We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 5* Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Simplon to your Saves list
Hotel Simplon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Garibaldi 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic 5* Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our 4th floor room had a high step to get onto the balcony which I found difficult as I'm due for knee-replacement surgery this month. We mentioned this at Reception after dinner on our second evening; by the time we returned to our room after breakfast next day a low step-box had been made, painted & installed - no problems for me now!
At the same time we also mentioned to Receptionist Elena that the bath-towels were non absorbent, due to too much fabric conditioner being used. This combined with the typical Italian "tea-towel" style hand-towels, made it almost impossible to get dry after showering. Elena spoke to the laundry, & the towels became absorbent - but only for a couple of days, unfortunately! After that the laundry staff went back to their old ways of sloshing in the conditioner.
Otherwise an excellent stay even though we over-
ate thanks to the tempting spreads for the buffet-breakfasts & 5-course dinners,with Romano and Francesco keeping a highly professional eye on all the Ferrari trolley-drivers in the beautiful restaurant. They were very friendly, as were Receptionists Mette, Samantha & Elena, as well as our Chamber-maid Annalise & Bell-boy Marcello.
Thanks to everyone at the Hotel Simplon for a really enjoyable & memorable stay!

Room Tip: Room 416 on the 4th floor is a long way from the lift. The balcony is small (2 chairs, no table) &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    60
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
117
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from our second stay at the Simplon and even better than I remember it being from last year. The staff are all very helpful and it is located in Baveno which is a short boat trip from the islands and, I think, preferable to Stresa due to it being a little quiter.
Plus Points:
-Spotlessly clean
-Superb outdoor pool
-Helpful staff
-Elegant decor
-Use of the sister hotel's (Dino) indoor pool in case of bad weather (the Simplon is linked to the Dino via an amazing underground walkway lined with some impressive copies of famous paintings!!). Also the grounds of the Dino are worth a look at as they are by the lakeside and are perhaps more extensive than those of the Simplon). But staying at the Simplon is fine as you get to enjoy all this (including being able to put drinks and food directly on your room number at the Simplon).
-Excellent breakfasts and the new restaurant (last hall) located between the Dino and the Simplon is really worth trying and reasonably priced.

-Beautiful outdoor cafe area overlooking the pool area and lake.
-Sophisticated atmosphere without feeling uncomfortable bringing young children.

Downsides:
-It is really hard to fault the Simplon at all but the only tiny snag might be having to pay for use of the internet (beyond 120 free minutes) and the sauna and steam room at the Dino.

Overall and excellent stay and one of the very best in a hotel of its class.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel when celebrating a family wedding in Bavino. The hotel is immaculately clean and offers a five star service. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are pleasantly old fashioned. (Ours reminded us of the first class cabins on board Titanic)!! The hotel has a beautiful outdoor swimming pool set in lush gardens. The sister hotel (Dino) is accessible via an underground art gallery which is very spectacular and well worth a visit in itself. Guests can the use the facilities of both hotels and the Dino also boasts an indoor pool and two Jacuzzies. Unfortunately the Jacuzzies were unpleasantly crowded with children and we were surprised that a hotel of this standard and location didn't operate an adults only policy.
The hotel is a very short walk from the center of Bavino overlooking Lake Maggiore and in close proximity to reasonably priced cafes and restaurants. Drinks and meals in the hotel are pricey to say the least and you'll eat and drink far more reasonably at one of the nearby eateries. There is also a well stocked supermarket just across the road. The hotel states that there is a charge to access the wi-fi however we found that from our second day onwards we could access the wi-fi free of charge.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and wouldn't think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

stayed here for 11 nights. staff could not be faulted. we had a fantastic first floor lake view room with a huge terrace with sunbeds. my only complaints were that the shower screen leaked badly and there was really no English TV. We only did B & B as there were many good restaurants nearby and, although many reviews have praised the food at dinner, the price of drinks at this hotel was ridiculous. the cheapest bottle of wine was 27 euros and a small bottle of beer 5.50 euros. The bar was consequently usually deserted, a shame as it was very relaxing, Reception staff helped with booking restaurants and ordering taxis etc, so I would recommend this hotel highly, but not half board option.

Room Tip: ask for lake view first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We loved this hotel. It was old-fashioned in the best sense of the word. The breakfast was fabulous; the service impeccable. Baveno is a lovely, quiet town with good restaurants and easy access to the islands and other towns of Lake Maggiore.

Room Tip: We had a rio at the end of the lobby floor with a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A perfect hotel if you are looking for comfortable airconditioned accommodation in Baveno. A 5 minute walk to the lake and ferry terminal. Hotel has lovely gardens and pool. Was nice and quiet in June, just what was needed for a relaxing and destressing holiday. Hotel staff super courteous. Francesco in the dining area made me feel very welcome. Ceilings in this hotel are something else. Walls a little on the thin side in this classic old hotel, could hear bathtub filling and clearing next door, and the drainpipe outside my window was noisy at times, but there were a lot of evening storms and downpours. Despite the noise I still wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

July 2013 my wife and I stayed at the hotel Simplon in Baveno
The hotel was very well run, the staff were very nice, specially the waiters. The decor was a bit heavy, old Italian style for my taste but the beds were comfortable and the food was the best we've ever had in a hotel. The quality was second to none with everything you could think of for breakfast while the five course evening meal was amazing. The best of Italian food was served, all beautifully cooked and presented. A different meat dish each night without once serving chicken and my wife who doesn't eat meat had a different type of fish served every evening. It was faultless.
We were on the second floor and the view was over the dining room it was better on the third floor I think. It would have been nice to have tea making facilities in the rooms. Lovely pool and the use the facilities of two sister hotels in the area.
The bar was very expensive but there were plenty of small bars and restaurants a short downhill walk into Baveno which was a lovely little town with plenty of history and a landing stage to catch any of the many boat tours all around the beautiful lake Maggiore.
I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday in Italy and would certainly go for a return visit.

Room Tip: Third floor facing back over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Corso Garibaldi 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#2 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Simplon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.