We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beau Rivage to your Saves list
Hotel Beau Rivage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale della Vittoria 36, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at his family-run hotel on the shore of Lake Maggiore for a week. Everything very clean and neat, if a tad old-fashioned, staff were enormously helpful and our balcony looked out to a beautiful hillside - quieter I am sure than the lake-view rooms that also overlooked the busy road. Our room was small but well appointed, pity about the twin beds though (we tied them together with string). Good internet access, and generous servings of drinks from the bar. We were on a package holiday and the food was generally unexciting, but pasta courses were always excellent. Baveno is a lovely little town, with tiny cobbled back streets and lots of mule tracks to explore, and frequent ferries allowing easy access to the islands and other lakeside towns. A real winner, and we can hardly wait to return.

Room Tip: For quietness chose a rear room overlooking gardens and hillside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed at the Beau Rivage during a holiday with Travelsphere. The plus points are: great location, spotlessly clean, very nice public rooms and gardens and wonderful staff - without exception they were all extremely gracious, good humoured, knowledgeable and attentive. The minuses: tiny rooms, very poor sound proofing and extremely unappetising food. This is Italy for goodness sake! I think calling half a tinned pear with some squirty cream and a glace cherry ';dessert' is insulting to adults (well, and most kids too); the breakfasts were also very dull. Luckily we were able to escape and tried a number of restaurants in Baveno, all of which were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one week end of May 2014. Hotel was clean and well run. Bedroom was adequate. There was a small TV which was fixed on to the wall but was fixed too high to adjust. No fridge in room. My room was on the second floor at the front with a view of the lake, but there was no balcony. It was extremely noisy, but I found if I closed the shutters and wore ear plugs at night I did not hear the traffic. Breakfast was very disappointing, all the cereals tasted like cardboard and the fruit juice tasted watered down. Hardly any fresh fruit on offer and tinned fruit salad. There was a choice of either white or brown bread (one type of each) - you were not allowed to toast the brown bread because it might jam up the toaster - not impressed with that, could have cut the slices thinner. Evening meals were adequate but nothing special. The pluses for this hotel are that the staff were excellent as was the location.

Room Tip: Request a room on the highest floor to cut out the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel and even it is what I expected it to be reading other reviews. Parking was no problem and the wi fi very slow. Front desk on arrival very helpful. Nice foyer and sitting area to enjoy coffee tea etc. Rooms clean and our bathroom was new and spacious. Rooms a bit outdated but to me that is not a problem as long as all is clean. Two single beds together is not a very comfortable sleep but if you stay on your side of the bed you should be ok. We had a lake facing room and yes it is noisy with the traffic but if that is a real concern rather get a garden facing room. I did not enjoy the breakfast that much as there is very little fresh fruit and looks like most of it comes from tins. Comparing to other 3 star hotels we have stayed in this was by far the worst breakfast but it is not "terrible" Close to lots of restaurants and close to what seems like the more touristy town of Stresa.

Room Tip: Avoid a lake facing room if you a light sleeper as traffic noise is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Point ny
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our last experience at the Hotel Beau Rivage was our best! We have stayed there on several occasions for several years, but this year was exceptional. The service is outstanding, the rooms impeccably clean and very modern with wifi and wonderful amenities (heated towel bars, mini bar, air conditioning), the front desk very friendly and informative, the lobby newly renovated. The food is delicious and the wait staff very accommodating.
This year unfortunately we were too late (late October) to swim in the very inviting swimming pool.
But we will be sure to go to Lago Maggiore a little earlier next year to take advantage of the pool"s beautiful setting.
If I were rating hotels I would give the Beau Rivage at Lago Maggiore five stars !!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are just lovely. There is also a duplex room that is a treasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week with Crystal and yes I can say that the comments about the hotel being in need of updating is correct however what you could not take away from the hotel is 1. The rooms are clean and tidy, the towels changed every day and our bed linen was changed midway through the week.
2. The food although you do not of choice at the evening meal, I can honestly say that we enjoyed every single meal, and although the portions do not look huge it is perfectly adequate and we never came away hungry, what's more its a silver service which adds to the whole meal time experience. The breakfasts again were more than adequate with choice of fruits, Danish, breads and cakes. There was a good choice of yogurts as well, Although there was not a cooked breakfast there was the facility to have boiled eggs.
3. All the staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was to much trouble.

The hotel fronts on to a busy road, and our room was at the front however we did not find this excessively noisy.

Baveno is what I call an old Italian town enough commercialism for the visitors but enough to still have the old charm, If you want a more buzzy town the perhaps you would prefer Strasa (but with the added price tag)

The area is lovely, and well worth a visit. If you go on any tours I hope you get Barbara as your tour guide she is so knowledgeable about the area. Lake Orta is also worth a visit.

Being a Lake Garda fans we were worried that we would be disappointed but we enjoyed every minute of our holiday and would like to return one day.

Room Tip: We found the view from the Lake side view rooms outweighed any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The reviews of this hotel vary considerably but bear in mind it is a 3 star hotel! It can be classed as a bit dated, even a bit quirky....but that somehow lends to its charm. We also stayed with Travelsphere and can also confirm just how excellent our rep Debbie was (see other reviews). We couldn't really find fault with either the food or the service. OK it wasn't cordon bleu....but it was certainly presented fresh and hot and tasty. You're not in England so accept the idiosyncrasies (like not being able to take a drink through to the dining room). It's no big deal and obviously works for the hotel. The Italians aren't really big on desserts but, come on, their ice cream is to die for! Have enough of that during the day and who needs desserts? We loved the breakfasts. Surely, when you are in a European country you should accept that you don't get fry ups as at home. We enjoy the continental breakfasts for a change....much healthier. Our room overlooked the gardens at the back,had a balcony and was quiet. We heard that the front rooms (although overlooking the lake), did suffer from traffic noise. The room itself was small and a bit tired, but it was clean and well serviced everyday. It's a hotel room...it's for sleeping and washing in....not for holding parties! If you don't go with grand expectations then you should have no problem with this hotel. We certainly didn't.

Room Tip: No carpets in rooms so no noise from above on 3rd floor. Rooms at the back are quieter although no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Address: Viale della Vittoria 36, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel
Hotel Beau Rivage Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beau Rivage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.