurants in both Baveno and Stresa.

Trips and Excurions
Lots to see and do. We did an organised trip to Lake Orta and the "Big Carlo" statue via the travel agents next to the "Italie Suisse" hotel opposite the Stresa Boat station. It was very enjoyable.
We also visited the three islands via public boat excursions - they are all lovely.
Finally, there is good walking available - we walked up to the Alpine Gardens from Baveno (approx 2 hours 30) and back down to Stresa (another 2 hours).

Return journey
Did same journey in reverse. Be warned that late afternoon traffic out of Milan can be very heavy. The coach journey back to Bergamo took over two hours (inbound was less than an hour) so allow plenty of time.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

We have just returned from a two centre holiday and our first 5 days were spent on Lake Maggiore in The Residence dei Fiori. We thought we were booked into a hotel on half board but we were given a room that had a kitchen, fully equipped for self catering. The actual room / apartment was beautifully furnished and the bed was enormous! One problem was we had to walk out of the front reception door, onto the pavement and a few yards up the road go into another door which was the hotel restaurant. This led to the back where we (as a tour group) were to eat. But, it was more of a cafeteria than a dining room so the 'ambience' was awful. Also, there was no nice place to sit and have a drink in the evening, apart from a small bar with cafe style tables. Staff were very nice and friendly though and overall we enjoyed our stay but would not return.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable room.
  • Disliked — Dining area.
  • Tips/Secrets — Lake Maggiore is beautiful and there are lots of places to visit. This hotel is okay but not for a long stay.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Dei Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Dei Fiori

Address: Corso Garibaldi 35-41, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Dei Fiori 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant Il Portico, part of the Residence dei Fiori, is located in the city centre of Baveno, near the lakefront and near the dock for The Borromee Island, few minutes from shops and supermarkets.The Restaurant has a wide dining room for 120 people. The location is ideal for organized groups with Tour Operator but also for private guests.In the Restaurant is possible to organize Birthday parties, events and anniversaries.The cookery is original and creative: our chef pays attention to the details, to the beauty, to the Oriental flavours, with vegetarian courses, and dishes that satisfy guest's curiosity. It is also possible to taste traditional courses like Lasagne and Milanese.The Restaurant is also Pizzeria, with the special Pizza Longa with natural leavening.Restaurant "Il Portico": unmatched flavours and excellence in welcoming near Maggiore Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Dei Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Dei Fiori Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Dei Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.