We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy is just Wow.... You have to take your loved one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Simplon to your Saves list
Hotel Simplon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Garibaldi 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Italy is just Wow.... You have to take your loved one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I intend to take my wife to this part very soon, as I was there on business, which wad nice but would be far better to just enjoy without work :) Hotel was connected underground to it's mother hotel which is right on the lake. The only grip I had was that the bar on the evening had zero ambiance, and was too bright! I was also told that our group was told to keep it down a bit (which was not a surprise) but pleased to say I was already in bed at that point!

The area is lovely, we had a boat ride to the island and eat dinner their one night. It was really amazing place.

Otherwise the rooms, staff and hotel was very good.

Room Tip: Stay at the mother hotel and ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    61
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
119
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic 10 night stay at The Simplon. As so many other people have said, it is difficult to find fault with this excellent hotel. It is elegant, exceptionally clean and very well maintained. The pool area and gardens are beautiful. All the reception and restaurant staff are very efficient, friendly and helpful. As others have said, the only slight negative is the price of drinks at the bar. We paid €10 for a gin and tonic. The 5 course dinner menu is €35 which is quite pricey, but well worth it. The menu changes each day and the hors d'oeuvres buffet and selection of desserts are amazing!
The 2-day Lake Maggiore Express ticket is well worth purchasing. It costs €40 and includes one day's travel by panoramic train into Switzerland and back by boat from Locarno. The second day is unlimited ferry travel on the lake.The Simplon is about 5 minutes walk from the ferry terminal. Other amenities including restaurants, shops, the post office and a supermarket are all close by.
We would love to return to The Simplon sometime soon and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: We didn't want to pay the extra for a garden view and had a standard room (312) which faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at this beautiful hotel.As we booked the hotel seperately we took the Airport bus which runs every 2 hours from Malpensa Airport to the Lake Area at a cost of 12 euros each.It took an hour and 10 minutes and dropped us off in the centre of Baveno and the hotel was only a 2 minute walk away.All very easy and convenient. The staff are a credit to the chain and so efficient.Although our family room was on the road side of the hotel there was no disdurbance from the busy traffic outside.
The pool area is stunning and surrounded by pretty gardens.As we were on bed and breakfast basis , we ate out mostly and we found the prices to be quite reasonable .We visited Stresa twice , 10 minutes on the local bus 1.20 euro each. The last bus ,though, is 7.30pm either way so that means a taxi home at a cost of 15 euro. However, dining in Stresa gives more options and there is a lovely outdoor square with many eateries.
The supermarket ,on the corner opposite the hotel, is open every day and is very convenient for drinks and snacks.
The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the drinks and evening meal at the hotel are so expensive but I would definitely return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms are quiet when the windows are closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from a 10 night stay at this great hotel and it would be difficult to find fault although I agree with other reviewers that drinks were expensive. Also one other negative point was the cost to use the gym at the hotel dino. The location is excellent for the ferry stop to the islands and other towns on the lake. There is a supermarket close by also.
The hotel has a very welcoming and relaxed atmosphere thanks to the wonderful staff who were all helpful and very friendly.
We had evening meal included which consisted of 5 delicious courses, not good for diets , although for those who can resist temptation there was a good selection of salad and fruit.
The pool was a good size and there were always free sun loungers. The tunnel leading to hotel dino was worth visiting for the excellent selection of paintings by famous artists.
I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to lake maggiore.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great hotel, food outstanding, linked to the Grand Dino hotel next door which comes under the same owners which was outstanding in terms of a lakeside hotel. Drinks at dinner and snacks very expensive but staff were outstanding, so friendly. The Simplon is the smallest of the other 3 hotels on the lake which come under the same group but very clean, great pool too. The town of Baveno has little going on compared to Stresa a few miles down the lake side but buses are very cheap to get about but the ferries are very expensive by comparison to the buses. Franchesco one of two head waiters is such a nice man and always smiling and greets guests like long lost friends.

Room Tip: Book rooms that face the pool/lake and book a mezzanine room for space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this simply fantastic hotel in the small village of Baveno. It is very difficult to criticise since the whole experience was so good. The front of house staff were all excellent and would do anything to make our stay more comfortable. The room was spacious and very clean. It had a large comfortable bed and good sized bathroom, which had a bath and powerful shower head and a bidet. Our small balcony overlooked the gardens and a view of the lake, it was a perfect setting for our holiday. There was also a much needed air conditioning system that worked well with the sun and heat outside.
The food was excellent. Breakfasts were a buffet affair with lots of choice and dinner was even better. A five course meal starting with a self serve starter buffet and then two courses served by the excellent waiters and waitresses, followed then by cheese and dessert, again self serve. There was no rush and it was a pleasure to eat good food, well prepared and presented and served in a most relaxed atmosphere. The only issue was the price of the wine/water etc. A bit pricey but there was a small bottle of wine alternative for people who did not want to have to drink the amount from a full sized wine bottle. Every room had its own table that stayed the same throughout the stay so no need to change tables at every meal.
Outside was equally good. The pool was lovely with a jacuzzi at one end and four seats at the other. The depth of the pool was ideal for both swimmers and non-swimmers alike. There was also a smaller pool for children. There were plenty of sun beds and parasols available. Free pool towels were available from reception. The gardens were well kept (even after the massive storm that swept through the resort, felling trees and uprooting foliage).
There was a bar/lounge which opened onto the terrace, but unfortunately was rarely used.
As others have said there is a tunnel linking the Hotel Simplon with it's sister hotel the Hotel Dino. Well worth a walk through to admire the art work.
The Hotel Simplon is a lovely hotel, well worth its 4 star rating. Decorated with fabric panelled walls and red and pink local marble. The hotel caters for all nationalities. When we were there there was English, French, German, USA and Italian customers and most staff were able to speak at least two languages and communication was not difficult as it can sometimes be. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back so ask for one of these rooms. Better views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed at the Simplon for ten days everything about it was marvellous.The food was fantastic
and plentiful there was so much choice at the buffet breakfast.The menu for the Evening meals was good and there was a good dessert choice which is self service. The tunnel from the Simplon to the Dino is worth a look at. The drinks are expensive for a small bottle of water and a draught beer came to 12 Euro . Baveno itself is small just a few bars and not many shops but if you are looking for somwhere quiet then Baveno is the place for you.
There is a good and cheap supermarket just at the top of road from the Simplon hotel.
There are plenty of places to visit in the area and there is a good bus service. If you go on the Lake Maggiore Express then I would advice you to sit on the righthand side of the train because after about half'n'hour the best scenery is on that side also I would pay the extra 8 euro's and get a rover ticket for the ferry to use either the day before or the day after. The Isola Bella ,Isola Pescatori and Isola Madre are all worth a Visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Corso Garibaldi 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#2 Family Hotel in Baveno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Simplon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.