We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Punta Staffalo, 7 / 9, 25019 Sirmione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent a week here as part of a tour group with Great Rail Journeys. The hotel has a great location right on the lake with a lovely pool area and thermal spa though the sulphur smell of the pool can be a bit overpowering at times. The rooms are fairly Spartan with hard beds, poor hairdryers and no little niceties such as toiletries, slippers etc. We unfortunately had the smallest balcony of the group and could only just squeeze the two of us out there with the small table & two chairs. Also, thought the rail was a bit low and considering the hotel takes dogs, a dog could slip through the gap between the two corner screens. The automatic awning was very welcome however and we did have partial lake views. The free Wifi was much appreciated. As part of a group I feel we were treated like second class citizens with long waits at dinner time and the Hungarian waitress was particularly brusque. The bar lady (older woman with glasses) made it clear she had no time for us and often wandered away for ages. Breakfast was excellent, dinners were fairly good though having to choose your dinner at breakfast time was a bit annoying. The a la carte lunch and dinner menus were good. The Head Waiter and hotel staff coped very well when a woman in our group was unfortunately taken ill at breakfast and immediately called the emergency services and arranged taxis to the hospital etc. They also showed great tact and sympathy for the bereaved. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our week and would definitely return to Sirmione but think we would try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 203 with the miniscule balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncontinental, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our Hotel and for your positive comments about our recently opened thermal pool. However I must deny your considerations regarding different "class" treatments we reserve to our Guests: first and second class denominations belong to train carriages or aeroplanes, certainly not to our Hotel!
As you said, you were part of a Group and when booking a group holiday you shouldn't aspect to be treated like an individual, independent customer, who is travelling as a couple or in a smaller party of 3 or four persons. Considerably large groups can have a negative impact in a small hotel like ours and therefore my staff and myself are constantly trying to minimize such effects, keeping the service on a high standard for all our Clientele and doing our best to make all customers feel happy in a pleasant place with a relaxed holiday atmosphere. Minor quibbles - such as the lack of slippers or choosing your dinner at breakfast - are part of your deal....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in early September for our honeymoon. Everything was absolutely superb and we had a wonderful relaxing time.

Room - we booked directly with the hotel and having read reviews were able to identify that we'd like to be at the front of the hotel with full lake view. We requested this and was confirmed, no problem by the manager. We had room 315, top floor at the front of the hotel and it was a blissful retreat from the bustle of Sirmione. It felt newly refurbished, we had a large balcony with table and chairs plus sun loungers. Plus bathrobes and slippers - perfect for 'lounging'!

Food - we didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we prefer to head out and try different places but the menu did look appetising. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake each day was a delight with plenty of variety. You can have whatever type of coffee you fancy and there is enough variety in the buffet to have something different each day if you want. Everything was very high quality - fruit salad was fresh and boiling your own eggs was a nice touch. We also had a few drinks at the pool which always came with some nibbles too - perfect for a mid afternoon refreshment (try an Aperol Spritz!)

Staff - the staff really made this hotel. All super friendly and attentive but not 'in your face' meaning that we felt able to really relax. In particular we were impressed that while we were having breakfast each morning our room was serviced by the time we returned - given that we didn't tend to linger more than half an hour over breakfast this was either tremendous luck over 8 nights or they were making sure to fit in around our routine. The room was also refreshed each evening while we were out for dinner with fresh towels, bed turn down etc. Really lovely touch.

Pool - the pool area is excellent - we dreamed of being able to lie out in the sun with an uninterrupted view of the lake and this came true! I don't think any other hotel in Sirmione offers the same quality of deck area to relax on along with a lovely pool and the added bonus of the thermal pool which was a real treat. We also swam from the pier in the lake.

Spa - absolutely top quality - as good as any spa I've been to before and we hadnt really realised it was there when we booked. We had a lovely time one afternoon when it was more cloudy using the relaxation room, sauna, steam room, bucket shower and rain showers along with the outdoor thermal pool. We used it a couple of other times and were really surprised that no one else seemed to be taking advantage - not that we minded!

Location - brilliant - beyond the main hubbub of Sirmione it's amazing that only 5 minutes away from the crowds you can find such peace. We arrived by train from Venice to Desenzano then got a taxi to the 'gate' of the castle which cost 20euros. from here it was an easy 5 min walk through sirmione to get to the hotel - even with suitcases - perhaps easier than getting through with a car! We went to the ruins at the end of the penninsula which were excellent for 4euro and also climbed the tower of the castle which was worth it for the views. Day trips on the ferry are also really easy as the dock is so closeby.

