We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paid as 4 stars, feels like a cheap hostel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mavino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mavino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mavino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Piana, 17, 25019 Sirmione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 67 hotels in Sirmione
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“paid as 4 stars, feels like a cheap hostel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel staff was incredibly useless while they didn't even do their elementary job- notifying us regarding the car entrance restrictions at Sundays, of which consequently we arrived back from our day tour at the wrong hour, and couldn't get in the city center with our car. Had to look for parking out of the city a nightmare which lasted for almost an hour! Not only that, even after we turned their attention to their mistake and notified them that we are going out again at the evening they didn't even bother to give us an entrance certification which appeared as required and resulted in additional inconvenience with the officers at the city gate.
We were promised to have a lake view but instead we had a blocked view (pics attached).
When we asked whether we could change the room we received a weird answer saying that the guests at floor zero complains regarding the noise from street and those from the 2nd floor complains about the noise from the breakfast which is taking place on the 2nd floor and we are lucky to have the room in the 1st floor. Pretty ridicules..
The room was relatively small but the most inconvenient was the shower. It's so small that they didn't even left the option to close it and consequently one has to make a huge effort not to spread water all over the floor. Obviously it's impossible and after making a shower you end up with flooding. Is this what you expect when staying in 3 starts hotel?
Breakfast is poor. The boiled eggs are absolutely decayed! (pics attached). In addition the coffee is a cheap machine coffee with milk substitutes- very bad!
The tables are so small that one can barely put his two elbows on top. As i said, feels like cheap hostel.
Unsurprisingly, the Internet isn't for free.
Parking lot is about 10 minutes walking from the hotel. No assistance is offered at arrival, despite the fact we mentioned we have 2 suitcases.
The only good think I can say about this hotel is it's location (debatable). on one hand it's right in the center of the historical center of the small town which could be an advantage, but on the other hand, it's very difficult to reach with a car as one has to route his way through hundreds of people in narrow streets.
BTW, this whole "pleasure" costs 118 Euros per night.
Overall, value for money is from the lowest we came accross with.
My tip, save your money and energy, stay out of sirmione, sleep outside.
Thanks,
Zahi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    93
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
84
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Me and my fiancee were in this hotel 4 days in July 2011.
The biggest plus is definitely the hotel location, immediately followed by the hospitality and friendliness of staff. The only minus to mention it goes - especially for the Italian situation - very bad coffee at breakfast.
Destination and the hotel we found through SiteTalk Travel (www.sitetalk.com / WillySLO).
Sirmione is a beautiful but very (really) expensive. For example - a large beer (Birra Grande): 7.5 €.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonte Boa, AM
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Mavino at the beginning of October 2010. We came to Sirmione by car. The access of the city is only permitted for residents and hotel guests. When we arrived, our name was already registered on the control office and a sympathetic policeman opened the city gates for us. Sirmione is beautiful and Hotel Mavino is located in the center, in a prime location. The front desk staff was very friendly, giving us all the information we had to know about the city and its stunning surroundings. The room was great, clean, fragrant and well equipped. Parking is a bit far, in the courtyard of an inactive hotel blocks away. But, beyond the tours around Lake Garda, the use of the car is absolutely unnecessary in Sirmione. Moreover, it is worth the walk to the parking lot, because the scenery is breathtaking. The breakfast is satisfactory. We intend to return to Sirmione some day to explore other nearby cities we did not have time to visit. Sure we will choose Hotel Mavino to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

