We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Personality touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grifone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sirmione
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Grifone
Save
You added Hotel Grifone to your Saves list
Via Gaetano Bocchio, 4, 25019 Sirmione, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, Personality touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was there with my boyfriend in the middle of July. We booked quite spontaneous a double room for just one night but it was really nice! Simple but with all things that you need and also with an amazing view of the lake. The owner is also really friendly and she always cares about her guests.
P.s. the breakfast is delicious!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    80
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
41
162
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The only reason why I gave it 4 out of 5 is due to the room needing a little bit of TLC, however everything else was fantastic and the owner could not be any nicer. You have to pay in cash which caught us out but there is a bank very near by.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is located on the water across from the historic castle on this small island near the mainland of Lago de Gardia. It can be a challenge to get to if you are arriving by car, but once you've settled in you can plan on easy access to excellent restaurants, the extensive ruins of an expansive ancient Roman villa, and boats to other venues on this large Italian lake. The owner/operator of this hotel (Enza) was fluent in English and eager to help. Our room had an amazing view, and was well-maintained. The breakfast was incredible and one of the best we encountered in some two months of travel throughout Europe. The only downside was driving through throngs of tourists (creeping was more like it, given the density of the crowds) to get through the ancient entry gate, winding our way to the hotel, and then having to drive out through the crowds to get to a parking lot on the mainland; however, when it came time to leave, we found that there were no crowds early in the morning.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view of the lake, but my guess is that all rooms have good views, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose Sirmione as a base to explore Lake Garda and Hotel Grifone, was in the ideal location and within budget. We weren't sure what to expect at first and were delighted and surprised to find such a pretty, well maintained property situated across from the Castle, on the waters edge. Enza and her husband are so friendly and welcoming: just what we needed after a long journey. When Enza discovered that it was our first visit to the area she made sure to give us maps and leaflets for all the major attractions on the Lake. The buffet breakfast has to be seen and tasted to be believed - it rivals that of some four star hotels that I have stayed in. Our room was quiet, cool and faced the Castle and Lake - we loved waking to the sound of the lapping waters of the Lake each morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've stayed on Lago di Garda in Italy many times and in different locations but, this by far surpassed them all. The Hotel Grifone is a small old fashioned hotel directly next the Castello Scaligera and directly on the edge of Lago di Garda.

I was there to celebrate my 50th birthday and la Signora Enza made my stay more than beautiful, it was memorable. She was always there to assist her guest in anyway possible. Also, for the view you get, the price can't be beat almost anywhere you may travel!

We had planned to stay one night only. We checked out and walked around the town for a while longer and decided we all wanted to stay another night. We called the hotel to see if there was still availability, and Signora Enza not reserved us for another night she also upgraded the rooms of two of our travel companions.

If you're in Sirmione, don't miss the opportunity to stay at this absolutely wonderful hotel!!!

Morris

Room Tip: Book a room facing the lake or facing the castle. Both are memorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay at Lake Garda and chose Hotel Grifone based on previous reviews and because it was within our budget. I am pleased to say we were not disappointed! Quick phone call confirmed a room was available (English spoken) and we arrived the next day for a 3 night stay. Enza greeted us warmly and arranged to look after our bags until our room was ready as we had arrived very early. Maps and lots of information was freely given. We had read about the great views but were blown away by the view we had from room 28 (2nd floor). A small balcony overlooking the lake (just takes two chairs) and another window overlooking the castle. Balcony faced east (ish) so morning sun not afternoon sun. The furniture and decoration is quite basic and 'homey' but perfectly adequate (large bed with attached bedside tables, desk and chair,wardrobe, chairs on balcony) and a good size. Bathroom is a little dated but well appointed and lots of towels, changed daily. The other immediate impression was that everything is spotlessly clean! ( Including the hallway, stairs and public rooms) The balcony was great for a quiet read or aperitif before dinner. There is a restaurant below but we didn't find the noise troubling and it seems they shut up shop by midnight anyway. Saturday night was busy in the restaurant but Sunday and Monday not so much. We were looking forward to breakfast after reading the reviews and wow! What a selection! Everything you could think of and more - no hot food (but hard boiled eggs) but seriously you do not need it! Everything from savoury items to sweet pastries and the best cheese platter I have seen for breakfast! Breakfast can be eaten inide or on the beautiful terrace right on th waters edge. The location of this hotel is fantastic. Just inside the old town near the castle, right on the water. The taxi dropped us off right at the castle and it was a quick 3 minute walk to the hotel. When we left, Enza arranged for a taxi to pick us up and it was possible for him to collect us right outside the hotel. Speaking of Enza, she was the loveliest host and so hard working! Very helpful and clearly dedicated to making your stay an enjoyable one. We wish her every success and would highly recommend this hotel (so long as you are not looking for a 5 star experience). I think this rated a 2 star but it is close to a 3 star in many respects. The only thing the hotel didn't have that we would have liked was deck chairs as this was the end of our trip and we wanted to relax but there really isn't any room for them and we managed to locate deck chairs elsewhere (public beaches etc). This is not a criticism just an observation - for the price and location, you can't have everything!

Room Tip: Room 28 had a small balcony facing the lake and a large window opening onto the castle. Not all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

New management. Family run. Extremely friendly and hardworking. Lovely location, quiet, clean, wondeful breakfast buffet on a patio at water's edge. The Italy you had in mind when you visit Lake Garda. Highest rating for a modestly priced hotel.

Room Tip: Tell the manager what you are looking for. She is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifone

Address: Via Gaetano Bocchio, 4, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grifone Hotel, Sirmione, the jewel of lake Garda, is under new family running and it is ideally situated. It offers an excellent price-quality ratio, it is provided with a lift,it has 16 rooms, all with bath or shower, tv, phone, air-conditioning and wonderful lake view. It is situated in the historical centre of town, beside the castle, directly in front of the lake, it allows a pleasant and relaxing holiday in a peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grifone Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Grifone Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grifone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.