The hotel wifi was free and a nice thing to have - don't expect many english TV channels on TV, not that you'll be wanting to watch it!

All in all we couldn't have asked for anything more from our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a peaceful lakeside holiday with wonderful food and drink and plenty of things to do around the area.

Room Tip: Room 315 was lovely - newly redecorated, loungers on the balcony and great views. No noise from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great hotel with added benefit of new outdoor thermal pool linked to the thermal spa on lake Garda situated next door. Excellent breakfast, attentive staff, superb facilities, well located and excellent VFM. Only quibbles - and these are minor - was the bathroom layout and the "eggy" smell of the thermal pool, but this should not put you off staying. Cannot fault the staff - professional and friendly. Spot on with the right touch. It was also great to have a dedicated car park at the hotel. We drove to Sirmione and arrived along with several thousand tourists. Having a dedicated car parking space on the peninsula at the hotel was great. Driving on Sirmione is an interesting experience with stiff competition from walkers to maintain a presence on the road. Overall, looking forward to going back when ospreys next play in Italy and will make a beeline here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what can I say about our stay here. Superb hotel matched by superb service. This hotel is just past the very busy Main Street through Sirmione. Very busy tourist environment but this hotel is in a quiet position , on the shores of Lake Garda . A ferry from Sirmione takes you all round lake Garda from top to bottom. Hotel puts on an excellent breakfast which can be taken on the outside terrace. Dinner is served in a large room. Staff very attentive. Very varied menu consisting of 5 courses. Something different every night. Rooms are large and most have a lake view. The better rooms are on the front with a full view of the lake. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here. We had eight wonderful nights and certainly will be returning.
Many thanks to all the staff at The Continental for making our stay such a pleasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for ten nights for our honeymoon late August early September - we booked through Inghams and were not disappointed!

Hotel room - very spacious, we were on the top floor with a lake and pool view, the room looked like it had been refurbished in the past year or so, and it had wifi. Bathroom was plenty big enough.

Hotel staff - the service was excellent, I can't praise it enough, especially the restaurant staff, the waitress even remembered which drinks we liked. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the maids did a fantastic job.

Food - we thought the food was very good, the choice was really good and the quality was some of the best we have had in a hotel. There was a starter from the kitchen, then a pasta or soup dish, then you main meal followed by dessert and / or the cheese trolley which we loved! There was also a salad bar. Vincent the head waiter was excellent, he had his eye on everything, the service was very efficient. Lunch was a little overpriced, eg 13 euro for a club sandwich and didn't seem as good, but I think we only felt let down by this as the food at night was so good. Every night we looked forward to seeing the menu, we didn't eat outside the hotel at night once.

Hotel facilities - the pool and thermal spa pool are faultless! And it was always so peaceful by the pool, plenty of beds, amazing views of the lake, and just soooooo relaxing!! The spa downstairs is equally as good, this is new and not many guests seemed to use it, I've no idea why as it was such a treat to go and use it at the end of the day. Again, all were very clean.

Location - just a five minute walk from the main square, away from all the noise and crowds, but perfect for an evening stroll.

Sirmione - loved it! There is lots to do, more than other resorts we think (and we have visited most of them). You can spend hours at the ruins, and also the castle it worth a visit. You can go on a boat trip around the report which was fun. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants, we had a few nice lunches out. Good shops, not the usual tourist tat. Took about 40 mins from the airport. Great for excursions too, we seemed to be the last pick up and first drop off.

Excursions - we went to lake Iseo, the do,omitted and wine tasting (with the rep in Sirmione) - we thought all represented great value. The Dolomites were breathtaking.

Lake garda - all the reports are beautiful, and accessible by boat. The prices seemed to have gone up though.

Age rage tended to be 40+ , we are early, 30's but this didn't bother us.

We would recommend this to anyone, and also found Inghams very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Staying here now it's a wonderful hotel service impeccable views to die for right on the lake
They have a new spa pool looking out over the lake which is fantastic, staff are very helpful food excellent the gardens are very well kept and the lacation is so peaceful will come back here for sure

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is our second holiday at this hotel as we visited in may about 3 years ago .On arrival I was pleasantly surprised that manager recognised us and gave us a warm welcome. our room was upgrade to a recently refurbished suite which was excellent in both space and its modern décor .this hotel is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean inside and out . the food at breakfast and evening meal is excellent with lots of choice and the staff are very well organised . the pool area overlooks the lake and again everything is well designed and well organised with the staff always on hand for drinks etc . its location is ideal ,within 2mins of the village but just outside the area where the daily visitors gather to enjoy the local icecream

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Punta Staffalo, 7 / 9, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#7 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Continental Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.