We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with fine service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione, 12, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent with fine service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a pleasan surprise for us. Very friendly and professional service from reception till room service, bar man, breakfast service.
The hotel is in classic style, totally renovated, nice rooms for those with view on the lake. They were very accomodating although we have 2 dogs and a LOT of luggage. There was a mistake by them on the price, but I was partly to blame as , at check in, I did not correctly confirm the price. Stil, it was a nice experience and I can recommend it to anyone, myself I will be using it again for business clients.

Room Tip: Since you are at the lake it must be a room with lake view and I suggest minimum 3rd to 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    69
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
50
110
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at Hotel Splendid a couple of times now en route to Tuscany from the UK. It is very close to the motorway and a perfect treat to banish the stress of the drive. We spent 2 nights here as it seemed a waste not to enjoy it.
It really is a beautiful hotel with immaculate gardens and terraces overlooking the very picturesque Lake Maggiore .
Our rooms have been lovely on both occasions. Italian in style, a little ostentatious in places but we just loved it.
As a family of 4, the rooms were spacious and the children adored having a very large bathtub to swim in and a walk in shower kept us adults happy too.
The beauty of the restaurant terrace forgives the mediocre food.
The concierge can arrange a water taxi from one of the restaurants which are in the middle if the lake to pick you up from the jetty. We had a wonderful meal and a great trip over the water.
We will definitely be back but hopefully for a longer break next time.
Looking forward to a nice glass of prosecco on the sun terrace very soon!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We stayed here on the last night of our 2 week road trip and were so pleased we made the two hour driving from como.

We had a very comfortable room in a nice hotel in Como but decided we'd see one more place and booked a suite here. When we arrived they upgraded us to an even bigger suite for free which meant we had this huge room on the very top floor with double balcony views over the Lake - stunning. The hotel was fab, a short walk into Baverno but they have complimentary bikes which are lovely to go off exploring on.
We ate in the a la carte restaurant where we chose to sit on the balcony and that was lovely and the cocktails were amazing!
Definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

A nice hotel with a beautiful location. Very friendy adn helpfull staff. Also good possibilities to make a trip to other places around Lago Maggiore by a taxi-boat or by a ship. Quite good breakfast. Also suitable for a conforence.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

I stay There for an business event and the room is fantastic, has the breakfast is great. The view from the hotel is very beautiful and the lake on off the beauty of the world.
I will go there with my family for a 3 days trip and give to them a good experience of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The room was not that big but the bathroom was huge. It has a shower box, bath tub, his and hers sink and of course toilet and bidet. We got the room facing the lake and it was beautiful. We could see the alps from the balcony and the sunrise was so pretty. Breakfast was excellent as well. When we were there for 2 days, they had sausages (2 types. The white one was so yum), 3 types of ham, swiss cheese, tomato/spinach and scrambled egg. The breads and cakes options were not bad either. They also have fresh fruits, which we do not see a lot in hotels in italy as they usually serve canned fruit. The health club looks very nice (will upload photos), too bad we didn't pack out bathing suits along. Service was excellent. We did not try to eat at the restaurant because we kept going to la trappola, restaurant around 700m away from the hotel, right opposite of Hotel Simplon, but i heard the food is good at the hotel's restaurant too.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We found the staff to be first rate and the hotel was absolutely stunning. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We stayed in a suite that was Palatial. The balcony was enormous and enjoyed breath-taking lake views. The entire hotel was spotless and beautifully furnished. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Via Sempione, 12, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Family Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Escapio and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Baveno
Hotel Splendid Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.