We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lido Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lido Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale del Sempione 30, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Baveno
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything is lovely here. Although large, with some very grand public rooms and good facilities, it has a family feel and the staff are consistently kind and helpful (with excellent English). There are magnificent uninterrupted views of Lake Maggiore and the Boromean Islands from the bedroom balconies, and the hotel has a fascinating history illustrated with photos and memorabilia, which makes it feel really rooted in the area.
For anyone who likes the outdoors this is a particularly good base. There's a private beach allowing swimming in the lake. It's ten minutes walk into Baveno, a quick bus or taxi ride to Stresa, bike hire and the cable car to Mottarone. Best of all, paths to the mountains start just behind the hotel. I spent many wonderful hours hiking on well-marked paths, rewarded with amazing views from the peaks right into Switzerland. Then back to Lido Palace for delicious meals of Italian food. If you want, you can make plenty of interesting trips to locations round about, but it is entirely possible to enjoy a week or two without stirring far from the sunlit pool and shady gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the most majestic hotels we've ever stayed at, with sweeping views across Lake Maggiore. The room we stayed in was first rate, with a lovely balcony that we spent time on just drinking in the spectacular scenery. Staff were excellent, particularly the dining room staff at breakfast, the breakfast itself was marvellous. Just a few minutes of walking brings you into the beautiful harbour of Braveno with a large variety of shops and restaurants. We really hated leaving here after a wonderful two-night stay and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent only 1 night at this lovely Hotel at the end of a week long tour. What a stunning Hotel! We were greeted enthusiastically, and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodatiing. Our room had a balcony in the bedroom, as well as in the bathroom, each with panoramic views of Lake Maggiore and the island of Isola Bella. The dining rooms and Terrace are exquisite, and the elegant wait staff equally outgoing and courteous. I wish we had another day or two here, but the experience was lovely, right down to a warm goodbye from a smiling reception staff at 6AM, when we left for the airport. Perfection! Don't miss a chance to stay here!

Room Tip: I doubt that there IS a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Lido Palace to be told we'd been upgraded to the "Winston Churchill Suite". It turned out we were the only people there who were not part of a tour group so they were kind enough to spoil us a little. The suite was very spacious and the beds (two doubles, pushed together) were comfortable. There was a spa bath in a separate alcove that was quite luxurious.

We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and had a lovely four course meal at a very reasonable price. The waiters were excellent - friendly and attentive, and happy to help us practice our Italian.

I had somehow managed to book this hotel without an included breakfast, so since I baulk a little at paying hotel prices for breakfast, we had our breakfasts in town and can't comment on the offering at the Lido Palace.

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and their English was mostly very good.

The grounds and pool area are lovely.

It is about a ten minute walk into town, mostly on wide paths or in parks, but the initial section is on a narrow path next to a road that can get quite busy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although old, this is a lovely hotel with a wonderful staff. Our room looked out over the Lake and was very quiet and comfortable. I would go back in a minute. It was pleasant just walking around the facility and sitting on their large veranda was amazing. Great value compared to other places.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited the Lido Palace Hotel for 4 nights in July 2013.This was our second stay at this hotel. We first visited it 2009 and loved it then.The hotel conveys the feeling of another era with its beautiful dinning room and common areas overlooking Lago Maggiore. We opted for a lake view room this time and our view of Lago Maggiore was spectacular. Lido Palace offers a lake beach and pool. Both are pleasant. The pool area faces the lake and was never crowded. In addition to the amenities available, there is a clear commitment to service. Paolo and Elisa were wonderful and especially helpful throughout our stay. Roberto who handles the food service and Ramona were delightful too. Breakfast at the hotel dining room was reasonably priced and included a wide range of buffet options including breads, pastries, cereals, yogurt, eggs (cooked to order), meets, cheese, various juices and waters and coffee, tea, cappucino, etc. Tables are set up at near open doors and the view of the lake from the dining room alone is worth the price of breakfast. Free convenient parking was a big plus as was easy access to the boat terminal for lake excursions and easy access by car to other lake town, e.g., Stressa, Locarno, Ascona. Baveno is actually a short distance from the Swiss boarder.

Free WIFI was available but we were not able to get our tablets to work. Paolo was extraordinary and even attempted to get a computer specialist to solve the problem. When that option wasn't available, he immediately offered to have us use the hotel computer so we could check email and check-in and get our boarding passes for our flights to the USA. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are equipped with mini bars and satellite TV but the beautiful furniture in the rooms could use a bit of restoring. Nevertheless, this all part of the hotel's charm.

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Address: Strada Statale del Sempione 30, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#7 Family Hotel in Baveno
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace
Lido Palace Baveno
Lido Palace Hotel Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.