When staying in Sirmione I suppose there are two points to consider first - time of year and whether to stay on the old town side of the draw bridge or outside. I imagine visiting Sirmione at the height of the season would be a terrible experience - the streets are narrow and even in October it was fairly busy. the area before the drawbridge is modern and anonomous- you really could be anywhere. However it all changes once you see the Old Fort by the drawbidge - then you are in the delightful old town. Cobbled streets- opening out with views of the lake, many hotels, restaurants, expensive shops, ice creams,old churches etc.
Hotel is at the far end of the old town- so very convenient for the town, ferry , restaurants fort and walks. Its also not very far from the spa and its an easy walk to the the Grotto of Catullo- not to be missed.
We had a second floor room with a balcony and view of the lake - essential and the view was much better than some of the more expensive hotels could offer. The room was simple and very clean. It had a pitched roof, lined with wood. The bathroom was small with one of those stupid showers with no door - so easy to flood!
I guess the bad points centre around aspects of the room. I have already mentioned the bathroom - add to that the pitiful bathroom goodies - basic to say the least - bring your own. the walls are paper thin and the first two nights were greatly distrubed by the person next door snoring - its bad enough with husband snoring - at least I could kick him!!!!! The third night was equally noisey because an Italian man two rooms along had the TV on a full blast resulting people banging on the walls - fortunately the night porter sorted this out.Although the street below was pretty quiet in the evening - with the window open you could hear people talking - didnt bother us. The dining room was on the floor above and we could here the chairs scrapping on the floor for some of the very early breakfasters - again not a real problem. The breakfast - possibly the worst coffee and juice ever encountered- however there was fresh fruit, croissants, ceral, bread, rolls, meat , cheese - and we managed fine - always took some bread rolls to feed the ducks on the lake!!
The ladies on the desk were very friendly and helpful - a request for more pillows was no problem and they were helpful about getting to Verona and dealing with taxis - the only things we asked them about.
For Verona - get a bus from the other side of the drawbridge - the ticket office and post office are right there. The Tourist office had one of the most unhelpful people I have ever come across - so give that a miss! Takes about an hour to get to Verona- we did two city bus tours that day - its a joint ticket with your own headphones which you take on both buses- valid for 24 hours. If you only have time to do one - I recommend the B tour which includes a stop to get out and take photos above the city. You can hop on and off at any of the stops but there are not many buses - so watch the time so you dont miss the bus back to Sirmione. If you want a taxi - its easier to walk to the bust stop area outside the drawbridge and pick up one there than order from your hotel.
Boat trips on the lake are easy - there are some private tours but we just used the ferry - check you times carefully - they dont all come back to Sirmione!
I would probably use this hotel again - the good points - location , view etc outweigh some of the bad ones. But I would be very careful about the time of year- also its an expensive area.I have no idea who the shops are aimed at since if you are flying in on a budget airline to Bergamo - you dont really have much of a luggage allowance.
We used the train to get to Sirmione from Bergamo- straight forward and reasonally cheap - however taxi from the station at Desenzano was 24Euros
dont forget to have an ice cream and spritz aperol

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Hotel Mavino is a three star hotel built four years ago, well situated away from the tourist end of Sirmione. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The Breakfast Room is in the roof of the hotel and can be cramped with a large group eating all at once but the continental breakfast is good. We were part of a group of 36 who travelled to Lake Garda by train.

Our room looked over the street but because there is very little traffic it was very quiet.
I would use this hotel again if I returned to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The hotel was clean and the service was friendly, but in my opinion these should be standard as opposed to something to rave about (especially when you are paying over the odds in August). In fairness, the location of the hotel in relation to Sirmione was good, but I wouldn't choose to stay in the town again - it is a huge tourist trap with over-inflated prices for bad accommodation and average-poor food. In short I couldn't escape the feeling we were being consistently ripped off. Our room was noisy (we could hear everyone around us) and the breakfast was awful (weak orange squash as opposed to fresh orange, stale cereal, bad coffee from a machine... you get the picture....). I am not a fussy person; I have stayed in what some would describe as atrocious places (including the middle of a war zone) and been perfectly happy with where I was staying - my issue is with value. The more I think about how much we paid, the more and more angry I get; needless to say, being spineless brits we just 'put up and shut up'. If you're paying more than £70 per room per night for this place, you're paying way over the odds.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Room fine, breakfast poor, lovely staff - very friendly...But vastly overpriced for the standard, priced at 4* level, in reality more like a 2*.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mavino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mavino

Address: via Piana, 17, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 hotels in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mavino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mavino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavino Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Mavino Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mavino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.