We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Villa Cortine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Villa Cortine to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C. Gennari, 2, 25019 Sirmione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“July 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

hotel is a quiet oasis compared to the town of Sirmione which is a zoo ! 5 acres of immaculate grounds and great swimming pool. Staff very friendly and helpful, decor is a little dated but in a good sort of way, a bit chintzy but spotlessly clean. Great base for getting out on the ferries to other towns on lake Garda. Worth visiting the roman ruins which are just a 10 minute stroll from hotel. I suppose it was quite expensive but probably the going rate for the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    43
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived at this wonderful hotel by driving through the thronging crowds in the old town having been waved through the barriers by a friendly policeman. Driving through the gates of the hotel is an experience in itself and the welcome was warm and efficient. The room on the 2nd floor was delightful with a view of the lake and plenty of cupboard and drawer space. The swimming pool area was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and an attentive lifeguard. There were a few children but all incredibly well behaved - as were the dogs! Nice to see such a dog-friendly place! We needed a taxi to take us into Verona for the Opera and the concierge was very helpful in finding us another couple to share with - even negotiating the time of departure.

Astonishingly, we complained in passing one day to one of the staff about the fact that the towels had not been removed from the chairs on the beach (a decked area over the lake) and the Manager came over to us at Dinner and apologised - this despite the fact that we hadn't brought it to his attention. The food and service generally were excellent - the gardens beautifully kept and the place was spotless.

There is a back gate out of the hotel which leads you to the shops and restaurants of the walled town within 2 minutes - it's a bit of an upward climb back but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steyning
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

In need of peace, relaxation and some warm weather ! (England 2012 has yet to have a Summer day !) I wanted only a short flight , interesting eating places ,and above all a tranquil setting in some moderate luxury.
The Palace Hotel Villa Cortine met all my requirements ! The hotel being as its name implies a beautiful old palace, with a large extension which is well executed and in keeping with the older parts of the hotel which are truly beautiful. The grounds are amazing and a joy to wander around in the cool of the evening ,before drinks on the terrace.
The bedrooms are well furnished and the beds and pillows particularly comfortable ,always a bonus ! Breakfast, excellent and mid June lovely to sit outside and enjoy the panoramic views of Lake Garda. For relaxing there is a very pleasant and well attended pool where refreshments can be ordered by the very pleasant and helpful attendants. There is also a lake side terrace ,walk through the gardens ,or courtesy buggy ride ,a restaurant also provides lunch.
There is a very convenient "back gate" which provides a shortcut (three minute walk!)into the charming town of Sirmionie , here you will find tourist shops, and many ice cream sellers ! There are several excellent restaurants and the twisting streets,ancient castle and busy square all add to the atmosphere.
I would certainly recommend having a car collect you if travelling from Verona airport to the hotel; not the easiest place to find in my opinion.All in all I throughly recommend this Hotel and the beautiful Lake Garda for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, Berkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

A beautiful hotel set in fabulous gardens, a haven of peace and tranquility. The staff were attentive and friendly, Our room (a junior suite) was large and comfortable with a huge on suite bathroom. The cleaning staff in particular were fantastic. When we went to breakfast in the morning, on return, our room had already been cleaned. In the evening when we went to dinner, again, the room and bathroom was always tidied. The terrace restaurant did have a very limited menu, it would have been nice if each day they put on a couple of specials, but whatever you had was cooked and presented excellently. The American bar (one of our favourite places) had agood selection of light bites for lunch. The hotel is within 5 minutes of the centre of the historic town of Sirmione, where we also discovered a couple of good restaurants. My only complaint would be that the balcony chairs were hard and uncomfortable, which was apity because the views of the lake were marvelous. Both the pool and the terrace on the lake were lovely.

Room Tip: If you want a large room with a sitting area, I would thoroughly recommend the junior suites. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed two nights and checked out just yesterday. The grounds are like a sanctuary. Stunning! The hotel is a quiet place to stay with a fabulous pool and a private dock with tanning loungers. There is a restaurant near the lake/dock for a better than average lunch and a more simple menu at the pool. The employees were all very friendly and spoke English and even tolerated my attempt at Italian! All this yours and then you can walk to the shops, castle and touristic places. A very enjoyable stay. The only thing is I feel for the price I paid that I should have been greeted with a glass of Prosecco or a plate of fresh fruit. Turn down gave nothing such as chocolate. I say this because all of the five star places I have stayed in the world this is standard practice. They knew my birthday was yesterday, yet not even a glass of bubbly then.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A romantic haven in the most wonderful location. The impressive buildings, lush gardens, pretty pool area, light airy rooms and location to the town are the pluses. The rude staff who are only interested in a tip, the bathroom noise (you can hear everything that goes on in the room above you and I mean everything), expensive lunch by the lake and birds at breakfast tables (summer) are the down points. It's up to you which is most important to you! Don't bother eating in the hotel, there are fantastic restaurants in the town. The restaurant you first meet on your left, as you leave the park (back exit from hotel) is super (ultra romantic). If you like your clothes to look smart, bring your own travel iron. I couldn't get any of my clothes ironed and they do not provide you with one- something to do with the Italian health and safety laws and after 3 different hotel, my clothes needed pressing. I had a lovely time here and I have stayed in some of the best 5 star hotels in the world but I have never felt so looked down on before for not having the latest Louis Viutton handbag or other accessories (I only had my one Prada handbag, which didn't seem to cut it). It made me feel uncomfortable that I could only tip a few euros everytime I ordered something at the hotel. Another British couple we met felt the same although they spent little time at the hotel itself, which is a shame as I paid to stay here, I wanted to spend time here. I would not choose this hotel again for this reason alone. But if you have a thick skin, go for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Been there in August 2011 for a couple of days. Impressive entrance as you have to drive first through millions of tourists in the old town before a massive iron gate is opening the driveway up the hill to the hotel. It is an old palazzo and this is actually the overall motto of the hotel. Everything has a bit of an oldfashioned touch and you won't be surprised by meeting other guests spending their 30th summer season here.
Rooms are old school but spacious enough with lake view. The pool is not that big but service is taking good care of you. It is quite a walk downhill to the lake where there is a private pier for hotel guests only. Also a small bar is there for your convenience. But honestly speaking, the pier is not very charming so we spent most of the time at the pool.
Anyway, the real asset is the hotel's location. Through a small gate you can enter the city and within 100 metres you are in the pulsating heart of Sirmione. After some time in one of the busiest places of Italy you sneak back in through the gate and you will be relieved that this hotel is existing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Villa Cortine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Villa Cortine

Address: Via C. Gennari, 2, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Villa Cortine 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel Villa Cortine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cortine Palace
Villa Cortine Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Villa Cortine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.