We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Dino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Garibaldi, 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Baveno
Leighton Buzzard
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Quiet Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Oh what bliss: No kids club, no organised activities at the pool, just masses of free sun loungers and a usable pool. Admittedly we were there before all the schools broke up for the holidays but I think that this is probably a little off the beaten track.
The rooms were of a good size and comfortable, ours looked towards the mountains at the back. The views over the lake from the bar and dining room veranda are stunning.
The food is plentiful and good quality, the waiters and bar staff made us very welcome and everyone spoke good English.
There is not a lot to do in the local area but the hotel is next to the ferry station and close to the train station so expeditions can be organised such as a trip up a mountain in a bucket lift in Laveno, or a train ride around the lake which includes entering Switzerland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have stunning views across the lake, but at sunset thousands of insects appear ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    173
    35
    26
    12
See reviews for
84
172
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was here on a business trip and really it was very good in all regards, except of course (being Italy where they don't understand the concept) breakfast - which was truly abysmal. The conference facilities felt late 90's and as such modern and well maintained. The main hotel was very "old world/old money" - oozing privilege and in the wrong hands disregard for the rest o the world it seldom sees or hears. I felt this was in the right hands however and they new the market and also appreciated their staff. Pool was wonderful. Class act overall and if your work conference is here be thankful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

everything was fine: there is a inside swimming pool and an outside swimming pool. The Hotel has goot every service you need. The Hotel staff was pleasant and friendly.The Location is great and very good for trips to the rest of the Lake. I would recommend this hotel to anybody interested in a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here 1 night, however, the hotel is fabulous and staff friendly. Rooms are quite big and the views over the lake from our room were amazing. A beautiful place to visit. Breakfast was typically Italian. Only a couple of suggestions, free Wifi should be provided to guests as well as laundry services within the hotel. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Leitrim, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had the reception of our wedding at the Grand Hotel Dino on 14th June 2013 and the only word to describe it was amazing. We initially viewed the Hotel 12 months previous and met with the Food and Beverage manager Giuseppe Pavan who also takes care of the weddings. From the moment we met Giuseppe his efficiency and helpfulness made us decide on Hotel Dino as our chosen destination.

We communicated through email with Giuseppe and he was fantastic. We had over 90 guests travelling from Ireland and we had absolutely no problems with the hotel. To organise a wedding in Italy, all the way from Ireland, we thought was going to be a difficult task but with the help of Giuseppe it was made easy. The hotel staff were so helpful and Gabrielle at reception was fantastic also helping us in any way possible.

On arrival from the church we had a beautiful aperitif in the garden. We then proceeded to the dining hall for dinner. Each course was delicious. The dining staff very extremely attentive and everything was prompt and ran extremely smoothly. We then cut the cake out in the garden which was incredible and one of the biggest cakes I have ever seen. This was also organised through Giuseppe and our guest are still talking about our amazing cake!! We then went inside to dance the night away.

Everything on our wedding day organised by Hotel Dino was done with precision. Everything is perfection. The table dressings at the reception are also beautiful and the room is made feel very comfortable. We were so happy with the service we got from the Hotel and Giuseppe on our very special day and would highly recommend it as an ideal wedding reception. Our guests were also so impressed and amazed at hotel on the day. We also hope to spend our anniversaries at the hotel in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

the place is ok overprice a bit a room with a view will cost you extra like 50 dollars extra room are on the small side, the food is a seven out of ten ,breakfast good but a bit on the prized side about $18 , HALF OR LESS FOR CHILD STAF not up to what you expect, the décor good the surrounding top of the line for Italy We there for 5 days would I go back there I do not think so many choice in that part of Italy as far as hotels the weather just about perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Unfortunately we were in a group of 20 staying at the Dino for 3 nights and were at all times treated with disdain by the staff - but in particular by the Reception. We seemed to be a nuisance at all times. The food served to the group was very poor, except for some passable pasta.
Our room, booked in advance, had a lake view (50 euro extra) thank goodness. Single rooms are really small.Because the cost was bundled into the total trip costs, I don't know if it was at a cheap rate - I suspect not. If you do stay there, do not request anything from Reception!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Address: Corso Garibaldi, 20, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Baveno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Dino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.