We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Tired Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione

Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione to your Saves list
Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Marconi, 31, 25019 Sirmione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location - Tired Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Hotel is well located but in need of refurbishing, the rooms were a good size but felt dingy and unwelcoming. Furnishings were dated and carpet in our room was stained. However the sheets and towels were always clean and fresh. The bathroom was fine apart from the seemingly obligitory broken shower head bracket. Beds were comfortable, we were disappointed not to have Tea Making facilities in the room though. The pool was OK, but the pool surrounding area is very small (room for a sunbed at either end but only about 18 inches along the length of the pool on the far side), views from here were good. The pool walls were also badly stained all around where the water level meets the pool walls. No facilities for Snacks or Drinks at the pool area. The staff in the hotel were friendly, especially the breakfast waiter who went out of his way to be pleasant, (incidently, there are more rooms than tables in the breakfast room, so you could be kept waiting for a table). the receptionists were very nice apart from one who often appeared to be arguing with other guests when I visited reception. Overall, hotel is fine if you're after a good location and somewhere to sleep, but not if you're after a bit of luxury.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    17
    9
    13
See reviews for
11
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

The Lonely Planet promised lake views from every room so we booked a 145 Euro room from Treviso. We arrived and found No views and that the place was falling apart, no lights worked in the room. So we moved. Again no lake views and again, some (but not all) lights not functioning. For such a light and beautiful place (Sirmione) the room and entire facility were dark and depressing. There are 1980s key card consoles installed outside of each room but they were somehow abandoned so one is given a key for the room and a laminated card for the thingy one normally inserts their hotel key card into to turn on the lights. During a haircut with the local barber we learned the the owner had had a family crisis a year ago (which is awful) and since then has let the place go. I would not stay here again.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Stayed one night, decent room, nice balcony, poor breakfast with terrible juice, parking charge, rooftop pool with view of lake. All OK, with good position to walk to restaurants.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2004

I agree with the previous two comments regarding the hotel. It's not 4*, 3 at best. The rooms are fine, fresh towels and bed change each day however no tea/coffee making facilities so if you like a cuppa advise to take travel kettle. The balcony we had does need a really good clean down on the table, chairs and the outside light was covered in bugs, alive and dead. You cannot see the lake due to the mature trees on the other side of the road, only glipses of the lake through the trees. Satellite TV for english speaking had BBC World and a music channel only, the radio over the bed didn't work. The terrace on the ground floor was in a bad state, chairs and tables strewn alover and in different colours, the fountain wasn't working and was very dirty, very uninviting. The pool terrace was better again a good power wash needed on all loungers however the pool water was clean. Breakfast is continental and more could have been made of the food and I agree with the comment re fruit cocktail from a tin. The waiting staff however were polite. Reception was ok, depended on who was on duty, I asked for my room key and a coffee and felt like I was interrupting at times however generally ok. There was no atmosphere in the hotel generally. The location though is excellent for the old town 5 min walk and your at the moat.

Sirmione however is lovely and would stay there again but hesitant to stay at this hotel due to the price of staying. We overlooked the front however if you have a room facing the back there is a coach park and a disused rotunda resturant which is an eye-sore. We found the cheapest place for bottled water + sodas was the shop on the premises of the hotel.
If you want a good steak we recommend Piccolo Castle which is to the right when you pass through the moat. Ice cream parlours were good and the food ok. Lovely atmosphere in the evening with swans in the moat and great for families. No nightlife just resturants where you could sit and 'people watch' with a nice bottle of wine. The ferry to Desenzano is €10.40 return for 2 adults and a market is there Tuesday mornings. Tourist information is just before the castle where you can get maps to vineyards, attractions etc.

To sum up, would definately go back however maybe not to the Baia blu hotel. You will find many hotels within the old town area which is why the £ will be more, some looked quite run-down but cannot comment on the interior.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2004

Just returned from a week in Sirmione & already we have planned to return to this charming town next year. We stayed in the Baia Blu hotel and would not recommend this hotel it should be rated 3*- it is drab with no atmosphere, the pool area could do with a good power wash and the rest of the hotel needs to be decorated. We were also disappointed with the breakfast tinned fruit served in a country where fresh fruit is in abundance
Hotel Baia Blu is not a 4* hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2004

Just returned from 4 nights in Lake Garda. The area was absolutley wonderful with some stunningly beautiful places to visit of which Sirmione ranked for us in the top 3. Plenty for children with swimming in the lake, Garda Land and the Acqua Park.

The Baia Blu was a little dissapointing and we felt that it should be rated more a good 3 star than a 4 star. Our room was quite a good size and looked out over the lake - albeit through a slightly derelict old rotunda restaurant on the lake and over a coach park.

The corridors leading to the room were all a bit scuffed and needed a coat of paint. The room could also do with some decoration and a very good clean. the first night we found ants in the bathroom and the main light was full of dead mosquitoes. We asked for these to be removed and the next day they were taken out.

The room was decorated in shades of blue but very poorly lit and the balcony was unwelcoming.

The airconditioning in the room was adequte but never quite cold enough.

Breakfast was standard continental, rolls croisants, hot chocolate etc.

Parking was an extra 10 euros a day although free parking in front of the hotel for 6 cars. The staff were very friendly but there knowledge of the local area and things to do was not easily given and really they could do with a little more local knowledge.

The reception area was also a little dissapointing and could do with a general tidy up with old brown leather chairs with greasy patches on them.

The pool was on the roof and overal very clean but a little small.

Generally I could only recommend staying here if it was cheap (it was not for us). The hotel really is looking a little worn and could do with an update. However it is only a five minute walk to Sirmione castle and old town with lots of very nice restaurants and shops. Worth also taking a look at the Roman villa, but do take the little train as the walk in the heat is very deceptive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2004

The Baia Blu Hotel is quite nice. The name rings true in that the whole hotel is done in shades of blue. It is very pretty and relaxing.

The bed was very comfortable and I was impressed that they set up a real twin sized bed for my little one. Other hotels had given her a cot. The rooms are large and clean. The bathrooms are the same and include shampoo, soap & shower caps along with ample towels that were large and soft. The AC worked.

The view was ok but not great since it was blocked by trees and other buildings. My in-laws had a room on the opposite side and the view was better but again partially blocked by some sort of building right on the lakefront.

The breakfast was wonderful. A large selection of cereal, yogurt, rolls, fresh fruits, meats and cheeses was available. You also had a choice of hot tea, coffee and juice.

The staff was helpful but did not go out of their way to help. No offer was even made to carry our luggage up to the rooms. We were told where to park and left on our own. Parking cost 10.00 euros. The maids were quiet and did not disturb you with talking or loud noises. A double room cost 120 euros a night.

The biggest problem was the patio area not being fully equipped with tables and chairs. The front patio had tables and chairs that needed a good cleaning. They were covered with dirt and spiderwebs. The back patio had a swing but no tables or chairs. The fountain was not working and it just looked sad. The stairway up to the pool, which is on the roof, was also dirty.

We were in Sirmione in July and the hotel seemed like it was shutting down for the season.

I would love to see the hotel like it is shown on the brochures instead of the slightly neglected sight we found.

This hotel is rated 4 stars but the small problems we found with no or dirty patio furniture and employee staff made this an ok hotel but not a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione

Address: Viale Marconi, 31, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia Blu Sirmione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.