We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Simplon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Simplon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Garibaldi 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Baveno
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Italian Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel has the lot,lake views ,gardens ,pool, with great staff. Bar with terrace at night is great for relaxing after a day out. But the best was the restaurant stayed on half board and the food was just great and plentiful and not cutting the quality. Fantastic week.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    58
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
108
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burnley
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Food, views great staff helpful and friendly but:
(a) took several days for my wifes gluten free requirements to be met even though we specifically mentioned these when booking via Thomson
(b) satellite TV did not have any English entertainment channels just news
(c) our mountain-view room was well furnished but very noisy particularly lateat night - not from the road but from the lift shaft nearby

Room Tip: Keep away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week in June. The room overlooked the lake and pool and gave stunning views of the mountains. The staff were all very friendly and the food delicious and varied during our stay. Such a relaxing week in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent a night here as prices seemed lower than in Stesa. The hotel is huge and the same company seems to own others in the town. We chose a lake view room which was worth-while as it was reasonably sized and had a good view over the gardens, pool, and lake and mountains beyond. Being such a huge place we were concerned that the restaurant might be mainly devoted to groups but my guess (having seen it in through the windows later) was that it might have been ok. In fact we dined at the Sottosopra nearby. The hotel charges for wifi but gave us a credit for online booking which covered this. There was parking in the grounds - fairly full but we found a place. The buffet breakfast was good, and at 7:30 we were the only ones taking it!

The oddest feature of the hotel is the connection to the Hotel Dino which is further along the street. There is a long tunnel lined with reproductions of mostly famous works of art, so called the gallery. It must be a few hundred metres long in total and cross under a couple of steets and several other properties. It must have been very expensive to create, but almost nobody except us was using it, and we only did it to explore the other hotel.

Room Tip: Lake-view rooms cost extra but probably worth-while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in at the Simplon in early September and could not fault the hotel.
All the staff were very friendly, and the food was of a very high standard and believe me you will not go hungry.
The room we had was on the 3rd floor and had wonderful views over the lake and you never got tired of waking up in the morning drawing back the curtains and looking out over the Lake.
The swimming pool although rather cold was lovely and clean and it was never busy around the pool.
The Ferry terminal was only a 5min walk from the hotel and from there you had many options of short trips and some further away.
The islands are only a 5min Ferry journey away and are well worth a visit to see the beautiful gardens.
We also did the Maggorie Express trip, which you can take a boat trip from Baveno into Switzerland and take a beautiful scenic train trip back into Italy and then a short train trip back to Baveno, you can also do the train first and take the boat back. One tip is if you take the scenic train first sit on the right or if taking it back sit on the left where the scenery is far better.
There are many other trips to do so you can do as much or as little as you want but all trips are quite leasurely.
You can also use the facilities at the sister hotel Dino which is connected by a walk way, they have a 25metre indoor and outdoor swimming pools.
The only complaint i would have was that they had a fantastic gym at the Dino that all could use but at 10euro's per visit i thought this was very steep and in fact i saw no one use the gym throughout my stay which was a shame, i am sure a token cost would attract at least a few people to use the great facilities.
All in all i would highly recommend a stay at the Simplon

Room Tip: Lake view rooms on the 3rd floor have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here with a tour group. The allocated hotel ran out of rooms so a few of us were moved to the Simplon next door. The staff at reception were adequate, but the rest of the hotel was great. Room gorgeous, beds comfy, great bathroom and beautiful views of the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Hotel Simplon. We travelled as a family, with two boys aged 12 and 15. Have mixed feelings about this hotel, some things were good, some not so good.
Hotel was clean, bedrooms spotless ,though beds were very hard and those rooms facing the road are noisy. Staff friendly and helpful, especially Head Waiter and all staff in the dining room.
However, we felt this was not a hotel for families with children. We had problems with the food, there was very little that the kids would eat, even though the food was very good, but there was not a great choice for children. After the second night, we asked the reception if the children could have something different and once this was requested the boys then had pizza , chips, chicken and ice cream, (thank you so much Francesco !!) but a children's menu should be provided as well as the main menu. There were very few families with children at this hotel, even in the evening the bars were deserted, might have been something to do with the prices - 8 euros for a pint of beer , a little bit too expensive for us and obviously other people agreed, saw very few people in the hotel in the evening. Our biggest "gripe" though was the pool - it was absolutely freezing, we only went in it one day and lasted 20 minutes , it was too cold to enjoy it and we spent all our "pool time" at the Hotel Dino where they had a heated indoor pool.
Pool and table tennis were free of charge which was good.
Trips - we booked the trip to Zermatt, which was a really good day and we visited Stresa and the Islands - all good, though the ferry was a little bit expensive, but all the ferries ran every 20 minutes or so, so it was a good way to get about.
Would we stay in this hotel again ? - probably not. Would not stay here with the children as there just wasn't enough to do and even if we were travelling as a couple, think it was just too quiet and lacked atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not facing the road. Rooms can be very noisy on this side. our first nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Corso Garibaldi 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#2 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Simplon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.