We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look beyond and you find a gem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beau Rivage to your Saves list
Hotel Beau Rivage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale della Vittoria 36, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Look beyond and you find a gem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week with Crystal and yes I can say that the comments about the hotel being in need of updating is correct however what you could not take away from the hotel is 1. The rooms are clean and tidy, the towels changed every day and our bed linen was changed midway through the week.
2. The food although you do not of choice at the evening meal, I can honestly say that we enjoyed every single meal, and although the portions do not look huge it is perfectly adequate and we never came away hungry, what's more its a silver service which adds to the whole meal time experience. The breakfasts again were more than adequate with choice of fruits, Danish, breads and cakes. There was a good choice of yogurts as well, Although there was not a cooked breakfast there was the facility to have boiled eggs.
3. All the staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was to much trouble.

The hotel fronts on to a busy road, and our room was at the front however we did not find this excessively noisy.

Baveno is what I call an old Italian town enough commercialism for the visitors but enough to still have the old charm, If you want a more buzzy town the perhaps you would prefer Strasa (but with the added price tag)

The area is lovely, and well worth a visit. If you go on any tours I hope you get Barbara as your tour guide she is so knowledgeable about the area. Lake Orta is also worth a visit.

Being a Lake Garda fans we were worried that we would be disappointed but we enjoyed every minute of our holiday and would like to return one day.

Room Tip: We found the view from the Lake side view rooms outweighed any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The reviews of this hotel vary considerably but bear in mind it is a 3 star hotel! It can be classed as a bit dated, even a bit quirky....but that somehow lends to its charm. We also stayed with Travelsphere and can also confirm just how excellent our rep Debbie was (see other reviews). We couldn't really find fault with either the food or the service. OK it wasn't cordon bleu....but it was certainly presented fresh and hot and tasty. You're not in England so accept the idiosyncrasies (like not being able to take a drink through to the dining room). It's no big deal and obviously works for the hotel. The Italians aren't really big on desserts but, come on, their ice cream is to die for! Have enough of that during the day and who needs desserts? We loved the breakfasts. Surely, when you are in a European country you should accept that you don't get fry ups as at home. We enjoy the continental breakfasts for a change....much healthier. Our room overlooked the gardens at the back,had a balcony and was quiet. We heard that the front rooms (although overlooking the lake), did suffer from traffic noise. The room itself was small and a bit tired, but it was clean and well serviced everyday. It's a hotel room...it's for sleeping and washing in....not for holding parties! If you don't go with grand expectations then you should have no problem with this hotel. We certainly didn't.

Room Tip: No carpets in rooms so no noise from above on 3rd floor. Rooms at the back are quieter although no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very disappointed with the hotel having seen pictures on their web site. The room we had on the first floor was shabby and in need of a make-over. The bathroom was also very tatty, and needed replacing. The breakfast and the starters at dinner were ok but the fruit and the veggies seem to have come from tins, not what we expected in a country that boasts of it's fine produce.
On the plus side the hotel is situated near to the bus stops and to the ferry terminals. We had a room at the front of the hotel and wern't troubled with any noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We used this hotel as an overnight stay, which was exactly enough. Hotel looks good from the outside, reception areas gives a false idea of some luxury, but once you go up to the rooms, scenes change rapidly. Although everything is well kept, it all dates back to the 50's or 60's. We had one room in the corner with lake view and a balcony on the side with lateral lake view. Room was decent size, clean, air-conditioning worked flawless. Bathroom had a curtain which I don't like but was clean and everything worked ok. Children were in a room in the back, which was quiet. Breakfast was poor, with a lot of fresh strawberries. Staff was overall friendly, but hotel is overpriced due to location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is our 8th Holiday at the Hotel Beau Rivage with Travelsphere and it is always the better.
Fabulous place, fabulous food, fabulous staff!
We ask for our lake view room in the corner of the hotel, and we can can relax ourself sitting on our balcony.
we enjoy the park, the bar, the restaurant.

We will return another 8 times.

Room Tip: Choose the lake view rooms if you want a terrific view, choose the garden side rooms if you want mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just returned from the Beau Rivage in Baveno, disapointed to say the least. This hotel is very dated and in need of a face lift, walls very thin and you were kept awake with every sound. The beds although not uncomfortable, were spoiled by the rocks that were passed as pillows, although they were changed on asking. The bath was an accident waiting to happen with the rubber mat and difficult to control water temperature. The paintwork in the room was shabby and decor very dull. Food was boring and very uninteresting. Restaurant staff, although not rude, gave the impression they really did not want to be there. If tinned fruit and veggies are your cup of tea then this is the place for you. On the positive side the hotel was kept clean. Give Baveno a miss, nothing to do try Stresa instead and go for a 4 star hotel.





Your accounts
Your usage
About you
More
Quicklinks
Help and advice Give a meter reading Pay your bill How to read your meter

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and myself, together with two friends have just returned from an eight day stay at the Hotel Beau Rivage in Bavino, Italy. The trip was organised by Travelsphere and our tour guide Debbie was an absolute gem throughout our stay. We and others valued not only her ability to assist with trips etc, but also her knowledge about the area and about local cultural norms. Debbie was extraordinary when along with hotel staff she, arranged medical assistance when my wife needed to be transported to hospital for treatment. Debbie was able to translate and also to advocate on behalf of my wife in order to ensure she received a good medical assessment. We were allocated room 209 and our friends were allocated room 208. The rooms were situated at the front of the hotel and were a reasonable size, although a little tired. It has to be said that we have never had such a comfortable nights sleep - the mattresses were superb, the only distraction being the road noise from the busy main road right at the front of the hotel. The noise can be reduced by closing the windows and using the air conditioning to circulate air into the room. Other reviewers have noted the road noise at the front of the hotel being an issue, the noise does reduce during the night though. The hotel staff were really warm and welcoming, and the reception staff dealt quickly with issues of concern. We needed extra pillows, and had a problem with the shower tray. The reception staff dealt with both matters very efficiently. This is despite operating a very busy hotel. The hotel has a beautifully situated swimming pool, accessible via an ascending path through a delightful well maintained garden area at the rear of the hotel. There is an area set aside with sun loungers and the pool is staffed by a lifeguard. Food at the hotel is very nicely prepared, and two choices of starters, main course and sweet of the day. Staff in the spacious dining rooms are pleasant and will change menu options if requested. The dining room manager Phillipe ensures cleanliness of utensils, dishes and table ware and a really high standard from staff. The bedroom linen and towels are changed daily and the rooms are clean. The bar area is very nicely situated and has lots of seating for chatting with a drink. Being central in Bavino, the hotel has lots of useful information about bus and boat timetables. Lots of places to eat, for that special panini our group of four recommends Bar L'in Contro just a five minute walk, near the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel overlook the garden area and swimming pool and are quieter Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Address: Viale della Vittoria 36, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Beau Rivage of Baveno offers comfortable accommodation in a wonderful Lake Maggiore setting, with enchanting views of the Borromean Islands. Wi-Fi and parking are free. All rooms are air-conditioned. The hotel's amenities include bar, an outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool, and spacious air-conditioned lounges. You can relax in the charming internal garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel
Hotel Beau Rivage Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beau Rivage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.