We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione, 12, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very ostentatious hotel and in a great position and our room had a "splendid" view of the lake & the mountains.we only ate the breakfasts which were marvellous. I can't wait to go back. What else to say?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    81
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
133
4
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is very nice. I stayed there for a conference and is definetely pretty nice for that. I went in October so I couldn't enjoy the environment a lot as it was rainy always. However, the location is amazing. Great view of the lake (maybe as for a room with a view when you book, I was actually facing the road which is not very nice and sometimes noisy at night) and a very nice park just besides the hotel. The outside area has a lot of sitting to just be there enjoying the view and tranquility. I don't know how busy this gets in summer, but my guess is that too much.

I stayed three nights at this hotel, and I couldn't sleep properly. The mattress was too hard. But that's really the only bad thing I can say from the hotel. Unfortunately I didn't have time to try the health club but it certainly looked good. The price of the rooms, if I recall correctly, were between 80 and 300 euros (during high season).

The food that they served us was really tasty and I couldn't ask for anything else. The breakfast was a bit worse, as some morning we had bread that was a bit out of date.

In a nutsell, this was a pretty good hotel. Maybe a bit expensive, but all the hotels in the area are probably about that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the lake, or at least not facing the road if you can't deal with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Awesome breakfast spread & dinner was divine also. I loved that the doors opened up to that view each night & morning The hotel opulent decor & rich wall coverings are beautiful , great spa/health club. Beds& pillows could use an overhaul though to make it perfect

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had the privilege of spending two nights at this beautiful hotel while touring Italy. Luxury is an understatement!. The rooms were beautifully appointed and clean.
The magnificent views of the lake is breathtaking. Marble and crystal throughout.
Staff was friendly and accommodating, the bar area comfortable and inviting.

Situated in the little town of Baveno, the location was convenient for strolling and close to shops and a park where you can walk and enjoy the Italian surroundings

A great place to stay. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this hotel being on vacation without kids (a rare treat).
I was trying to find a good romantic place for us.The hotel itself is good: beautiful, directly on the lake, nice garden and swimming pool area.
The suite we had was gorgeous. The reception staff was friendly and helpful with answering questions, ordering taxi etc.
However the room service was rather mediocre, the bath area wasn't properly cleaned, toiletries and the empty kleenex box weren't replaced. The balcony area also wasn't visited by the cleaning lady a single time. The room also should require more attention for such a category of hotels to my opinion. May be the lady simply had her bad days?
We were also disappointed with the hotel restaurant. The view was great, and the vine choice was good. But there were no daily specials and the main dishes weren't good (we had cheaper and much better versions of meat and chicken and risotto in the places around). We dined twice and I actually regret it: we should have go to nearby Streza from the first night (and may be simply stay in a hotel there).
The Internet (for a fee) was terrible: slow, the connection was bad, which was stressful to my husband who had to work on vacation, and it delayed our departures for sightseeing. On a separate note, I was disappointed that there is no walking path from Baveno. You really have to take a boat or a cab if you want to reach an area where you have trails and roads suitable for pedestrians.

Room Tip: Our room was great, a corner suite on the second floor, #216
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a much needed break which fulfilled our need and exceeded our expectations. The hotel could not be faulted . Baveno is a lovely little town but there was a lack of variety in places to eat. The hotel restaurant is excellent but we do like to eat out when we are away. If you are willing to go into the next town of Stresa then there is a larger choice of restaurants. This was our first time in the Italian Lakes but will definitely go back. The scenery is stunning and it is so easy to get around the lake. Hotel Splendid definitely lives up to its name.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room as the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful elegant hotel with all the charms of Italy. Large outside area along the lake with plenty of seating on two levels (terrace and park area). Great outdoor furnishes and pool area which is all very well maintained. We stayed there for 3 days and didn't even mind being "rained" in one day taking full advantage of the elegant lobby and bar area...rooms were all fabulous, each with a small terrace and although we were on the street side (which still had fabulous views) once the patio doors were closed it was really quiet and comfortable. One thing we appreciated was the 5 English language tv channels which were available. Hotel restaurant was good although we found the waiters to be very snobby and curt...probably didn't like the fact that a tour group was staying at their upscale hotel. The only real super negative was the cost of Internet connection...at 5 euros per HOUR it was way over priced...no free wifi available anywhere in the hotel. But overall very classy hotel with lovely touches all around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.3 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#2 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#5 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.9 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#16 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Via Sempione, 12, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#3 Family Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Escapio, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Baveno
Hotel Splendid Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.