We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening at La Trappola” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Trappola

La Trappola
Corso Garibaldi, 77, Baveno, Italy
+39 0323.923193
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 29 restaurants in Baveno
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening at La Trappola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went for a meal here at 7.30pm and the restaurant was already quite busy even at that time! But in spite of how full the restaurant was a waiter came over straight away as soon as we walked in. We ordered drinks first and we decided to order the mushroom risotto. We were told by the waiter that it would be a while as it was cooked freshly. That was not a problem and the risotto was delicious when it arrived. For our main courses we had lasagne and swordfish with chips and vegetables. The swordfish was very tasty the only slight criticism was that the chips were frozen chips but this did not spoil the meal in any way. After our meals we were too full for dessert but we had wine and water with the meal and the whole thing came to around 55 euros. The menu at La Trappola is quite extensive so there should be something here for everyone and there was a nice atmoshpere about the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    30
    26
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
north devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have been many times over the last few years and enjoyed our meals but this time was not good. nearly empty apart from a few locals until a "coach party" arrived. Carpaccio not very good and our Pizzas were so tough and tasteless. Not as it used to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“When in Baveno, and need pizza...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A good choice, this one. The owner doesn't miss any opportunity to make some business and doingthat gives you some very good choices to fill your stomach. We were a noisy group and got the 10+ orders quite quickly with a service, even though some of the people were very "picky" and needed portions 100% tailored to them.
My pizza fell to the fantasy side here, and I really had to fantasize the salami on the pizza because it was missing. But, decent food here, and even some fellow tourists and maybe one local.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
“Great pizza's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was very surprised to see this restaurant empty when we visited but don't let this put you off, the pizza's are great! We went twice for lunch and took a long time to decide as they have such a big range. The calzone pizza's are huge and I would recommend trying one! Friendly service and very reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was my first visit to La Trappola although I had heard about it as my husband has been many times with his work. It didn't disappoint, we got a great welcome, much appreciated since it was pouring with rain that evening. The menu has something for everyone, we had pasta followed by lake perch which was so delicate and really tasty. I'd definitely eat there if I went back to Baveno. Grazie!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trappola also viewed

Baveno, Lake Maggiore
Baveno, Lake Maggiore
 
Baveno, Lake Maggiore
Baveno, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to La Trappola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trappola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.