We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione, 12, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Porto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

I stay There for an business event and the room is fantastic, has the breakfast is great. The view from the hotel is very beautiful and the lake on off the beauty of the world.
I will go there with my family for a 3 days trip and give to them a good experience of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
107
3
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The room was not that big but the bathroom was huge. It has a shower box, bath tub, his and hers sink and of course toilet and bidet. We got the room facing the lake and it was beautiful. We could see the alps from the balcony and the sunrise was so pretty. Breakfast was excellent as well. When we were there for 2 days, they had sausages (2 types. The white one was so yum), 3 types of ham, swiss cheese, tomato/spinach and scrambled egg. The breads and cakes options were not bad either. They also have fresh fruits, which we do not see a lot in hotels in italy as they usually serve canned fruit. The health club looks very nice (will upload photos), too bad we didn't pack out bathing suits along. Service was excellent. We did not try to eat at the restaurant because we kept going to la trappola, restaurant around 700m away from the hotel, right opposite of Hotel Simplon, but i heard the food is good at the hotel's restaurant too.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We found the staff to be first rate and the hotel was absolutely stunning. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We stayed in a suite that was Palatial. The balcony was enormous and enjoyed breath-taking lake views. The entire hotel was spotless and beautifully furnished. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Our visit to the Hotel Splendid in Baveno (on gorgeous Lake Maggiore) was a perfect place to stop on our cartrip around Italy. The service was superb, the view of the lake spectacular. We missed a few things from our room like a mini-bar and bathrobes... Housekeeping took care of the bathrobes right away. Our meals were very nice.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in September 2014 for 2 nights while part of a Globus tour. The room was wonderful with a balcony overlooking the lake. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even though this is a luxury hotel they made us feel comfortable and welcome. Lunch out on the patio was particularly pleasurable. We appreciated the free Wifi so we could keep in touch with family at home.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel.
The best we had in our trip in Italy and maybe the best we ever been in.
It's looked like a palace and feel like. As you can guess It's extremely recommended.
The room, facilities , breakfast - all was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel Splendid several times and have never been disappointed. It is ideally situated on the shore of Lake Maggiore and a ten minute walk alongside the lake to the village centre and the charming art nouveau boat station. Boat services are frequent and excellent with travel across to the islands, to Stresa and other lakeside towns including Locarno in Switzerland. The views across the lake are glorious, taking in distant mountains and the Borromean Islands. The hotel is luxuriously appointed and is most comfortable. Rooms are well serviced and en suite facilities are excellent. We have always found the hotel staff to be welcoming, helpful and polite. The restaurant menu offers great choice of excellent freshly prepared food. We look forward to staying at the Hotel Splendid again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing across the lake offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Via Sempione, 12, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Family Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Baveno
Hotel Splendid Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.